The Phantom of Manhattan

The Phantom of Manhattan

Audio Other(Other - Unabridged)

$25.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Phantom of Manhattan 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
orangecrush More than 1 year ago
The Phantom of Manhattan is a very well written book. It was filled with drama, love, action and sorrow. I could not put it down! It was told by more than one person which I liked because it really showed everyones story and personality. This book intrigued me and left me guessing at the end of each chapter. The author did a great job and I wish there was a second book. This book made me feel sorrow for the main character, he loved a woman he knew he couldn't have. This also made me feel hatred for the woman who turned him down when all he wanted was someone to love. The author made everything seem so real and all the details were very precise. I recommend this book to anyone who has ever felt lonely, sad, or just loves drama. This was one of my favorite books. The ending will have you in tears and you will want more.
fairydustpink89 More than 1 year ago
I have almost completed my Phantom collection but this book, the Original Phantom book and Etienne de Mendes' "The Return of the Phantom" are all my top favourites! This book is one those that you can't put down, it has a mesmerizing spell to it that makes you want to read it all at once and it is an almost eerie story with a romantic twist. In this book, we get to hear a little more of the Phantom's (Erik) side of the story. It is a sad tale that proves love is deadly. It is unfortunate that Andrew Lloyd Webber (the genius behind the Phantom film) took all the credit for his upcoming "Love Never Dies" because "Love Never Dies" is largely based on "The Phantom of Manhattan," not something Webber came up with.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading the Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux and seeing the stage production by the ingenius Andrew Lloyd Webber the question that remained was 'What ever happened?' Especailly to the mysterious figure, the Phantom? For those who've seen the musical know the end and the burning question of his remains are at large. A friend recommeded me to read this book and immediately fell in love with it because I am a phantomphan! Forsyth gives us the between the line reading story that some of us missed in the novel and the play. Facts and fiction all come together to make on beautiful tale that seems to haunt us all forever. I really enjoyed the book and have read it more that three times now. Give it a try and I garantee that this is a outstanding, suspenseful, shocking and masterpiece told classic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutley love this book! Normally I'm not for the first-person reads but Forsyth's wrighting style make it awesome! You hear from different peoples accounts and his righting style is just awesome... I see from other people that this is a book you will either Love Or Hate. No in between, my only recomendation is give it a try. you can alway donate the book to your library or sell it to a used book store. but give it a chance. The book gives you a deffinant sence of realism as far as could this have happended to Eric after he shatters the mirror? Just try it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the past reviewers asked why this was made because the phantom died but that is not true. If you have watched the play d the movie you will know that he is not dead. In the play he vanishes so it is left a mystery and in the movie it shows that christine dies before all of them.
IsabelleAmaya More than 1 year ago
I only wish I understood it well enough... Well, I can say I've read The Phantom of the Opera, and this book. As with The Phantom of the Opera, I had a bit of trouble understanding what was going on. This is rare for me, as I consider myself an avid reader, however, I am a modern girl, and "jolly high" just made me frown and think it through. I also wish these books were written from someone's point of view where it makes SENSE. There's a bunch of random people thst have something to do with it and I just lose it. I did love this book, though, it was fantastic, and I almost cried at the end, Cholly made me laugh a lot, and Christine was not as smackable as in some stories. The Phantom will always be the Phantom, and I love him in Love Never Dies, too. However, I think the conclusion of Love Never Dies was much easier to comprehend, because at the end of this, I thought "???" which is usually never in my head. I'll qui my ramblin' though, this book is good!
ChiG More than 1 year ago
I came to this story already having listened to the cast recording of Love Never Dies, so my expectations were very low. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that this was a very enjoyable sequel that brought back the characters we know and love from Leroux's original story. While they have grown and changed, they are still the characters we recognize, unlike Mr. Lloyd Webber's take on the story which turned them into vile, self-centered, bilious poor excuses for human beings. If only he had stayed with Frederick Forsyth, he might have come up with a much more enjoyable, and successful, show. The sense of mystery and dread still permeates the story, making it a compelling, if too short, read. While it is somewhat obvious what is going on, due to the fact that this is a sequel, it is enjoyable to follow the story to its conclusion, although I do have to say that the conclusion arrives rather quickly and is then suddenly over, giving it the feeling of having been rushed, a feeling further supported by the brief length of the book itself. However, reading this over a weekend provided for a very satisfying escapist experience and I highly recommend it to fans of the original Phantom. With that said, there were numerous typos throughout the book that really became distracting. Not having a physical copy of the book in my possession, I'm unable to say if these were simply a direct replication of errors in the original printing, or, as I suspect, unique to the Nook version. While B&N has really been pushing the Nook device, they are paying scant attention to the quality of the ebooks themselves. Almost every book I have purchased has had glaring typos, and while the publishing industry as a whole seems to be much more tolerant of errors than it was 20-30 years ago, the typos seem excessive and leads me to wonder how much quality control is going into the creation of the ebook files. If B&N wants the Nook to really take off and give its competitors a run for their money, they need to pay attention to what the Nook is intended to be used for - reading ebooks, and ensure that the experience is comparable to reading a physical copy of the book, especially considering that the nookbooks are not much cheaper than the physical copies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Perhaps the author should have given it a different title ao that some would not associate it with the other popular movie. I could not put this book down. It had its ups and downs and the love story was beautiful. Growing up ion Brooklyn, I was able to relate to many scenes in the book. I felt like I was there. If you grew up in Brooklyn, especially around Coney Island and Manhattan before 1950, then you MUST read this book!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've seen a lot of bad reviews for the book, it seems there's a lot of controversy about it. I've seen a lot of people complaining that Erik died in the original novel so this couldn't happen. This is a sequal to the stage version, in which Erik doesn't die, he leaves the Opera House. And of course it won't be written like the original novel. No one peron can duplicate another's style of writing. I've been on writing sites for several years and I've noticed that. Another complaint I've seen a lot is madame Giry's completely different than in the original novel. I've read the original and I know she's different in the play as well as this book. Did anyone complain then? I couldn't have been happier when I found out there was a sequal to the musical because I had wondered what became of Erik. I've also seen people complaining that he let Christine go wiht Raoul because he wanted her to be happy and now he shouldn't be trying to get her back. That may be the reason but did you honestly think he could stop wishing she had stayed with him? He loved her so intensely he could never, ever, stop wishing she had stayed with him. Now he has another chance. I haven't reached the end yet but I do sincerely hope Christine winds up with the Phantom in the end because H never liked Raoul, I strongly dislike him and I wouldn't be sorry to see him miserable in the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I had first heard about this book, I was a little skeptical. I had kept hearing about how horrible this book was, but being a phantom phan I just had to buy it anyway. I must say I absolutely adored this book, I could not put it down! It took me six hours to finish and I did not get up at anytime, it captivated me that much! This is one of the few good phantom sequels out there and it surely should not be excluded from anyone's phantom collection!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the original Phantom and it was enjoyable but I am a true Phantom of the opera Musical fan so I can't really compare this to the origial book, to me this was a great story and it had it's own twists and turns that were very suprizing exspessally the part about Christine's child that totally shocked and yet confused me cuz I kept asking myself, How? When? What!? the part about Raoul was nit nececerry cuz why did you really need to know that? The only pat that disapointed me was that Erik was such a greedy person. What happened to the Phantom of the Opera who loved people and sent Chadaleres crashing from the cealing? The book was good but could have been much better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I must agree with my fellow Phantom Phreaks and Phans that this book is not even close to the quality of Leroux and Kay, I found the book good in its own right. Forsyth is fairly true to the Erik, Andrew Lloyd Webber created. His cast includes Mme. Giry, who opens the story, as she lays dying. Some new characters are Darius, Erik's servant, and definately evil. Then there's 'Cholly' Bloom, who plays an important role, at least in so far as he tells most of the story. Next we have Father 'Joe' Kilfoyle, Pierre's tutor, priest to the Changy family. And last, but NOT least, is Pierre, 12 yr. old son of Erik and Christine, who proves that Webber's Christine won her freedom with more than a kiss. Erik learns of his son from a letter from Mme. Giry. Upon discovering he has a son, he has the famous soprano, Christine de Changy brought to star in the inaugural performance of his Opera House. Erik has resigned himself to the fact that Christine is lost to him, but is determined to not be left out of his son's life. Several elements from Webber's musical resurface here, including an opera, written by Erik, in which the lead tenor is suddenly unable to finish the show, and a mystery singer fills in. One of the draw backs to the story is that Forsyth talks about the story, but too often shies away from the story itself, leaving the reader frustrated at Forsyth's delay to 'get on with it.' Despite all, I recommend this book. Forsyth almost succeeds in creating a 'could be real' phantom. His only problem is that Phantom Phreaks and Phans will not like the personality of his Erik, which will be, and has been, a strong mark against him. But rather than hearing everyone else complain, berate, or praise the book, why don't you read it and find out what all the talk is about for yourself?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Frederick Forsyth's 'The Phantom Of Manhattan' was an exceptionally good novel. Showing a unique perspective to both Erik's continuing existance in the world was both intriguing and amusing at times. 'The Phantom Of Manhattan' sheds a new light upon yet another possiblity of Eriks background, and shows the other realms the Phantom can yet attain with his fierce hold on life. Forsyth has put both humor, tragedy, love, and harsh reality into this wonderful book. Highly recommended to those who seek the many points of view that one can take on our beloved Erik.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Never having read the original, I didn't have the strong negative reaction that others seemed to have towards this novel. If you have read the original, skip the foreward to this book and just read it on it's own merits. Trying to follow up such a successfull and beloved story as Phantom would be a difficult job under any circumstances and one that would be greeted with scepticism by many fans no matter how good or bad the sequel might be. Having seen the Andrew Lloyd Webber version several times, I still managed to enjoy this book even though it is definitely not as strong a story or even remotely as moving as the musical and the ending of this novel should have been stronger. I would still recommend it to all fans of Phantom who are willing to read it with an open mind.
dcoward on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A quick read, fun for the phantom obsessed. Tells the story of what happened after Andrew Lloyd Weber's Phantom of the Opera muscial ends.
auntmarge64 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Phans everywhere will want to read this just to see what is imagined for the main characters' future, but the writing is awful. Even the novella format is too long, so expect to skim most of it to get to the climax.
schatzi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really don't think I can express in mere words how much I dislike this book, but I will try.I have loved The Phantom of the Opera since I stumbled upon Leroux's novel in 1992. I intended to read a chapter before going to bed. I ended up reading the whole thing that very night, and as the sun came up in the morning, I was crying over poor Erik's fate.I hadn't any idea that a "sequel" existed until 2004. Once I heard that it existed, I simply had to buy it.I was instantly put off by the preface. Forsyth has the audacity to talk about what a horrible book Leroux wrote; he even goes so far as to dismiss "poor Gaston" and his "mistakes," which were "corrected" by Andrew Lloyd Webber. How ridiculous. Leroux wrote the original story. It's fiction. He didn't make "mistakes" that had to be "corrected" by the self-indulgent "geniuses" that ALW and Forsyth apparently think they are.The book was horribly bad. The Erik presented here is not recognizable as either Leroux's enigmatic creation or ALW's watered-down shadow. The Erik in this book is a pathetic, sniveling creature that inspires nothing; not pity, or anger, or fear, or anything (except maybe a mild form of loathing). Forsyth had the gall to criticize Leroux's novel, and yet Forsyth churned out a horrible "sequel" that is simply awful.But the most awful part of all is that there is going to be a stage musical "sequel" that uses large chunks of this story. That is truly a tragedy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a fan of both the Kay and Leroux books, I would like to think that I love both the original story and the newer versions. I'll even admit to listening to the Love Never Dies soundtrack a few times( the music was lovely but the plot could use some work), but this book is the most horrific thing to ever bare the Phantom name. Not only does Mr.Forsyth insult the original author but uses his characters in a way that they would never act and he completely disregards the ending of the original story and any and all character development he could. This book is bad from the standard of someone who knows nothing of Phantom, not just long term fans. The plot has so many holes and is very diffcult to follow, not only that but there are pages upon pages of hard to follow conversations that have absoltutely no effect on the plot what so ever( the latin translation scene with Pierre and Father Joseph). And Mr.Forsyth attempts to cover up the plot holes with nonsense reasoning, like how does Christine know that Pierre is not the Vicomte's son, easy, apparently Raoul got his balls shot off. Great problem solving there Frederick. This book absoltutely disgusts me and if you hold any fondness for the original story or good books, I advise you to run screaming from this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Never Dies will be touring the U.S. in 2017. Unfortunately Ramin will not be in it, but I'm still EXCITED AS HECK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I saw Love never dies and it was......................................................................................................................................................................................................................AWSOME!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a die hard fan of "The Phantom of the Opera" by Gaston Leroux. I'm one of those fans who always wish that the original book ended another way and this book did that for me. I am pleased to welcome this book into the phantom world as a sequel. The writer took few liberties as to changing the characters and that helps the illusion of the book match Gaston's. I first read this book in high school and I wanted to read it again now that I'm in college. If you liked this book or the musical, you may enjoy "Love Never Dies" by Andrew Lloyd Webber. It is his musical sequel the "The Phantom of the Opera". The only reason I would give 4 stars instead of 5 initially is that it was written by a different author and therefor is not a true sequel. The author, however, did an amazing job capturing the essence that lives in Gaston Leroux's book. I give the author 5 stars for his ability to recreate a world I love so dearly, but the book 4 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the end of Phantom of the Opera, it is understood that Erik is dead. And if that in faxt is true, than this book shouldnt have been written. It undermines both Mr. Loyd Webber and Missiour Le Roux.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a huge fan of Love Never Dies, I was sorely disappointed by The Phantom of Manhattan. The entire text was convoluted and confusing, and oftentimes I was questioning the goingson. The plot was hard to follow, and the enire story was summed up in te last chapter. The characters had as much depth as thr pages of paper they were living on, and the book did not do justice to Leroux's work nor Andrew Lloyd Weber's. I would be content with sticking to the soundtrack of Love Never Dies for my fix of a Phantom sequel. I do not reccomend this book to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago