The Pelican Brief

The Pelican Brief

by John Grisham

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Pelican Brief 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 217 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book. Yet I dind't like how he wrapped up the problem. I still rate this book 4 STARS and hope it the best of luck.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked it. I don't like reading but this kept my interest.
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
A few years ago John Grisham wrote a novel The Pelican Brief. I recently reread it! Is it still as good as before? Synopsis: Darby is in her second year of Law School at Tulane University. She is having an affair with her professor Callahan. Life could not get any better! Then one day Justices Rosenberg and Jenson are murdered. Darby hears about the murders and thinks she can figure out who did it. Classes are skipped hours are spent figuring out a theory on who did it. One day Callahan takes a look at the brief after Darby dismisses her theory. He offers to show her brief to a friend of his in D.C. who works with the FBI. Little did they know the chain reaction of events that would happen because of this brief? People start dying in order to protect the interests of one wealthy client of White and Blazevich. Who can Darby rely on once these events start occurring? My Thoughts: I think that The Pelican Brief will have a permanent place on my bookshelf. I don’t know if it is the strong female lead character of Darby Shaw. Don’t get me wrong the other characters are great too! To write a good thriller there must be detail. It helps us understand the action later in the story. There are times when I want to say okay this great but why is this important! Then it is revealed later in the story. There were some slow spots in The Pelican Brief but still a great story.
MsTiptress More than 1 year ago
This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law. I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent. Darby made the story what it is. Without her as a character this book may not have surivied rather watch the movie...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Pelican Brief by John Grisham is a thrilling suspense murder mystery that keeps the reader enthralled. Grisham captivates the reader with detailed, fast paced sentences that entice the reader to want more. Darby Shaw, a law student at Tulane law school, sets out on a mystery to discover the killers of two Supreme Court justices. After writing a very controversial brief, she finds herself running for her life. Will Darby be able to stay alive on the streets of some in some of the toughest cities? This is a great book filled with suspense, and mystery that captivates the reader. Grisham does an awesome job of combining law and suspense into a splendid story that grabs the attention of everyone who reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. I first saw the movie and really liked it. The book is much better.
LAlion More than 1 year ago
I am presently reading this book and enjoying the twist and turns it makes quite often. This is my fourth novel selecting since the purchase of my NOOK BOOK and I'm very happy with the online quickness of receiving my purchsed novels as well as the writings of John Grisham. Strickly adult reading,I am quick to select writings by this Author. I am 83 years old and read at least a chapter each night after retiring.
mikedraper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two supreme justices are murdered on the same day. Many people are attempting to find the relationship between the two men and a motive for the killing.Darby Shaw is a bright law student at Tulane and thinks she knows why the justices were murdered. She researches her opinion and publishes her findings in a document called "The Pelican Brief.'Darcy is a lover of law school professor Thomas Callahan and gives him a copy of the brief. He gives it to a friend in the FBI to see what he thinks and soon after, Callahan is murdered and Darcy becomes a hunted person.John Grisham is an excellent storyteller and master of creating suspense. The reader can empathise with Darcy who stays alive by her intelligence but doesn't know who she can trust. Nevertheless she continues in her attempt to expose the guilty person, at the risk of her life.
ConnieJackson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book kept my interest, page after page.The story is different, in fact,very different from normal storylines in most of the books out there on the market. It is refreshing and interesting because it shows how one ordinary lady, Darby Shaw, can come up with a solution that all the experts could not think of. Even after two justices are killed without a trace of evidence, she decides to uncover the killer. Then, when her brief is handed over to the FBI, the agent dies two days later in Darby's place.Once, she realizes that the killers are after her, she knows that she must stay one step ahead of them, so she doesn't stay in one place for two nights. During these chapters the book is thrilling when Darby is being chased, and each time you think this is her last day on Earth she escapes death.In my opinion, Grisham, wrote a trilling, legal mystery that will keep your interest from the first page to the last page.Enjoy, I highly recommend this book.
bribre01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A decent read, but not Grisham's best. Probably my least favorite Grisham novel. It started slow for me, but picked up about halfway through. An interesting plot, but it could have been made more exciting.
susanbevans on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this book in high school for a "free read" - the teacher gave us a list of "acceptable" contemporary books. My three star rating is more due to the fact that this was just not my cup of tea, not that it was badly written or anything. Many fans of this genre love Grisham. It just wasn't for me.
JaimiTaylor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved it better than the movie.
les121 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent murder mystery. Very suspenseful.
drebbles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When two Supreme Court justices are assassinated on the same night, there is plenty of speculation as to who the assassin or assassins are and why the judges were murdered. Like many others, law student Darby Shaw thinks she knows the motive. She writes a brief, soon to be known as The Pelican Brief, and shows it to her law professor/lover, Thomas Callahan. Unfortunately, he shows it to a friend of his who works for the FBI, who passes it along, and it falls into the wrong hands. When Callahan is killed by a car bomb, Darby realizes someone wants her dead and she goes on the run. She hooks up with Washington Post reporter Gray Grantham and the two of them try to stay alive long enough to expose the truth. This was an exciting but implausible thriller. Darby is a well-written character and it's nice to read a book with a strong, intelligent heroine. Unfortunately, it's not clear until well into the book what Darby's feelings for Callahan really were, it should have been clear earlier that she loved him and was not a student having an affair with a professor in order to get an A. She conveniently has plenty of money, so she can use cash on the run, rather than leave a trail by using plastic. And it strains readers credibility that a law student can outwit trained assassins. Some of the other characters in the book blend into each other and I wasn't always clear as to who some of them were. Grisham does clear up some loose ends, but at the last minute, as if he suddenly remembered them. Despite these flaws, the story is exciting enough to keep the reader turning pages and worth reading as long as you don't think too much about it.
Kace on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first John Grisham book that I devoured. It was so good. Very intriguing, and a little bit of a paranoia magnet...I totally saw conspiracies everywhere after reading this book. Grisham kept up his great writing for anther 3 books or so, but then it was the same idea recycled time after time.
Anagarika-Sean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book was good. A real page turner.
akfarrar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I¿ve known of the book for some time and even, on one or two occasions picked it up and considered reading it ¿ always to return it to the shelf: For some reason I thought it was a `lawyer¿ story.Now, with it firmly on the CAE reading list, as a matter of duty, I¿ve read it.I am tempted to name a new literary genre:The Time Filler.A good time filler is strong on plot, adequate with language, sufficient with character and not too far from realism to cause concern. It will roll along never pausing for too long in any one place or with any one person, love affairs are reduced to brief encounters, killings are counted in serial-numbers and enough petrol and aviation fuel is burnt to raise the Earth¿s average temperature another degree.The Pelican Brief is a good time filler.I took four sessions to finish the 420-odd pages, and didn¿t feel pressed for time ¿ it is a rapid read.The plot is sort of realistic in that you can imagine someone wanting to bump off a couple of American Supreme Court justices to change the `political¿ make-up of the Supreme court ¿ but the book does stretch credibility a little with the descriptions and personalities of both the victims and their executioner ¿ it seemed as though Gresham had gone through a check list of `most likely to make a best seller¿ qualities and selected them for inclusion.The same too with his heroine, Darby Shaw, who is a least female and intelligent ¿ more intelligent than most of the other characters in the book. However, she never really escapes the cliché of female as victim in need of a good man to support her. Why did she have to be a blond bombshell? Why couldn¿t she have been short, stumpy even, and ugly? Why does the book have to end in such a `happy ever after¿ way on a beach?One answer is the sales figures ¿ and film rights.All the way through I felt I was getting exactly what I wanted ¿ no surprise other than a needed plot twist, no truly ambiguous character ¿ just good guy and bad guy (and a very obvious ¿ you got it wrong, good guy portrayed as bad).And some very film-able locations ¿ including Washington, New York and a pre-deluge New Orleans.It occupied me pleasantly enough, but I ended with a ¿ that¿s it? and so what? Turned the light off, and slept well.
robertdatson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've just read The Firm, and now The Pelican Brief. The former hooked me in very quickly. The Pelican Brief has a confusing start, dumping a pile of unrelated events upon us, setting the scene. It takes a little while for us to meet the main character, and at no stage do we get a strong understanding of her. Sure, she's clever, resourceful, etc., but she is two dimensional. Hence, I don't care about what happens, and this lessens the tension of the story.Having read both of these books back to back, I can also see the similarities of Grisham's view of the legal profession, and whilst he is the expert, and I am not, I find it hard to believe that the lawyer firms he describes are just big sweatshops, where everyone works 12-18 hour days, six days a week. Lawyers are supposed to be intelligent...Not sure now if I am going to keep reading Grisham - the lack of attention to character development is the big miss for me.
evanplaice on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It has been over 5 years since I read this book and I still have a bitter taste in my mouth when I think about it. Calling it anticlimactic would be an understatement. It seems as though the author tries to make up for the lack of depth in the plot by introducing random plot twists. If you're the type of person who drools over legal thrillers you may like the book more than I did. I just can't forget that this book had the worst ending of any book I have ever read. I literally cringed when I picked it up to enter it into my library listing.
wenestvedt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My big brother worked for West Publishing at the time this movie was made, and he generated the screens of data that Julia Roberts pages through in one scene. See, every American lawyer uses West's law databases, so my brother's work provided some real street cred to this flick. *snort* Regardless of how closely I watched, I didn't see a line of it -- sorry, Cris. Not a bad movie, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the book and then watched the movie. Books have more details than the movie does. I was not able to put the book down once I started reading it. I love this book and I'm going to read it again. I love his books they keep your interest to the very end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just read rhis-saw movie ages ago Those who fear the Trump regime should not read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago