Pale Horse Coming (Earl Swagger Series #2)

Pale Horse Coming (Earl Swagger Series #2)

by Stephen Hunter

Hardcover

$23.62 $25.00 Save 6% Current price is $23.62, Original price is $25. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pale Horse Coming (Earl Swagger Series #2) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 78 reviews.
jazzinSA More than 1 year ago
I have a friend and we read the same book at the same time. I thought this book was fantastic, dark and full of gut wrenching action. My friend said it was the one of the best books she's read. So it's a highly recommended book!
Stevejm51 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Stephen Hunter's "Pale Horse Coming" starts out with a bang, and the author builds suspense as Earl Swagger saves his buddy but endures torture like no man should. But the end of the book is strangely anti-climatic, lacking suspense. Swagger gains his revenge too easily.I love Hunter's books, especially "Point of Impact." But this one petered out at the end.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have to say that this book was a stunner for me. Full of violence anddelicious retribution, tightly written and peopled with characters that cometo life before your eyes. This would make a hell of a movie, and I couldn'thelp but cast it in my head as I went along. This isn't the sortof book I ordinarily pick up to read, but I'm very glad I did, and I'm goingto be looking for some more books by Mr. Hunter, including one called "HotSprings," in which he introduces the amazing character of Earl Swagger.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As with most of Stephen Hunter's books, you feel as if you are in the same situation as the characters.
Avast_me_hearties More than 1 year ago
I am a real fan of these books from Stephen Hunter. They are more enjoyable if read in the order of publication, but this was the first of Hunter's books that I read. I am now going back and reading all of them in order this time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hunter is an excellent writer. His characters are well developed and they are easy to follow in the book. This book was well done and a real page turner. I found myself staying up late just to find out how Earl handles the next challenge. Hunter doesn't create so many characters that it becomes difficult to follow the storyline. Earl Swagger has to be the ancestor to another great character - Jack Reacher!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LosAngelesDan More than 1 year ago
Before there was 'Bob the Nailer' there was his father, Earl...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pale Horse Coming turned out to be a real page-turner filled with suspense at every turn. Some of the description of events is a wee bit graphic, although it fit perfectly with the subject matter. I love a great historical novel, and this is the best one I've read in a very long time. I'm happy to highly recommend it to mature readers of historical novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LongRangEngagements More than 1 year ago
I have been a stephen hunter fan for quite some time, and while i have not read all of his books,this is byfar one of my favorites. Hunter at his best would be a understatement.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book a few years ago and thought it was stephen hunters best work. i wonder if this re-issue has and changes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of the Stephen Hunter books and for some reason, I keep coming back to this one. I want to be Earl Swagger when I grow up. He is the epitome of cool and able to keep his senses in the worst situations. Always calm and collected.