Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher Series #12)

Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher Series #12)

by Lee Child

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher Series #12) 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 325 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read and enjoyed every one of the prior Reacher novels, but without a doubt this is the worst, most inane, and nonsensical ever. What a totally ridiculous plot and a completely lame Reacher character. Really, the author and publisher should be ashamed of this tripe. I don't mind the 'political' overtones, per se, but the fundamental story is so completely and wildly ridiculous as to make this almost painful to read. Also, 'whole-town conspiracies' rarely work, and this story is no exception. Skip it...
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you're looking for Jack Reacher, you won't find him here. This book was so disappointing that I feel as if I am in mourning. I'm embarrassed that I told friends to go out and buy it before I had read it. Very boring and the author's agenda too apparent. I'm on the other team politically I guess.
MavOR More than 1 year ago
Child expressed two political rants: first that soldiers are pitiful victims of evil powers in the exercise of war; and second that fundamentalist Christians are insane hypocrites. The villain is such a stock caricature as to be laughable, and Child's knowledge of the Bible is as bad as Dan Brown's. There is a primary plot and a subplot. The subplot, rescue of military deserters to Canada does not blend into the book as a whole and seems to be a vehicle for Child to rant on about Iraq. The main plot involves the villain's machinations to "immanentize the eschaton" by planning a major explosion falsely attributable to Iran, thus jumpstarting Armageddon. Within this plot we have a thread of government corruption in hiding the disposal of uranium used in tank production. So it appears the whole book was plotted out as a way for Child to get in his favorite political rants. I do like the Jack Reacher character and was disappointed in Child abusing him for political purposes. Having said that, I found most of the book to have a fair amount of suspense to keep me turning the pages. I will keep reading the Reacher series in the hopes this was a lone divergence for Child.
Bryan_Cassiday_author More than 1 year ago
"Nothing to Lose" is not one of Lee Child's best books featuring his hero Reacher. The first two hundred-odd pages plod along as Reacher goes back and forth between two towns with the patently allegorical names of Hope and Despair. Meanwhile, there is very little in the way of plot development to propel the story. That being said, I have to admit I like the ending, and midway through the novel the pace does pick up satisfactorily. I found the villain to be an interesting character and, ultimately, I do like the complex, if at times bewildering, plot of this thriller. If only it hadn't taken so long for it to play out! --Bryan Cassiday, author of "Blood Moon" and "Fete of Death"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I discovered Lee Child's books several years ago and found them to be great entertainment and a unique view point. I was a big fan. When this book came out I was excited and could not wait to start reading it. Nevertheless, I found Jack Reacher behaving out of character in this story and the book was a "politically correct" monstrosity. I would not recommend to my friends or even my enemies. I hope Lee Child gets back to his old ways because I will never waste my time with another of his books unless he does.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall, I enjoyed the book. There were times when Mr.Child went too far into detail or repaeted things but I just skipped those parts. I mean how many times do you expect someone to reread about the shape of the same buildings. It is the first of the series I have read. I just ordered the first 3 books of the series and the last one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Child must have been under a contractual obligation to churn this one out. How many times can you walk back and forth between towns? How many times can you double dog dare a 6 on one confontation? This is not the Jack Reacher I have grown to adore over the years. Mr. Child, maybe it is time to let Reacher evolve just a little bit? At one time he was to be admired, now he is laughable.
Fionamaud More than 1 year ago
"Nothing To Lose" is a fast paced--keep you guessing-and on the edge of your seat brilliantly written book. The characters are well defined and full of life, the suspense is so intense I could not put it down. Lee Child is one of my favorite writers and Jack Reacher is my favorite character.
CraigLivingstone More than 1 year ago
Boring, silly attempt to make a buck from your loyal fans of Jack Reacher. You owe me $ 15.95!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read about 1/3 of the book and was not impressed, so I turned to these reviews. I guess I'm not alone. I don't believe I will finish the book, which is disappointing in itself, since I looked forward to it. But it is pretty far fetched and not a page turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jack Reacher is my favorite character. I look forward to any Lee Child book featuring Jack Reacher. Reading this particular book however, was a very tedious experience. The oft-repeated descriptions of the drabness of the town of Despair transcended across the pages so that devoting time to reading the book became a drab experience as well. I agree with other readers who say that the earlier Jack Reacher novels are far better than this one. Bring back the exciting Jack Reacher! He's always trying to extricate himself from seemingly impossible yet realistic situations. In Nothing to Lose the situations were implausible and unbelievable.
ChinaHand More than 1 year ago
Jack Reacher is my favorite 'bigger-than-life' cahracter in fiction today. In NTL, he's found 'fiddling' around a company town with much less evil than he normally encounters and overcomes. I felt this offering from Child was a bit "phoned in" and 'contructed' rather than 'crafted' as a story. I'm hoping for more next outing.
jam526 More than 1 year ago
Lee Childs does not write a bad Jack Reacher book! Doesn't happen. I have saved every one for my library. Reacher is so masculine that this is a great fix for gals who like men who come to the rescue!
1-4-da-shelf More than 1 year ago
All the othe reacher books are good, but this one is so boring! If you are new to the lee child books, go and read his early stuff, its way better than this mediocre offering
Buddez99 More than 1 year ago
Reacher gets the job done no matter what it takes. I can't get enough of the guy. He's the ultimate Robin Hood who stands up for the little guy, and takes down all the big gad guys.
Termite More than 1 year ago
Being that I live in Colorado it made Nothing to Lose that mush more interesting to me.I love Jack Reacher Series and can't wait to read them all.
photoscot More than 1 year ago
Jack Reacher adventures are never long enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finished it. I have to say you kinda got me on number nine.
MikeDraper More than 1 year ago
Jack Reacher is walking across America and gets to the intersection of Hope and Despair Colorado. He goes into Despair but is ordered out of town and told that they don't like strangers. He goes to Hope where he meets Officer Vaughan. She tells him that Despair is a company town run by Jerry Thermond. Reacher is a former Marine and doesn't like being told what he can and can't do. He returns to Despair after dark. He sneaks around Thermond's factory to check it out and on the return trips on the body of a dead young man. Back in Hope he meets a girl, Lucy Anderson. He learns that she was also told to leave Despair and that her husband is missing. His description does not match that of the deceased stranger. The story plods along with many parts defying belief. At one point Reacher is in a bar fight. He inflicts such damage that the six people he fights against need medical attention for such thngs as a broken arm, broken nose and a concussion. Reacher leaves the bar with hardly a scratch. Another time he's comeing back to Despair again and two to three hundred townies stand shoulder to shoulder blocking his way and chanting "Out! Out! Out!" This was absurd. Besides the slowness of the story, the plot itself jumps from place to place as Reacher guesses what is the cause of Despair's attitude. The characters are unsympathetic. Reacher usually acts as the saving Knight, helping someone who can't help themselves. In this story, no one is asking for his help and he might just as well left Despair to its own fate.
Glenda61 More than 1 year ago
Reading this book was like walking around in circles which is what the main character did throughout this book. The whole thing was rather pointless and it was a chore to get through this very boring book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Many people on here seem surprised that Lee Child expressed liberal views... that really doesn't surprise me at all nor does it bother me. As far as him using a book to put out his political agenda... a lot of authors do that... big deal. They're authors, you write what you are passionate about... I don't have a probem with it at all. What I do have a problem with is the convoluted inane plot. Reacher is much the same, but the plot seemed like Child was trying to write two different books, one was recycling parts of Killing Floor... and I don't know what the other one was doing. I was confused during most of the second half of the book and kept hoping a plot element would tie in the pieces of the plot that were disjointed. Unfortunately, this never happened. I hope this was a fluke and that Child won't join the ranks of Patricia Cornwell and James Patterson in my discarded authors pile.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hope Lee Child is reading these reveiws to understand the depth of disappointment in regards to this poorly written novel. I kept waiting for the old Reacher to appear at some point but it never happened. What the reader recieved was a poor misguided attempt to rationalize an anti war viewpoint with a plot that strained common sense. After finishing the book I literally was angry that Child and his publisher would pawn off on a very dedicated following such tripe.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't believe I wasted 5 hours reading this tripe. I kept waiting for the Reacher I had grown to love and expected to come out, but Mr. Child seems to has lost him. I don't think I'll waste my money on the next one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Jack Reacher fan who is very disappointed with this novel. It was convoluted and boring. If the next one isn't better, I will have to give up on Jack.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was a fan of Lee Child and have read and own all of his Reacher series of books 'in signed 1st editions'. He has let his politics interfere with his story line. Bad Luck and Trouble was the start of using his 'fame' as a chance to let us know his politics. In 'Bad Luck....' it was his obvious support of PETA and his disdain of hunting. I thought that kind of a sorry state for a character as rough and tumble as Reacher. In Nothing To Lose, what was a good story line turns into a diatribe against the Iraq war and turns Reacher from a man who served his country into a man supportive of deserters and the like. Totally unnecessary except to allow Child, an immigrant to our nation, a chance to show his political disdain for the country he chose to live in 'I am not sure of his immigration status'. For me these last two outings into his political beliefs ruin a good story and transform a character from a truly good guy to an anti war, anti American Berkleyite. 'The last good war America fought ended in 1945' ....to paraphrase one line....well, the last good book Lee Child wrote was The Hard Way in 2006. He may have 'nothing to lose', but 'bad luck and trouble' will follow him.