The Nine Month Plan

The Nine Month Plan

by Wendy Markham

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nine-Month Plan 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Laura_at_125Pages More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars Original review at 125pages. I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. I remember Wendy Markham from the golden age of Red Dress Ink. From about 2004 - 2008 there was a surge of chick lit and hot mommy books being pumped out. I used to walk the aisles of my local library looking for that small red logo on the spines and when found would check them out without ever reading the synopsis or looking at the cover. During that time I read Markham's Slightly series and I remember enjoying it. So when I saw The Nine Month Plan come around, I jumped at the chance to read it. And it was everything I hoped it would be. Nina and her best friend Joe have shared everything. Now Nina is ready to leave their hometown for good, but Joe proposes that while she waits for her plan to fall in place they have a baby. Joe will raise the baby and Nina will get to experience pregnancy and then be able to travel the world. The world created, pacing and characters created were all good and this was a very quick read. Funny, cutesy and formulaic; this book brought me back to when a book was just pure enjoyment. Could I guess 90% of the plot? Yes. Did I mind? No. I read The Nine Month Plan to be entertained, that's it. No deep thought, no life lessons; and sometimes that is just what you need. Favorite lines - "Looking up into his familiar brown eyes, Nina glimpses something she has never seen before: a raw intensity that catches her off guard. With that, all that is purely physical in the act seems to give way to a profound spiritual connection. This isn’t about Joe, or Nina, or their being together in the past or apart in the future. This is about the power to create a miracle, right here, right now."
JensReadingObsession More than 1 year ago
This was a cute and sweet romance about two friends who eventually figure out they're in love. It's a bit slow going as they move from best friends to lovers, and as they adjust their lives around the arrival of their child. Joe was a real sweetheart and you could tell he would be a great dad. Nina on the other hand, was already a good mom to her brothers and sisters, but did not think she wanted to be a mother. She struggled a bit through what her head wanted and what her heart wanted. The ending was a bit predictable, but I still really enjoyed the story. I received an ARC via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review, all conclusions are my own.
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
This book is unlike many of the other chick lit books out there. Not only does Wendy Markham produce a story with uniqueness that tugs at readers hearts, but also develops her characters just as if they were real. I loved the book. At times I felt it dragged a bit; fall in love already I kept thinking, but most of the book flowed effortlessly. A+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of my friends loaned me this book to read. She said that it was wonderful and it was a must read. She wasn't kidding! I fell in love with the characters from the start. I have read a lot of romance books and some of them after reading don't stand out and it's the same HEA just different covers. The book stands out and is a story line all it's own. I loved this book so much that I had to buy it even though I already read it. The book makes you feel good about love and friendship. I read it over again from time to time when I need a pick me up or just not wanting to start any other books. It's one that I will keep and not get rid of because it's just that type of book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a great start for a new and fun genre of book for those falling in the single and fun 21-35 category of life....once you start with this genre you wont put them down....I have gotten to many friends to count hooked on this genre!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I am not too big on romance because I dislike all the perfect looking men and women. This novel is not like that. Nina has had to be a 'mom' all her life to her family after her mother died in childbirth with her youngest brother. She just wants out. Then her best friend, Joe asks her to have a baby for him-no strings attached. It sounds hokey but it's definetly not. None of the characters are perfect. The storyline is well paced and wacky enough without becoming realistic. Definetly a great read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have not been able to sit down and finish a book in a long time. I was up until 4am one night reading this book. When I find a book I like I can't seem to put it down. I read this book of 389 pages in 3 days!!! Let me tell you - that doesn't happen very often...I can't wait to read more of Wendy Markham's books! YOU GO GIRL!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Nine Month Plan was given to me, along with some other books. I read this first, and am SO glad I did. In a time where so much bad is going on in the world, this book made me laugh, cry (happy and sad tears), and feel GOOD. I loved the first-person storytelling. I became Nina's good friend, and she was telling the story over pizza and soda in her family's restaurant (you'll understand when you read the book!). I am absolutely giving this book as a Christmas stocking stuffer, and will recommend it to others looking for a great book. This had a fun story line, amazing descriptions of emotions, realistic tellings of pregnancy (the author MUST have children!), a subtle warning about pre-eclampsia (WONDERFUL---this doesn't get enough exposure!), and a happy and tearful ending. Any book that can make me cry happy tears at the end is a keeper....Wendy Markham will always have space on my bookshelves! A great escape book for those crazy days!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nina Chickalini has been caring for her family since her mother died of eclampsia while giving birth to Nina's younger brother, Ralphie. Until her familial obligations have been met, Nina's dreams of moving out of her neighborhood in Queens and seeing the world has been put on hold. Her next-door neighbor/best friend, Joe Materi, is a workaholic. He longs to be a father & begins to half-jokingly suggest that Nina be the surrogate mother. Nina agrees. The story continues with the pregnancy, the both family's assumption they will marry, and Nina's goal of reaching 'Independence Day' which conflicts with her feelings for Joe and the baby. Joe is slowly beginning to realize that he may have always had feelings for Nina. This book is written in present tense, perhaps to draw the reader more into the story. It throws off the rhythm and flow of the scenes. Nina seems like an intelligent woman, but the fact that her main reasons to have Joe's baby is that she feels indebted to him for his kindness to her family over the years mixed in with the feeling that this is her only chance to know what it would like to be pregnant seems a bit odd. However, the scenes between Joe and Nina are tender and sweet. The main and secondary characters are likable. Overall, 'The Nine Month Plan' is a sweet story between two best friends who are selfless to a fault and do not realize that they are truly meant for each other. It's an enjoyable and entertaining read, if you can bypass the present tense in which it is written and the reasons for which Nina decides to have Joe's baby.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Queens, New York, Nina Chickalini is weary and wants to simply escape from her home and her borough to the French Riviera instead of the Rockaways or Jones Beach. She is tired having raised her younger siblings after their mother left for heaven and achy from filling in at the family pizzeria.

However, Nina suffers from a responsibility bone so when her pal Joey Materi asks a favor she knows she owes him. He wants a child of his own so Nina agrees to be the surrogate mother, but makes it clear she did her child raising already and will not help him as Europe beckons just after the nine months are over. During the pregnancy the neighborhood plays matchmakers. Meanwhile, Nina reassesses her dreams for she feels so right in the muscular arms of Joey, who wants her as his beloved wife forever.

New York neighborhood humor is what keeps this charming contemporary romance from becoming a farcical soap opera. The story line amuses the audience with the antics of those wanting Nina to marry Joey. Readers who had early responsibilities will commiserate with Nina and all fans will like Joey who is a huggable hunk. Still, paying her debt by achieving the goal of THE NINE MONTH PLAN seems a bit excessive, but then again Wendy Markham keeps it just light enough to also make it fun to follow the Chickalini clan.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wanna chat?