Night Shift

Night Shift

by Stephen King, De Botton

Hardcover(1st ed)

$33.75 $37.50 Save 10% Current price is $33.75, Original price is $37.5. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Night Shift 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 196 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite Stephen King work (and I¿ve read a lot of them). Night Shift is a collection of short stories from early on in Mr. King¿s career. There are 20 stories contained within ¿ each quite short. The longest one is 34 pages long, but most tend to fall around the 17-page range. They may not be the deepest or most profound things ever written, but they¿re fun to read and that¿s what matters. Another plus to this book is that the tale of `Salem¿s Lot continues in two stories contained within. ¿Jerusalem¿s Lot' is a prequel, while ¿One for the Road¿ is an epilogue of sorts. So you might want to check it out if you were a fan of that novel. If you¿re in the mood for something fun to read to help pass a dull moment, Night Shift is for you. However, if you demand something richer and more intense, I¿d look elsewhere.
Amy Gallagher More than 1 year ago
I read this book for the first time over 25 years ago, and to this day, I cannot sleep or allow my children to sleep with the closet door open. A friend was spending the night and as she closed the closet in the guest room I said, "You close the door, too?" She replied, "Oh, yeah. I've read Stephen King."
InnocenceDiesAbbyDosent More than 1 year ago
This is a great book I loved it! The Boogeyman and Children Of The Corn are the scaryest!
JULIANN1 More than 1 year ago
First, let me say I have been a major Stephen King fan since I first read The Stand in 1981. I then read all his books up to that time, including Night Shift, which was the only one I didn't care for. I basically dismissed it as immature and lightweight—silly premises, like rats and a guy who turns into slime from drinking bad beer, with gratuitous gore tossed in for the gross-out factor. I've reread many of King's books since, but always skipped Night Shift. I guess I was the immature one then. I just finished it, and I am astonished. The work is brilliant, no less brilliant than any of King's work. Each story is wonderfully crafted. One of King's greatest talents, I think, is his portrayal of people, and he shines in this collection. Gray Matter (the stupid story about the guy who turns to slime from drinking bad beer) is a masterpiece of character. The trek up the hill with the case of beer is so good it could be framed. Trucks has the same these-people-are-so-real-and-right quality, and reminded me of The Mist, one of my all-time favorites. And to think I almost passed this collection by again.
1000_Character_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Some of the best storytelling that Stephen King produces is usually contained in his short story collections. Night Shift is no exception. Written well over 30 years ago for various publications, the book contains some real classics - most of which have been turned into movies (most of which sucked). Stories such as Children of the Corn, The Lawnmower Man (which oddly enough the movie had very little to do with the story...and even more oddly...the movie was better), Graveyard Shift, Trucks (became Maximum Overdrive), several that became Cat's Eye, and many more. It even includes the 'Salems Lot prequel and follow-up. Each story does a wonderful job of either creating tremendous suspense or scaring the hell out of you. They all mostly end with a bit of a cliffhanger ending that allows your imagination to run wild with how the story ends. A great read that allows you to experience one of the greatest storytellers of all time in bite-size chunks.
Mom_in_Tennis_Shoes More than 1 year ago
...to chill your bones. Stephen King is a great story-teller. Every story is so different and this book provides a lot of variety. Many of them are just pure suspense, which are my favorites, e.g. The Ledge and Quitters, Inc. There's some occultic ones which are not my favorites, e.g. Children of the Corn and Jerusalem's Lot. There will be something in this variety pack for everyone to enjoy. This is a collection written in the early 1970's. I think this author will one day be the modern day Edgar Allan Poe.
Aimee_Leon More than 1 year ago
These collections of Stephen King's earlier short stories were so excellent, believable & not so believable in the sometimes and very scary. I enjoyed reading them all. My ultimate favorite tale was Jerusalem's Lot, I Am the Doorway, Sometimes They Come Back, Quitters, Inc., I Know What You Need, The Last Rung on the Ladder, One for the Road, The Last Rung on the Ladder, Strawberry Spring & Gray Matter. Those are the real in depth and horrifying tales. I love this book a lot that I've read them several times, and would recommend it them to anyone. You cannot go wrong with SK earlier works.
andersonden on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think this is some of the best of King - old classic stories. Someone should really tell the film makers that stories like "The Lawnmower Man" are best left in print form, however. Most of them are a little too short to transfer well into a feature film (the possible exception being "Children of the Corn" which had a lot of possibilities left open). Sixteen out of the 20 here are very memorable. A good proportion for a short story collection.
jseger9000 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Stephen King's first short story collection Night Shift is pretty solid. Overall, it's not as good a collection as Skeleton Crew, but there are some real classics here.For my money Graveyard Shift, I Am the Doorway, Gray Matter, Children of the Corn, The Last Rung on the Ladder and One for the Road (a cool, spooky sort of an epilogue to 'Salem's Lot) are King at the top of his game.The rest of the stories don't quite approach that level, but all have something interesting about them. There are some that I wish were better, but I didn't think there was a clinker in the bunch.In a couple of stories, you can see King working out some early ideas for what would become classic novels. The first is Jerusalem's Lot a fun Lovecraftian tale about a family curse, a deserted village and the old gods. King is a monumentally better writer than Lovecraft ever was. Even his purposely-purple-prose seems less of an affectation than Lovecraft's usually is.The other, Night Surf is a sort of alternate take on Captain Trips and The Stand. A neat idea, but I wasn't wild about the story itself.There were a couple of horror/comedy stories (The Lawnmower Man and Quitters, Inc.) that were handled very well. They reminded me of the sort of stuff that Bentley Little does so well.Worth a read, definitely. For any other writer, this would be a top tier collection, but King is King for a reason and has done better collections since this one.
ManoDogs on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A collection of his earlier works, most of which are pretty good, but not great. Many were the bases for several of his movies, including Graveyard Shift, Lawnmower Man, and Children of the Corn.He later expanded several of these shorts into larger works, including Jerusalem's Lot (Salem's Lot) and Night Surf (The Stand).A decent collection for real fans and completists, but Skeleton Crew is superior.
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the best collections of King's short fiction. Skeleton Crew is marginally better, but this is excellent. He reminds me a bit of Bradbury in the way that he can come up with many different scenarios and each still has a major punch.
StefanY on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Overall ¿ I really liked the first story, but after that the stories really seemed to taper off quite a bit until I got to Battleground. After that one, my interested was piqued and the book continued at a high level through The Ledge and on to the end with a few exceptions here and there raising my overall rating from a 6 to a 7.Jerusalem¿s Lot ¿ The first story is an ¿historical¿ account of the events that take place when a man and his faithful servant take residence in his ancestral home and explore the shunned ghost town of Jerusalem¿s Lot. The story is told through a series of letters and journal entries and is very different from King¿s normal style. It¿s a bit slow, but still creepy.Graveyard Shift ¿ A group of men who work in a factory are offered the ¿opportunity¿ to work over the 4th of July holiday cleaning out the basement of the factory. They discover a rat problem in the depths of the building that turns out to be worse than expected. This one was mildly amusing, not the best of the bunch.Night Surf ¿ Post apocalyptic preview of The Stand. The super flu has run rampant and wiped out most of the population. For all that this small group of survivors knows, they are the last people on the planet. So-so, maintains interest because of The Stand.I Am the Doorway ¿ A wheel-chair bound former astronaut with a strange affliction tells his friend about his vision of a crime that he is sure that he committed even though it is a physical impossibility for him to have committed it. This one took me much longer than it should have to finish. It did not keep my attention and frankly I was bored with it.The Mangler ¿ A police officer investigates an industrial accident at a laundry. What he finds there turns out to be more than just an accident. I liked this story. It was engaging and kept the tension going through the end.The Boogeyman ¿ A man speaks to a therapist about the deaths of his young children at the hands of the closet monster and the blame that he has taken upon himself for his part in them. Pretty darn good story¿until the end. Just my opinion, but I though that the ending really sucked.Gray Matter ¿ A man gets some kind of illness from drinking a bad beer and it begins to change his physical form. Not bad, this one moved along pretty well and had some decent suspense.Battleground ¿ Excellent story. A hit man receives a box from his mark¿s mother when he returns from a job. The suspense is built up really well and there¿s a great ending.Trucks ¿ This one is pretty good. It centers on a group of people who are trapped in a truck stop by a mob of possessed trucks. The movie Maximum Overdrive is based on this story and uses most of the major parts of the story, but extrapolates upon the story quite a bit. Another one with which I was not too pleased by the ending.Sometimes They Come Back ¿ Well written story about a man who is having recurring nightmares involving the childhood murder of his brother. When the teenage murderers begin appearing in his class 16 years later, he knows that something unnatural is afoot and takes it upon himself to find out how to stop it.Strawberry Spring ¿ Best story in the book so far, although a bit predictable. I can¿t really say why I enjoyed the story so much, it just seems to flow well. Told in first person, it is an account of a series of murders that take place on campus during the time that the protagonist is in college. I loved the ending of this one.The Ledge ¿ The Ledge is another solid offering. A tennis pro caught cheating with a millionaire¿s wife accepts a wager to walk the 5 inch ledge around the 40th floor. Good build up of tension through-out and another nice ending.The Lawnmower Man ¿ After a string of excellent stories, this one is pretty weak. A man sells his lawnmower after a cat is accidentally run over by the kid he hires to mow his lawn. The following summer, he procrastinates hiring a service to do the mowing and the lawn grows out of control. When he finally hi
JechtShot on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Night Shift is a collection of short stories by Stephen King first published in 1978. I will be the first to admit that I am a bigger fan of the King tomes and normally do not love his short fiction. Night Shift, however, is the exception. A few standouts that I would recommend: The Ledge, Quitter Inc., Children of the Corn and I Know What You Need. The rest of the stories are pretty good and vary in levels of believability from "very real" to "complete absurdity". If you are going to pass by any of the stops along the Night Shift train I would personally skip The Man Who Loved Flowers. Other than that, this is Stephen King gold.Night Shift is a great collection to pick up if you are in the mood to be scared, just a bit, one story at a time.
endersreads on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ahhh, the night shift. Nothing like the quietness of it. In King's "Night Shift" we have 20 shorts. The well known "Jerusalem's Lot (later shortened to Salem's Lot), Graveyard Shift (sweet), "Trucks", "The Lawnmower Man", "Children of the Corn"--we all have heard of these, and for good reason. It's been a while since I read this, and much has blurred. One story that sticks out in my mind is "Sometimes They Come Back". Bullies die hard...
Refill More than 1 year ago
We often think of Stephen King’s introduction as “Carrie”, but he was writing long before that through short stories. These helped make him the writer we know so well, and though they were mostly printed in pornographic magazines, there were some gems that would be difficult to come by if we were not gifted in 1978 with “Night Shift”, a collection of short stories containing some of his pre-“Carrie” stories. He wrote a few that came after, but they were typically not as strong. Because it is a collection, the plots vary. Some of the highlights include killer trucks, ghosts haunting a teacher, and a mill with horrific terrors underneath. It is the kind of stuff that can be done poorly on the SYFY cable network, but because King is so good with words, they often had me laughing at the end as I realized I just enjoyed the hell out of something so bizarre. My favorite was about the possessed industrial laundry machine. Or maybe the one about the soldiers in what could be described as a violent version of “Toy Story”. Speaking of movies, two of the writings, “The Ledge” and “Quitters, Inc.”, are translated for the screen by King himself in the 1985 film “Cat’s Eye”. One of the good adaptations of his work, the movie benefits from tight storytelling. This is one time where the book and the movie are both worthy of each other. “Quitters Inc.” is one of four original stories written for this collection, and it is the best of them. Another is “Jerusalem’s Lot”, a prequel to King’s 1975 novel “’Salem’s Lot”. It is slow and not easy to follow, though it does improve by the end. The remaining original stories here are “The Last Rung on the Ladder” and “The Woman in the Room”. These are not bad stories, but they are more sentimental in nature and break the momentum of the fun I was having. If they were going to be included, I would have preferred they not be so close to the end so it could have had a much more fun feeling at the end of the book. “Night Surf” was not an original story, and I didn’t care for it, but at least it was out of the way early on. Not his most terrifying book (although “Children of the Corn” is pretty damn atmospheric and disturbing), it is the most fun I have had reading King. I had a ball with this delightfully macabre collection and recommend it for most readers. Four stars out of five.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great read! Once I picked this up I could not put it down. Each of the short stories in here aren't too long, so you can go through them quickly. They're fun but I'll be honest they scared me too! I would definitely recommend reading this as long as you don't mind getting spooked. I really enjoyed reading each of these stories and I can't wait to read them again!  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The stories are not quute what i was expecting, some of them just don't give me the chills one would expect from a Stephen King story. I mean some of them are really interesting and chilling, like "Sometimes They Come Back", but ithers are just plain silly. Possessed trucks? That sounds already done. And the way the short "Boogeyman" ended was just plain ridiculous
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago