Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes (Daisy's Tea Garden Series #1)

Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes (Daisy's Tea Garden Series #1)

by Karen Rose Smith

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed characters and storyline
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The whole book was stupid
carol223CS More than 1 year ago
Karen Rose Smith’s Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes Daisy Swanson and her daughters have moved back to Willow Creek, Pennsylvania after the death of her husband. Daisy and her Aunt Iris have started a Tea Garden which serves a large variety of teas, scones, tea cakes plus other goodies depending on the time and day of the week. The story is set the Amish Country of Lancaster County. Daisy and Aunt Iris use the available fruits and vegetables from the locals. They provide parking places for horse and buggies at Daisy’s Tea Garden in addition to the regular area for cars and buses. Aunt Iris has been dating a man separated from his wife for about three years and in the final stages of his divorce. The man has disinherited his children and has the reputation of being a relentless business man. Aunt Iris discovers his dead body in their tea garden. Who would have killed him? When a Aunt Iris becomes the main suspect, Daisy decides to investigate on her own. Great array of well-defined, well developed characters involved in an unpredictable plot. Moves at a steady pace with vivid descriptions of the houses and area where Daisy lives and works. Plus lots of food ideas with recipes after the book ends. I also learned about a variety of teas. Daisy has two cats: Marjoram, a tortoiseshell with unmistakably unique markings and Pepper, a black with white fluffy spots on her chest. Murder, house trashing, suspense with many suspects all combined with some humor, family issues and a hint of romance to make this a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Predictable but entertaining.
bookwomen37 More than 1 year ago
This is a cute cozy mystery but it was just an OK read for me. Daisy and her Aunt Iris own and operate Daisy's Tea Garden in Pennsylvania. Her aunt is dating a local store owner Harvey while Daisy a widow is still healing her broken heart. When Harvey is found dead in their garden her Aunt is the prime suspect. Daisy tries to the solve murder to clear her aunt. The author does a good job with the small town setting and the tea room background. The mystery however was weak. Daisy did not solve the crime. There were not any real suspects. It was easy to figure out the killer. The author also spent way too much time describing clothes and appearances of very minor characters. Recipes are included in the back.
FairyBookMother More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved reading this book, and had my suspicions about who the killer would be, but I kept changing my mind. I enjoyed the atmospheres created in the book. I wish I could visit Daisy's Tea Room (in real life my favorite tea house is closing). All of the characters are very well described and rounded. I also enjoy the closeness of Daisy's family. Since I loved this book I will be sure to grab book 2 in the series!
SewWrite More than 1 year ago
What a great start to new series! Daisy Swanson is a recently widowed mother of two. She moves back to Amish country with her girls to open a tea house with her Aunt Iris. Daisy not only has to worry about her oldest daughter going off to collage and her younger adopted daughter wanting to find her birth mother, her Aunt Iris is dating a rich man that has not yet signed his divorce papers. When he is found dead in the back yard of the tea house Iris becomes a suspect and the tea house becomes a crime scene. Daisy finds a friend in Jonas, a retired police officer who helps her uncover the clues to the murder. I really enjoyed this book and was instantly drawn to the characters. They seem so real and have real life problems and concerns. The many emotions running through each is palpable and the reader is engrossed in the story every step of the way.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts I was captivated by this cozy from the first chapter. Daisy Swanson’s husband Ryan, passed away about 3 years ago. She and her daughters have moved to Willow Creek so Daisy can partner with her Aunt Iris owning and operating Daisy’s Tea Garden. Daisy also purchased and renovated an old barn into an extraordinary home. Iris is dating Harvey Fitz, owner of the men’s clothing store down the street, a very wealthy man. The problem is that while he is separated he is not yet divorced making people a little uncomfortable with the arrangement. Plus his wife appears to not be giving in without a fight. Harvey may have changed his will cutting off his adult children too. Before the divorce is final Iris finds Harvey dead on the tea garden patio and she and Daisy become the police’s prime suspects. Daisy is going to need a little help but she is going to try to find the real killer. I love the strong family bonds in this story. They are very believable. Daisy has a very strong bond with her aunt. Iris and her sister, Daisy’s mom, have a lifelike sisterly bond on well. They have no trouble telling each other what they think. Daisy is a great mom but her daughters, Violet and Jasmine are dealing with being separated since Vi is now in college and there is something else bothering Jazzi. Daisy also has a sister Camellia. As you can see, flower names are a family tradition. The author has set the story in the beautiful Amish Lancaster County. Iris and Daisy use fruits and vegetables from the farmers at the restaurant and the town has places for buggies as well as cars and trucks. Daisy’s home has me wishing for something just like it. The tea garden seems like a place I would want to visit every day. The mystery was harder to solve than I initially thought it would be. I had my suspects down to two when more suspects were brought forward for consideration. A shocking twist turned my thinking completely inside out. An inviting setting, engaging characters, and a well-plotted mystery made this a story I didn’t want to put down. Ms. Smith really intrigued with this book. I want to get to know these characters better and visit Willow Creek again soon and often. This series is off to an excellent start.
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
In this new book we meet Daisy the owner of Daisy's Tea Garden. Her aunt begins dating a man who is not only well known in the community but still married leaving Daisy feeling very apprehensive about all that could go wrong. When the man in question is murdered and things start pointing in Iris's direction Daisy hopes that she will be able to help solve the mystery of who killed Harvey and why. Follow along and see of you can solve the mystery!!! What a lovely start to a series, Karen didn't disappoint with this new book and I look forward to seeing where these characters progress.
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Daisy Swanson is a smart business woman and a caring person. She loves her family and will do whatever is necessary to protect them. When her Aunt Iris is suspected of murdering her boyfriend, Daisy starts investigating to clear her aunt. Can she find the real culprit? Karen Rose Smith is a talented author who creates likeable characters that the reader cares about. In addition I love how she includes animals in her story. It makes me feel comfy and right at home. The small town setting filled with caring people adds to the suspenseful mystery. A touch of romance is a sweet addition and balances the action. With two handsome men interested in Daisy I just need to wait and see who she chooses. As a bonus I learned so much about brewing teas. Who could ask for more? Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes is the first book in a new series. I can't wait to see what happens next.
BeagleGirl123 More than 1 year ago
Fans of cozy mysteries know that a tea shop is the ideal setting for murder, and Karen Rose Smith's Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes, the first installment in the Daisy's Tea Garden Mystery series, is a perfect example! Widow Daisy Swanson and her aunt, Iris, have gone into business together in Willow Creek, Pennsylvania, as the proud owners of Daisy's Tea Shop, situated in an old Victorian home in the heart of town. Iris's beau, the not quite divorced Harvey Fitz, is found bludgeoned to death in their garden, and Daisy must investigate to find the murderer so that life can get back to normal (even though murder is surprising good for business in this case!). There are plenty of suspects - the aforementioned wife, two greedy children, and disgruntled employees just to name a few! Poor Iris is also the victim of Harvey's very angry wife's verbal lashings, and the ransacking of her home. Raising two young women, and thinking about dating again, also keep Daisy quite busy. A nice, quick read, the author has created memorable characters, and really did a great job of leading Daisy (and the reader) along the path to discovering the murderer. I'm looking forward to the next installment in this series - Murder with Cinnamon Scones! A+
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes by Karen Rose Smith is the first book in A Daisy’s Tea Garden Mystery series. Daisy Swanson co-owns Daisy’s Tea Garden (housed in a beautiful old Victorian) with her aunt, Iris Albright in Willow Creek, Pennsylvania. Iris has been dating Harvey Fisk who is working to obtain a divorce from his wife, Monica. At a party honoring the 25th anniversary of Harvey’s store, Men’s Trends at Daisy’s Tea Garden, Monica storms in and accuses Harvey of hiding assets (talk about a party pooper). Iris leaves to meet Harvey for a date and Daisy hears a scream. Harvey is dead in their herb garden from blunt force trauma and one of their statues is missing. Detective Rappaport is on the case, and he has decided Iris is the culprit. Daisy with the help of former detective, Jonas Groft query the various suspects. It turns out that Harvey had recently changed his will which angered his children. Could one of them have murdered Harvey? Daisy is worried about her youngest daughter, Jazzi. She has been acting out lately, and Daisy discovers that Jazzi wants to locate her biological mother. Daisy knows she needs to support Jazzi’s decision and help her in any way she can. Business is booming at the tea garden courtesy of Harvey’s murder and Daisy brings on additional staff. Daisy follows the clues in the hopes of catching the real killer and removing Aunt Iris from the suspect list. Who murdered Harvey? Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes is nicely written and has a good pace. The author sets the stage in this book for the series. She establishes the characters, Daisy’s Tea Garden, and the town. I found the characters to be congenial and relatable (except for Detective Rappaport). Daisy is a smart, strong and caring woman who loves her family and is striving to make a success of her new business. She is a widow with two daughters (one biological and one adopted). Thanks to Karen Rose Smith’s description, I can picture Daisy’s Tea Garden in my head. She provides sumptuous descriptions of the tea and food served at the tea garden (recipes at the end of the book). I was not a fan of cantankerous Detective Rappaport, but their does need to be one disagreeable character (someone who readers love to hate). He was like a dog with a bone. He gets a hold of an idea and does not let go. The mystery was appealing with several suspects and misdirection. The investigation mostly consisted of questioning (I wish there had been more action). The murder was not the prominent part of the story. The mystery can be solved before the reveal if pay careful attention to the clues. More time is devoted to the tea garden, Daisy’s family, food descriptions, tea, talking, cats and flirting. There are two possible romantic partners for Daisy. I am sincerely hoping that this will not result in a love triangle in future books in the series. Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes is a lovely cozy mystery, and I will be reading the next book in A Daisy’s Tea Garden Mystery series. Fans of Karen Rose Smith and A Caprice De Luca Mystery series will be entertained by Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes.
Kuzlin More than 1 year ago
Review Daisy Swanson is concerned that her Aunt Iris is going to get hurt in her relationship with Harvey Fitz. After all, he is still technically married, and even though Iris has assured her that he is separated and arranging to sign the divorce papers, Daisy still has her doubts. But when Harvey's dead body is found in the garden of their tea shop, and her aunt is the prime suspect, Daisy knows she has to snoop around to help prove her innocence. This is the first in a new series by author Karen Rose Smith and provides the reader with a strong female lead (widowed with two teenaged daughters). If you like the Caprice DeLuca mysteries, then you will enjoy this series. Family support and ties with one another are stressed in both series, as well as presenting an interesting mystery with several suspects and varying motives. Disclosure: I am voluntarily reviewing an advance reading copy of this book.
Mama_Cat More than 1 year ago
Karen Rose Smith has hit a grand slam homer with her fabulous first in a new series, Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes! I thoroughly enjoyed it and am eagerly looking forward to the next one. The author has the perfect elements – very likable characters, a lovely Tea Garden with scrumptious-sounding food, and a mystery that will stump some of the most diligent readers. Daisy Swanson wears many hats – widowed mother to teen girls Violet and Jazzi, as well as daughter, sister, niece, and business owner/ manager. Her beloved Ryan passed away three years earlier, and she packed up and returned to Willow Creek, Pennsylvania. She and Aunt Iris found the perfect location for a tea shop that also sells pastries baked in-house and serves proper afternoon tea. Tessa, her best friend since high school, is her chef, who also rents the second floor of the Victorian home housing Daisy’s Tea Garden. Iris is dating a man who treats her as she deserves to be in every way except one. Harvey is still married, although is only weeks away from the divorce being final. While Daisy wished he was already divorced, she is not as outspoken about it as her mother, Iris’ sister. Harvey is a wealthy man, owning a specialty store called Men’s Trends for twenty-five years. Harvey rented the tearoom for a full Sunday for an invitation-only celebration of the stores’s anniversary. His adult son and daughter attend and have a mild spat, and Harvey’s soon to be ex-wife crashes the party but is quickly led out by another attendee. Based on things that Harvey tells Iris, she knows he wants to discuss their future as soon as his divorce is final. Iris is excited to meet Harvey one evening after work. It begins no different from others in that Harvey will meet Iris in the garden at the Tea Garden. When Iris sees Harvey, however, he is dead, having clearly been murdered. The detective in charge of the case believes Iris killed Harvey, perhaps in collusion with Daisy. I find the relationships between family members and loved ones fascinating. I learn the most about the ladies in Daisy’s family from the challenges between sisters and how one’s mother can help them grow closer or farther apart. Daisy helps each daughter see her strengths as equal to her sister’s, and she shows Vi and Jazzi that they are equally her beloved daughters, whether by birth or adoption. I really like Daisy and Iris, and Daisy’s new acquaintance, Jonas, and his helpfulness in her family’s needs . There are unique elements to the plot, including twists that change the course of the investigation or how dangerous the bad guy/ gal is. Determining who might be the killer is a challenge, as there is little evidence. I had a tiny suspicion at one point, yet also considered red herrings when they looked better than my guess. The solution was surprising as I had so readily discarded the person. I appreciate seeing that there is more in Daisy’s life than work and finding a killer. The author demonstrates sensitivity through Daisy’s familial relationships and the needs of her daughters. There is a depth to Daisy and Iris that makes them fully three-dimensional, and I am looking forward to getting to know them better in upcoming mysteries. I highly recommend Murder with Lemon Tea Cakes; it is one of my favorite new series in 2017! From a grateful heart: I received a copy of this from the publisher and NetGalley, and here is my honest review.