Murder of Crows (Anne Bishop's Others Series #2)

Murder of Crows (Anne Bishop's Others Series #2)

by Anne Bishop

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder of Crows (Others Series #2) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 94 reviews.
Barb-TRC More than 1 year ago
Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop is the 2nd book in her The Others series. I love all of Anne’s books, and this series is not any different. The Others is a different and fascinating story about the terra indigene (non humans, such as wolves, crows, vampires, elementals, grizzlies, etc) who control most of the world, and the humans, good and bad who live in lands The Others allow humans to live on. The main storyline is a young woman, who is a blood prophet and lives among the terra indigene. In case you have not read my review of the first book, a blood prophet is someone who must cut themselves to see the future. Written in Red introduces us to Meg and her arrival in the Lakeside courtyard where humans were minimal, as we discovered more about her, and how the others learned to care very much for this human, and how far they would go to protect her as one of their own. Murder of Crows continues with these fabulous people we have become invested in. Meg, Simon, Nathan, Tess, Vlad, Winter, Monty, Merri, and so many more wonderful and new characters that Anne has created in this fantastic world. Though this is not a romance, Simon finds himself caring more and more about Meg, whom he cannot seem to stay away from; but it concerns him, since he is non human, and should not care about any human. They are just friends at this point, perhaps in the next book, this friendship will change. But in Murder of Crows the story is two fold. An evil group is killing crows or any other non human. The Others are determined to protect Meg, as well as stop the attacks; they concentrate on using Meg’s prophecies or clues to find the enemy. The story is tense at times, with all the threats and unrest. I cannot tell too much, since I do not want to give spoilers. Only to say I loved this book, and the entire series. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book, which is a year away. Just watching the others is fun, as you see them caring so much about “our Meg”; as well as learning some new and confusing things that humans do, which may or may not help them to understand humans better. This is so well done. Simple things like flavored cookies for animals (wolves, etc) or humans taking notes is pretty funny. It also helps the others form a workable relationship with some of the human police force to help find the enemies. Murder of Crows is a fascinating world, deeply complex, with a fabulous cast of characters. The story has everything, from fun, exciting, mysterious, tension and a wild climax. But it does have an ending to this storyline, that also addicts us to want to continue into the lives of Meg and The Others. Again I have to say I love everything about Anne Bishop’s writing, and Murder of Crows was great. I would suggest you to start with Written in Red, if you haven’t started this series yet, and do not wait.
Geek_Girl More than 1 year ago
This is the 2nd in a series (1st is Written in Red)and it feels like Bishop is still figuring things out. But, its an interesting take on vampires, werewolves and others and I'm going to read the next one. Meg is naïve, but her background makes that plausible, but she's not a doormat. She's not the standard badass, warrior, leap without thinking heroine. I like it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am sad today because the next book in the series will not be available for a very long time. Ms. Bishop can add another devoted follower to her rah-rah club. Murder of Crows was not the same adrenaline pumping ride into the unknown like Written in Red was. This novel let us see the hope for understanding between different people, namely the Others and humans. It also provides a twisted peepshow into human nature, greed, privledge, and extreme ideology....it mirrors so many fundamental truths from our daily lives...that if you changed the name of HFL to Teaparty ...you could be reading the newpaper or lisyen to the news. I enjoyed this novel and eagerly await the next one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. I hope there will be another installment soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Can't wait until the next one!
lillianya More than 1 year ago
I couldnt wait for this book to come out! I read it in one night and am now waiting for book 3. I love this author and I love this series. I like the developing relationship between Meg and Simon and seeing how all the characters are growing and changing. Come on book 3!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The 2nd in the series is just as wonderful as the first. Truly enjoying this series and can only reread it again and again till the next book comes out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anne Bishop is one of my favorite authors. I buy everything she writes. She is an amazing storyteller, and this book is no exception.
debruth More than 1 year ago
This is the sevond in (the others) series, I loved the first one and right away preordered this one, Murder of Crows. I thought this one was great also. I can't wait for another book to come out. If you like books with people with special powers (which depends for me) you will love this book, I can be picky about some of these books so believe this when I tell you its worth rrading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written. Definitely holds the readers attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I devoured this book. The series. Recommended it to anyone who likes dark fantasy. Very detailed world. Will be reading them again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Others Series is highly addictive. I bought Written in Red as last minute purchase. By the end of the weekend I owned all in the series. Anne Bishop is an excellent writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AnnaRhodes More than 1 year ago
I have no idea what took me so long to pick up this book. I fell in love with all of these characters and the world during the first book in the series. Alexandra Harris does an amazing job narrating for the audiobooks and I’m sure it plays a very large part on how easy it is to immerse myself in the story with how she does the different character voices and accents. She’s honestly one of the reasons why I fell in love with listening to audiobooks and will continue too. I’m enjoying seeing how the characters are developing and further establishing their relationships in this book. It doesn’t seem so impossible now for humans and others to get along better without fear (well, maybe still a little bit of fear) New characters are starting to make appearances and it only makes the picture that much large of how this world really works. While, I do like all the main characters at the point, I have to admit that my all time favorite it Vlad and I need to know more about him and the Sanguinati. It could just be the vampire lover in me, but so far they’re my favorite. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen next. Especially since all of the Others are interacting with Meg just a little bit more and it’s almost funny yet frustrating for them not to understand certain ways of feelings. It makes me want to just grab them and tell it to their face instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read her books over and over and each time I discover something new
miki_Lecture More than 1 year ago
This series keeps getting better! I so loved this sequel... i mean it’s even better than book 1....so much that i couldn’t stop reading even if i should have since it was deep night but it was so good that i could only switch off the light for 5min before i had to get up again and continue reading until the last page. Anne Bishop created an universe complexe but so captivating that you get immersed easily even if you don’t know a lot about if you are just so immersed in the story that you don’t feel as you are missing anything. I really loved to see in this sequel how Others from the world lived, reacted to humans being and at the same time to see how those we already know adjust to the changes that are happening. I don’t want to tell you too much to avoid spoiler and it’s the kind of story where it’s really difficult to reduce our opinion on a few facts only... to resume this one had me laughing as crazy, cry a little, smiling most of the time. Simon is still Simon and it was great to see how he is viewing his human pack now, i want more of Skippy and Sam...also of Whirlpool Now ity’s also true that this one was a bit darker than the precedent book which fit perfectly with the events happening or that could happen as the author manages to always let us know a little more but keeps a large bit a mystery.
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, it takes us further into the world where the Others rule.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
I liked this book just as much, if not more, than the first book in the series. I love all of the wonderful characters in this book but I also was really drawn to the story. Meg has really sparked a lot of change in Simon and her world. I now completely understand why so many people love this series. Meg speaks prophecies but she doesn't just come out and say what is going to happen. It takes some work to put everything together. The Others seem to be very good at piecing together her warnings and they don't hesitate to act upon them. There has been an outbreak of strange behavior in both humans and the Others caused by a new drug that has resulted in a lot of deaths. There is another group in danger. The other blood prophets, like Meg, are not being cared for in the manner that everyone believes. They are used for profit and really live in a prison. Once the Others learn how things really are for this group they intervene. There are some truly heartbreaking scenes involving this group of people I love the characters in this book. We met nearly all of the characters in this book in the first book but the more time we spend with them the more I like them. Simon is just awesome. He confused himself but he knows that he wants to be around Meg and considers her to be his. Henry is another favorite character. He is always so peaceful and has a really gentle strength. Tess, Vlad, Jenni, and the rest of the individuals in the Courtyard are all a lot of fun. I would highly recommend this series to others. This is a second book in a series that really does need to be read in order since each book builds on the last. I can't wait to read more of this exciting world.
thereadingchick More than 1 year ago
Cassandra sangue, Meg Corbyn, is still working as the Human Liaison to the terre indigene in the Lakeside Courtyard. Simon, her boss, wolf, and new friend, has come to realize how delicate Meg is in comparison with the Others living in the compound and he guards that fragility ferociously. Meg’s prophecies are happening pretty regularly, not always requiring a cut, but sometimes that prickly feeling is so fierce that she is compelled to slice herself, disregarding her own safety. Her visions are full of violent images and the terre indigene of the Lakeside Courtyard have learned not to ignore what she says, as she has saved their lives before. It becomes apparent that a war between the terre indigene and humans is near when a drug poisons their food making them helpless in the hands of their human murderers. This novel lacks the humor of the first novel, although watching Meg and Simon tiptoe around each other is pretty funny, both completely clueless about their feelings, and how to act. The first book was about Meg and her safety, but this novel took an even darker turn on a larger scale. We are given an inside look at the unsavory business that holds the cassandra sangue hostage, and because we have come to care so much for Meg and love her innocence, we can’t help but be horrified at what she might have gone through while living in captivity. As this story unfolds, even though the terre indigene can be truly frightening, it’s the humans and their lack of humanity that have become the monsters. Anne Bishop deftly intertwines storylines told from several perspectives and when those stories merge, the impact is jolting leaving the reader hanging off the edge of their seat eagerly grabbing for the next book in the series. A paranormal thriller at its best. ❤❤❤❤❣
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good evening. I am &starf, a skilled assassin. I do not godmod and I complete the job in very little time. To hire my services, simply write the target's name and where they are at the next res. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really like this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful characters, intriguing, well developed story. Silver lining is next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as great as the first book, but still an amazing read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago