Murder in an Irish Churchyard (Irish Village Mystery Series #3)

Murder in an Irish Churchyard (Irish Village Mystery Series #3)

by Carlene O'Connor

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99 $7.59 Save 8% Current price is $6.99, Original price is $7.59. You Save 8%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder in an Irish Churchyard 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good!
Anonymous 8 months ago
couldn%27t+put+it+down
Anonymous 8 months ago
These++ooks+are+so+goog%2C+so+intense++so+spellbinding.++i+have+read+the+first+three+in+4+days%21++I%27m+hooked%21++can%27t+wait+for+the+next+one%21
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
I want to start by saying that I listened to this book and absolutely loved the narration. Hearing this story with an Irish lilt gave it a realistic feel, especially with the Irish sayings and slang. The narrator, Caroline Lennon, did a great job with expression, voices and the telling of the story. I would recommend that you try to listen to this one if you can get your hands on an audiobook. Siobhán is now Garda O'Sullivan and is getting ready for her first day. When she is summoned in the wee hours of the morning by the local priest, Father Kearney, she heads off to the cemetery in the Churchyard to investigate a dead body above ground. With it being a murder, Sergeant Macdara Flannery, Siobhán's ex-boyfriend, is summoned from Dublin to head the case. The victim is an American in Ireland to make a documentary about his Irish roots and ancestors. As Siobhán and Macdara investigate the family and documentary makers, it seems there is more than one suspect, as well as an old lady that has been seen skulking around. I really enjoy the character of Siobhán, a smart woman who uses her intuition and gut feelings to her advantage. She is a family woman, who takes care of her siblings and still makes the bread for the family bistro. She is hurting about the loss of her relationship of Macdara and I was happy to see that perhaps they might get back together. Technically, she is no longer an amateur sleuth, but I still consider this a cozy mystery. Her immediate supervisor, Garda O'Reilly, is not a very likeable character at all. He is constantly trying to get her in trouble and write her up, personally I think he is jealous of her success solving previous murders. The plot was well done with red herrings, clues sprinkled sporadically, some likeable characters, some not and a well paced storyline. I really enjoyed this story and figured out some things, but was still pleasantly surprised when the culprit and the motive were revealed in the story. I will definitely continue to read or listen to this wonderful series from Carlene O'Connor and recommend it to cozy mystery lovers or those who enjoy a nice visit to the countryside of Ireland.
Buecherwurm161 More than 1 year ago
A Wonderful Read. I was a First Read Winner of this book, and what a charming read. Apparently this is the 3rd book in the series, something that was not immediately obvious, but I never felt lost or confused, there clearly was a backstory but it did not subtract from this story. I loved the characters and the plot line and it was the perfect read for a snowed in weekend. This was my first book by the Author but it won't be my last and I want to start reading the previous books right away to see how it all began for Siobhain. Very entertaining and it had me guessing until the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keeps you engaged.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a grand book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome! Can’t wait until the next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters are fun and story was great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me guessing until the end. Loved the mystery!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of the books in this series, thus far, and they are all very well-written. The characters are well fleshed-out and the setting is interesting. This one had me guessing up until the very end with all its suspenseful twists and turns.
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
Murder in an Irish Churchyard by Carlene O'Connor is the third book in this series. Siobhan is now a garda! I was so happy to see her grow and become a police officer. It's the night before her first official work day, and we start off by experiencing some of her nervousness. Just because she was able to solve some earlier investigations, she still questions her abilities. A knock at her door in the early morning hours leaves Siobhan running through the cemetery, dodging the heavy snowflakes that will surely destroy any evidence of wrong doing. Her discovery sets off an investigation so bizarre and also brings Macdara back into Siobhan's life. The cast of characters in this story are over the top. They all have secrets and they all have motives. Will Siobhan be able to suss out the truth? Find out February 27th!