Murder at Morningside

Murder at Morningside

by Sandra Bretting

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder at Morningside 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Enjoyed with lots of suspects, loved the descriptions of the mansion.
TessT More than 1 year ago
Missy DuBois Mysteries, make me want to grab a mint julep and go find a rocking chair on the veranda. Enjoying a weekend at Morningside Plantation is Missy's dream. But a murder on the grounds throw her weekend way off kilter. Fast read, scenery sounds beautiful, quirky characters. I loved it! FTC Full Disclosure - A copy of this book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful who done it. I wanted to visit the town as I fell in love with the wonderful characters. I have endorsed this book to family and friends. Bring on more, I can not wait for another visit.
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Murder at Morningside - Missy DuBois Mystery Book 1 Author: Sandra Bretton Published: 5-24-2016 Publisher: Kensington Books / Lyrical Underground Pages: 190 Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Sub Genre: Women Sleuths; Cozy Mystery; Women's Fiction ISBN: 13: 9781601837134 ASIN: B014NWMHEW Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley Rating: 4.5 Stars I received a copy of "Murder at Morningside" from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review. Publisher's Description: Hat designer Missy DuBois opened her shop, Crowning Glory, along Louisiana's Great River Road to cater to the sophisticated Southern bride. But bless her heart, who knew creating stylish wedding veils would lead to murder? Hired to craft a veil for a socialite getting married at Morningside Plantation means Missy can bask in the height of antebellum atmosphere. But when the bride is found dead in a women's bathroom, Missy the milliner finds herself entangled in one unfashionable murder. With the list of suspects thicker than the sweltering Louisiana heat, including a gaggle of bridesmaids shedding nary a tear and a family with no shortage of enemies, it seems anyone at the mansion may have done away with the bride-to-be. While Missy has Southern charm to spare, she's going to need more than manners and a manicure to put a hat pin on this murderous affair . . . My Review: Humor, Drama and Intrigue ... 3 things that draw a mystery lover can't resist. Missy was a character that I wasn't sure I would like because of her uppity attitude at times, but by the end of the book she won me over. She showed her southern breeding and charm, but she also showed her insecurities and vulnerabilities. I have to say Ambrose was a dear and my favorite. All the characters were well-rounded and believable. The plot was done well with thought and care. The story moved quickly and flowed smoothly from scene to scene. Murder at Morningside was a joy to read. I laughed out loud at some passages. Thankfully I was at home and not out and about to look like a crazy person. I would recommend this book to any who enjoy a lighter humorous cozy mystery. My rating of "Murder at Morningside" was 4.5 out of 5 Stars.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
Great Book! This is a great book by Sandra Bretting. Missy DuBois is a hat designer and has opened her shop, Crowning Glory, along Louisiana’s Great River Road to cater to the sophisticated Southern bride. She has been hired to craft a veil for a socialite getting married at Morningside Plantation. When the bride is found dead in the women’s bathroom, she finds herself entangled in one unfashionable murder. This book has a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Murder in Morningside by Sandra Bretting is the first A Missy DuBois Mystery novel. Melissa “Missy” DuBois and her friend, Ambrose are at the Morningside Plantation to assist with a wedding of Trinity and Sterling. Ambrose is doing the gown (owns Ambrose’s Allure Couture) and Missy the veil (owns Crowning Glory). Unfortunately, before the bride and groom so can say their I Do’s, the bride is found dead in the bathroom (what a horrible place to kick the bucket). Who would want to kill a pregnant woman about to be married (Missy noticed the baby bump earlier in the day)? Missy had met Ivy Solomon, step-mother of the bride, earlier at a tea (and hat contest) Missy now feels that they are friends and sets out to find the killer (friends after an hour). Trinity was well-liked, but her father Herbert Solomon was not because of his oil refinery (and cheapskate ways). Would someone kill Trinity to get back at her father? Then there is the strange “ghost” being seen around the hotel. Will Missy be able to find the killer? You will have to read Murder in Morningside to get the answer. I found Murder in Morningside to be contrived (very fake). Missy DuBois is a true Southern woman (or what people believe a Southern woman to be) who keeps using various southern expressions like “bless her poor little heart” and “butter my biscuit” (I have yet to hear one southern person say any of these phrases. Maybe I live in the wrong state). I was not a fan of Missy (she was okay but no very believable as a real life character). How can you consider someone a friend after knowing them an hour? It seemed like a lame excuse to look into a murder (it would have been better if she had just admitted she was to curious for her own good). The characters were not developed. We get basic information on them, but they were not brought to life. There is quite a bit about a fashion show that Missy volunteers herself and Ambrose to organize and run (in a very short amount of time from scratch which is unlikely). The book is easy to read, but I just did not enjoy it. The mystery was child’s play to solve (the killer was extremely apparent). I give Murder in Morningside 2.5 out of 5 stars. I am not a fan of these silly mystery novels (which I do not know they are until I read them). I will not be reading the next book in the series (for which I am sure the author will grateful). I received a complimentary copy of Murder in Morningside from NetGalley in exchange for an honest evaluation of the novel.
ArizonaJo More than 1 year ago
Murder at Morningside by Sandra Bretting is the first book in this new cozy series and was an interesting book. Missy DuBois is a smart young woman who has opened her own hat and millinery shop in a small town along Louisiana's Great River Road. Her friend and shop neighbor, Ambrose, designs wedding dresses for elite southern belles. As guests at a wedding at the Morningside Plantation, they are quickly thrust into the murder of the bride. The plot was good with some twists but it slowed down in the middle as Missy becomes sidetracked by a local church's efforts to raise funds for new choir robes. I didn't quite see how this moved the story along to solve the mystery. All in all it was an enjoyable read for the most part. I found Missy and Ambrose to be likeable and I might try the next one in this series. I was given an ARC from Kensington Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.