ISBN-10:
0786162333
ISBN-13:
9780786162338
Pub. Date:
10/15/2006
Publisher:
Blackstone Publishing
Milton: Paradise Lost

Milton: Paradise Lost

by John Milton, Ralph Cosham
Current price is , Original price is $63.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Milton 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started this book allowing myself a week to read it and finished it in one day, I simply couldn't put it down. Granted it's a bit difficult to read, but it gets easier once you get into it. Quite possibly one of the best books I've ever read, having read a lot.
Trollogre More than 1 year ago
Elizabethan English, but that is a draw. Paradise Lost is worthy of a read and a re-read again and again. Can't be beat!
VaRuka More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I got it for my Major British Author's class but now I'm happy I got it in general. It is fascinating. The writing style is stimulating and makes you think, but thank god for the footnotes and my professor's guidance. It had made the book even more fascinating to me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Milton and Dante have formed many of our ideas about what Heaven and Hell are like. In Paradise Lost, Milton brings Adam and Eve to our front door, gives Satan a hero's welcome, and brings God's power into question. This may not appear so at first, but if looked at critically and analyzed, there are many hidden messages. The introduction in this work, by Leonard, discloses these hidden messages to you.
CrimsonQuill More than 1 year ago
Paradise Lost is of course one of the great classics and thus needs no further praise. This ebook is great for personal reading, but does not have the line numbers one will need for a class.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great novel to read about the creation and the fall of man through the intervention of free will and evil.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although the language may be daunting in the beginning, once you have gained a feel for the writing and its pace, the book proves to be wonderful in its imagery and its powerful inquisistion into what it means to be mortal. It delves into its implications and provides the insight to deal and transcend our quotidian trespasses in this base and mortal world.
markbstephenson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Read many years ago, but still amazes at every re-perusal. Shows that even for a person of Milton's erudition, devotion and great idealism Adam, Eve, and Satan are easier to portray than God. But his ardent and humble invocations of the divine Spirit did not , in my opinion, go completely unanswered!
atimco on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
John Milton's Paradise Lost is a monumental poem that crystallizes the basic Christian doctrines of Creation, Satan's rebellion, humanity's Fall, and the prophesied Savior who would redeem His people ¿ and does it all with a gripping story told in powerful language. Because of its immense scope and imagination, Paradise Lost has served for centuries as a jumping-off place for other writers working through these doctrines and ideas to create art in the Western context. It's a work I have been meaning to read for some time, and it did not disappoint.All I knew of Milton before coming to this poem was the oft-quoted "Better to reign in Hell, then serve in Heav'n," one of the most succinct descriptions of Satan that I've ever read. So on a purely stylistic level, Milton was very new to me. But as a Christian, I was very familiar with the poem's subject matter, and found it a rich experience to read. I think that my faith added an extra dimension to the poem; for me, the characters are fictionalized representations of real beings, the events described really did happen, and the ramifications affect me personally. Wow! I was again and again surprised by the utter believability with which Milton realizes his characters, working from the spare narrative laid out in Scripture. Paradise Lost is a Christian wandering through his vast doctrines, goggling at them, and turning his mind to make art of them. This "subcreation" is an act of worship. And the implications have been profound for Christian thinkers and writers ever since. C. S. Lewis was a big fan of the poem, and I could see many places where it influenced him, even in little things. For instance, there is a flattering councillor in Lewis' Prince Caspian named "Glozelle" ¿ and here "glozing" is a verb used in the poem for "flattering." Another character's name, Fledge, means "feathered," and this is perfect because the character is a winged horse. I love this stuff! The whole idea behind The Screwtape Letters and Our Father Below must have had its inspiration in the scenes of Satan and his followers taking counsel together how best to defeat God. And Milton's descriptions of Hell certainly turned Lewis' thoughts in the direction that led to The Great Divorce. I'm sure there are many more connections that escaped me on this my first read, but it was fun to find the ones I did. Paradise Lost is a classic in that it continues to spark controversy among academics to this day, with multiple interpretations hotly debated. Much has been made of William Blake's view, that Milton is "of the Devil's party without knowing it," that he unconsciously admires Satan and portrays him as a sympathetic character. I think this is a valid reading, as the story begins with Satan and spends a lot of time with him. He is evil and heartless and depraved, but there is something grand in his tragic defiance, something oddly powerful. I felt that pull, too.There is another school of thought that argues that Milton's seemingly heroic depiction of Satan is deliberate, as a mirror to the attraction Satan naturally has for sinful humans. This theory holds that when we are drawn to Milton's Satan, we are displaying our human tendency to be deceived. This is probably where I come down, because of my background. We filter everything through our presuppositions. Milton may very well have been an unconscious admirer of Satan's grand rebellion, but for me this confirms that part of us that always wants to rebel. Our art is not free of it ¿ and Satan would not be nearly so effective if he wasn't wily and beautiful (and not just to Adam and Eve). Naturally the notion that Satan is deceptively attractive to us because we are easily deceived isn't popular among non-Christians. I can understand why many readers embrace the idea that Satan is the real hero of the poem; there's evidence for it, definitely. But I see textual support for the other view as well, and where you f
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the classics, but this one was not for me! I expected a traditional story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago