The Mephisto Club (Rizzoli and Isles Series #6)

The Mephisto Club (Rizzoli and Isles Series #6)

by Tess Gerritsen

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mephisto Club (Rizzoli and Isles Series #6) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 352 reviews.
JessLucy More than 1 year ago
Check the locks on all the doors and windows! Another thrilling and terrifying novel by Tess Gerritsen! This was a highly engrossing book; interesting topic and characters. I've enjoyed all of Gerritsen's books; you can't go wrong with one of her novels! Gerritsen has a very clean, clear writing style and a vivid imagination. The author puts forth some very unusual and fascinating ideas; this book was very entertaining and I would definately recommend it. I've enjoyed all the books in the Jane Rizzoli/Maura Isles series as well as Gerritsen's non-series medical mysteries. You may also like: Patricia Cornwell, Philip Margolin, Robin Cook, Tami Hoag, Linda Howard, Lee Child and Lisa Gardner.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
It amazes me that Tess Gerritsen is able to write such awesome thrillers, time after time. And yet she does, proving that she is, quite simply, at the top of her game--and at the top of the psychological thriller/mystery genre!

Many others have outlined the plot of THE MEPHISTO CLUB, so let me just say a few things: this is a great storyline, original, and handled deftly. The action-adventure is non-stop throughout the book, and although you know, basically from the beginning of the story, who the bad guy is, it doesn't stop the book from being interesting and intriguing.

I loved that Father Brophy and Dr. Maura Isles finally "got together," but I need this relationship to go beyond THE THORN BIRDS!! There has got to be a resolution to this plot line, and soon!

My only complaint with the story is Jane Rizzoli, who I actually love. However, her hard-a**, morally superior attitude in this book ticked me off. I want to see the softer side of Jane, the nurturing mother side, the love of Gabriel's life side--as well as the the tough-as-nails, ball-buster homicide detective.

Believe me, though, THE MEPHISTO CLUB is another winner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very intriguing read! The story, the details & descriptions, the history- all of it is so great! I found myself gasping and saying, "Nooo!" at times and jaw dropped open other times! GREAT book! My favorite of this series so far!! Now, on to #7!
angeleyesAS More than 1 year ago
This is a another stunning, incredible psychological thriller to enjoy! Tough-as-nails, homicide detective, Jane Rizzoli, begins investigation after the gruesome scene where strewn body parts were gathered. The lab discovers a hand that was not apart of the other body parts so therefore, there is another victim somewhere and thus begins another non-put-downable story to get caught up in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the mythology and dark themes in this one!! Did not see the twist coming AT ALL!! Also liked getting more personal with Jane and Maura's lives....GREAT book!!! I will be so sad when I finish this series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the TV program so thought I'd try the books. I'm hooked. I'm already on book #7. Great read if you're a mystery fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this book as it was fast moving and I had to limit my time reading or I would never had put it down. Of course nothing would have gotten ready for Thanksgiving nor Christmas.Recommend this book!! 222Abey
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I ever read by Tess G. & I have been buying her books ever since. The Mephisto Club was very well written, I felt that I knew each of the characters in the book, there was plenty of suspense to keep me reading and making it hard to put down. She has become one of my favorite writers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A MUST read...I just love Tess!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very fast-paced thriller!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I needed a book to read and the cover caught my eye. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! This is my first book by Tess Gerritsen but it will definitely not be my last. I liked how she moved between the different characters and also provided different view points. I have recommended this book to several of my friends!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Incredibly well written, engaging and packed with just the right amount of adventure. Likable characters with plenty of opportunity to allow them to grow. Seat-of-your-pants thrills throughout!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow
cedargrove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Then her gaze halted, riveted on something she had almost missed among all the splatters. Something that made the hairs on the back of her neck suddenly stand up. On the wall, drawn in blood, were three upside-down crossesThus begins the investigation that threads it's way through the book as the primary plot. This wasn't quite the book I expected it to be, none the less and given that I read it in four days, it was somewhat compelling. I wouldn't say it's the best written of books, nor is it not, in places, predictable, but it's entertaining, and weaves enough different threads together to keep you second guessing yourself. Who are the members of the mysterious Mephisto club and what is so sinster about them? Who is it that is committing the murders, and how does he, or she, find her way our of a locked room with locked windows without leaving evidence?The down side that could have been a major failing is the difficulty, at times, to connect with, or care about the main character. She has flaws, don't they all, but hers seem... sometimes offputting. If you can see past that, or maybe just, as we did, accept that she's got her heart in the right place, but isn't quite all she's cracked up to be, you can follow the unfolding story in spite of this.A nice light bit of fluff among the 'crime writing' genre - if you like your fluff bloodied, and with occult overtones.
Carl_Alves on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This novel succeeded in many areas, not the least of which was maintaining a high level of tension and suspense through the entire novel. The villain in this novel, Dominick was well developed, something I rarely see in fiction novels these days. My favorite aspect of the book is how the author skillfully teetered on whether or not there was a supernatural element to this novel. By the end of the book, I still couldn't say one way or the other. I also liked how the author weaved in backstory throughout the novel. It was very cleverly done. The ending did not disappoint as well.Carl Alves - author of Two For Eternity
CloggieDownunder on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Mephisto Club is the 6th of Tess Gerritsen¿s Rizzoli/Isles series. On Christmas Eve, Rizzoli and Isles are called to a horrific murder scene where the female victim has been decapitated and dismembered. During the autopsy, however, they realise there must be more than one victim as the left hand does not match the arm. And a call has been made from the victim¿s phone to Dr Joyce O¿Donnell, the neuropsychiatrist who has made a career of defending serial killers. Before they can discover to whom the hand belongs, one of their own, a female police detective, is murdered in the backyard of a house where Joyce O¿Donnell is dining. Symbols and words at both crime scenes, made with an unusual ochre clay, point to a Satanic element; or do they? When events in Isles¿ personal life coincide with the same symbols on her own front door, the action really starts to heat up. And Rizzoli has problems of her own with the way her parents are behaving. Gerritsen gives us two back stories which will have the reader convinced they know who the culprit is, although everyone but Rizzoli starts to wonder if their perp is, in fact, human. Gerristen touches on celibacy in the Church, secret societies, Satanic possession, mid-life crisis, and whether evil can have a physical form. Once again, Rizzoli provides some humour; the story is full of suspense and has plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader engrossed. Another Gerritsen winner.
KKG on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Da Vinci code wannabe. Very silly book. Not sure why I even finished. Hated the characters. The plot was silly.
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
By far my favorite Gerritsen. It seems that several are interested in the Book of Enoch. I am not sure who started this trend, but this is a very good installment.
EnriqueFreeque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pleasant surprise. Patricia Cornwell, darn her, continues her spiral into mediocrity & self-plagiarism with the recent release of her latest, The Front, on the disappointing heels of her last four or five Scarpettas going back to the turn of the century, so I desperately needed another CSI crime thriller option, another writer/former doctor/medical examiner/coroner/detective type to infuse some freshness & excitement into the genre since I needed a break from the tedium of reading Gravity's Rainbow start to almost finish, and wouldn't'cha know it, Tess Gerritsen, bless her heart, was there to see me through.The Mephisto Club, sixth in the Jane Rizzoli detective series (though my virgin Rizzoli read) incorporates several favorite interests of mine: mysterious, though not-at-all-like-Da-Vinci-Code, secret societies, apocryphal literature (i.e., The Book of Enoch & The Book of Jubilees), symbiology and, dare I admit it (please don't strike me down dead Lord, please!) demon, uh, demonology. Now, I'm no aspiring warlock or wiccan, and The Mephisto Club would probably bore a fun loving Aleister Crowley type occultist (might as well try interesting a Navy Seal in an exciting game of Battleship), but for a Luciferish lightweight like me possessing merely an unhealthy interest in stories satanic, The Mephisto Club, with its ritualistic skin carvings & dismemberments, demon & Devil hunting, priestly affairs, & crowded cobblestone chases through the dark & dank back alleys of Rome, beautifully fits the fun, page-turning, Beelzebub bill.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ritualistic killings and satanic messages lead Rizzoli and Isles down a twisted path as they search for the killer. Things hit too close to home when Dr. Isles wakes up to find a satanic message on her door. Lots of twists and turns take us deeper into this eerie plot with supernatural undertones. I always enjoy books in this series but this is probably my least favourite to date. There was a supernatural element dealing with the true nature of evil, which was left hanging and it just felt out of place in this series. I found the topic more than interesting but Gerritsen would have been better to have written a standalone with this demon-hunter plot rather than subjecting it to Rizzoli.
mtnbiker1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I had read by Tess Gerritsen, and I really enjoyed it. The story moved along at a nice pace. The plot was convoluted enough to keep you guessing.
ctfrench on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Boston Medical Examiner Maura Isles is called to a gruesome scene early on Christmas morning, where a young woman has been brutally killed and dismembered, with satanic symbols all around her body and the Latin word "Peccavi" (I have sinned) scrawled backwards across her bedroom wall. Detective Jane Rizzoli, back on the job after maternity leave, suspects a serial killer is on the loose when Maura's nemesis, psychiatrist Joyce O'Donnell, is murdered in the same manner. Dr. O'Donnell was part of a group of scholars from around the world calling themselves the Mephisto Club that track demons. When members of this group are murdered and Maura's life is threatened, the action moves to Europe in search of a young woman whom the Mephisto Club is certain will draw the demon to them. This captivating thriller touches on a fascinating subject: demonology, its origins and presence in the world today. Gerritsen's outstanding characterization is once more on display along with a thrilling, fast-paced plot. Jane Rizzoli remains a strong character, a jaded woman whose marriage and baby have become a calming force. Maura is a lonely woman intrigued by a priest, and this relationship is a painful one for Maura as well as the reader, who longs for Maura's happiness. Gerritsen offers a galvanizing look at Rizzoli's parents, the two people who shaped her, which helps the reader understand her cynicism and insecurities. An electrifying read.
oxlena on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good read, not something I'd usually seek out, but it was lent to me by a friend. 2.5 out of 5 typical crazy people that could probably benefit from some Paxil and a great deal of Jack Daniel's.
bashert on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
excellent plot & writing with good character development