Making a Play (Field Party Series #5)

Making a Play (Field Party Series #5)

by Abbi Glines

Hardcover

$16.12 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.12, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Making a Play 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
The story was too rushed and unbelieveable. Also the end completely ruined it for me. **slight possible spoiler like statement**There was no need for her to change herself like she did, I found it insulting.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Abbi, you're my favorite. Always have been, but what is going on with you lately! The ending... Really?
Anonymous 5 days ago
Wanted more! Enjoyed the series
Anonymous 25 days ago
I absolutely love the field party series, in fact I read all 5 books in 4 days. Making a Play is hands down my second favorite book (West and Maggie hold a special place in my heart) and I adore the dynamic that Ryker and Aurora have. Abbi Glines is such a talented writer that keeps you on the edge of your seat till the very end. I can't wait to pick up my next book by her, and I hope there are more field party books to come.
2kasmom 27 days ago
This book is #5, in The Field Party series. This book can be read as a standalone novel. To avoid spoilers, and have a better understanding of the series, I recommend reading this series in order. Ryker can have any woman he wants. He knows it, they know it. With the new school year brings Aurora, a teammates sister. He is drawn to her and they connect quickly. Aurora is deaf. This is her first chance to go to a "regular" school. She wants to be part of the normal her football hero twin gets to have. Only her brother is overprotective and her father is overcontrolling. Surprises are in store for many of the characters in this story, I love that we revisit our favorites, This series is fast becoming a favorite of mine! Looks become the new banter in this installment, and the sexy is so amazingly hot! The main characters do not know what hit them as they try to navigate high school and first love.
2kasmom 27 days ago
This book is #5, in The Field Party series. This book can be read as a standalone novel. To avoid spoilers, and have a better understanding of the series, I recommend reading this series in order. Ryker can have any woman he wants. He knows it, they know it. With the new school year brings Aurora, a teammates sister. He is drawn to her and they connect quickly. Aurora is deaf. This is her first chance to go to a "regular" school. She wants to be part of the normal her football hero twin gets to have. Only her brother is overprotective and her father is overcontrolling. Surprises are in store for many of the characters in this story, I love that we revisit our favorites, This series is fast becoming a favorite of mine! Looks become the new banter in this installment, and the sexy is so amazingly hot! The main characters do not know what hit them as they try to navigate high school and first love.
Anonymous 28 days ago
The+storyline+felt+rushed+and+the+ending+was+abrupt.++Basically+all+happens+in+one+week+then+fast+forward+one+month+for+the+epilogue%3F++Not+my+favorite+of+the+series+by+far.
Jackiebkworm 4 months ago
I really liked Ryker’s character and how he changes and grows. He sees the person he use to be and doesn’t like it once he meets Aurora, Hunter’s twin sister. Aurora is different from any other girl he’s met, she’s deaf. But she’s strong and doesn’t back down. She stands up for what she wants. I really liked her. She became more confident once she met Ryker. But once she’s faced with losing something she grows stronger and knows she can do anything if she can survive that. Aurora is innocent but she’s willing to fight for what she wants and will figure a way to do so. I couldn’t believe Aurora’s father, how he’s so controlling and he’s a racist who doesn’t see past a persons skin color. I wish there had been more at the end and it hadn’t been wrapped up so quickly. I highly recommend this book.
RLyn 5 months ago
Making a Play is the 5th book in Abbi Glines' Field Party Series and follows, Ryker, the very popular football star whose reputation as a player and a jerk and Aurora, Hunter's twin sister that many didn't know existed until she moved to Lawton to live with Hunter and their father. Like the first four books in this series, I absolutely loved this one. Each of the books in the Field Party series address extremely serious topics, such as death, illnesses, cheating, sexual assault, teen pregnancy, drugs, etc., that are hard to talk about but affect everyone in some way. Making a Play was no different. This book was special because it brought us Aurora who was such an amazing heroin whose life had always been filled with challenges. Unlike her twin, Hunter, who was popular and healthy, Aurora was deaf. Being the new student in Lawton, a school that didn't have the services to really assist Aurora, she found herself having to adjust to new things and even new forms of communicating. Ryker and Aurora were immediately drawn to one another, but of course theirs was a relationship that a lot of people frowned upon, especially Aurora and Hunter's father, who was a racist and did not support an interracial relationship. I really liked Ryker in this book. We saw such a different side of him. Making a Play touched on the fact that we live in a society in which people who look different, or people who are different, are treated unjustly and. unfairly. Instead of embracing everyone and their different abilities or their different physical appearances, some people become some closed minded that they will use their power of authority to try and control certain things, such as Aurora's dad sending her away because he disapproved of her relationship with Ryker, because of the color of his skin. Both Ryker and Aurora faced a lot of adversity and obstacles, but regardless of those challenges these two found a way to communicate, be with each other and love each other. I say it again, the Field Party Series is filled with extremely relatable characters facing real issues and finding a way to work through those issues finding their own voice. Abbi is just amazing at creating characters that impact you in one way or another; in creating characters who face issues that affect our society today.
Anonymous 5 months ago
This book had an amazing concept, but I feel like so much more could have been done with the storyline. I feel like the ending was butchered and rushed for everything that led up to it.
Kayla Davis 5 months ago
"She reminded me of an angel . . . and I was closer to the devil. I could be her biggest mistake." Making a Play had a beautiful cover, and even more beautiful story inside. I loved every last minute of this book! Once I started reading it I just could not stop. I swear The Field Party series only gets better and better with each installment. Making A Play was the perfect combination of determination, Football, and high school romance. I love how Abbi Glines doesn't back down from difficult subject matter. She embraces it head on, while handling it artfully. This book owned a piece of my heart with its scenes and mentions of North Carolina. It's always nice to see your home state used in the books you read. Ryker and Aurora are definitely one of my new favorite Abbi characters. These two could not have been more adorable together. They had me swooning so many times. While hitting me right in the feels. I love this book keeps you connected to its characters secondary and main. I loved getting to catch up with past field party characters. I cant wair too see whose atiry is next. Although I really hope it's Hunters story well be getting next! *wink wink* "She tasted like honey and smelled like coconut. I couldn’t get enough of it. No one should taste and smell this good. It was unfair." Aurora is one of those heroines you just immediately love. I could easily see myself being her friend in real life. She was a perfect mix of sweet, timid, and sassy! She knew what she wanted and would not settle for less. She was head strong and determined. I loved her unwillingness to back down for things that mattered. I admired her character on so many levels!! She truly is one of the strongest heroines I have read. "I loved the color of his skin. It reminded me of a warm, deep, ebony. It was beautiful." Ryker Lee is the perfect book boyfriend, and MINE! Seriously, I call dibs! He was nothing like I expected his character to be. He truly has come a long way from the boy we first met. Who knew the playboy was such a hopeless romantic at heart. He was like this big teddy bear you wanted to snuggle up to! Ryker had me swooning so many times throughout this book. He was charming, sweet and the perfect gentlemen. “Find you a man who will build you a porch bigger than you need and smile while he’s doing it. That’s the keeper.” *5 STARS* Well earned for this love at first sight, sports romance. If you have not started the Field Party books you are truly missing out. Because I can NOT recommend reading this book enough. It's going straight into my best reads of 2019!
luv4booksreviews 5 months ago
Abbi Glines makes me want to go back to high school and do it all over again. That's saying a lot, because I absolutely hated high school. These boys are so swoon worthy! Why were none of them in my high school?! Aurora and Ryker have a love story filled with almost equal parts drama and happiness. As happy as they make each other you'd think people would be happy for them. However there sure are a lot of people trying to stand in their way of that newfound happiness. I just kept thinking why can't people just let them be?! Aurora has a horribly controlling father, but she has a backbone! She stands up for herself and is one strong girl. I couldn't help but feel proud of her for not wanting to go along with her father's backwards ways. Ryker keeps trying to prove himself, trying to change her Dad's mind. Only time will tell if they can survive the drama and be happy together. I was enjoying their love story so much. Enjoying how they were becoming better people for each other. Then Abbi sent my heart into a nosedive in the last half hour of the book. I'm pretty sure I didn't take a breath for that entire time!!! This is why I love Abbi's book, just when I think I know where the story is going she throws me for a loop. This book was a perfect addition to the series. I only wish they came out faster because I want the next one right now.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Abbi Glines you have touched my heart with this book. Thank you for giving me a place to go. Your books always have been my go to. this one will be a go to, to reread! It touches something that we pretend that doesn't happen anymore but it does and it shouldn't ! Thanks for sharing your stories with the world
Anonymous 6 months ago
What an amazing book! Of course I don’t think there is a book that Abbi has written that isn’t. This is the fifth book in the series. This one is about Ryker and Aurora. Ryker being a player, not only on the football field but with girls, never thought that one look could change him. A green eyed beauty that made him not want to be the person he is, but someone so much better. Realizing how much of a jerk he really was was an eye opener. Aurora is new to Lawton. She is the twin sister of the Star QB, Hunter. But she is unique. She is deaf. And we see’s Ryker her world changed so much. He gave her the confidence to be herself and never once made her feel different due to her not being able to hear. Things that she didn’t do around other people, she felt comfortable enough doing with Ryker; such as , speaking out loud. The chemistry between them was instant. How eat each of them made the other such a better person. Aurora was warned about his past, but she didn’t care. This made Ryker do everything he could to not make any mistakes when it came to her. He even started to learn to sign. However, this was not the only hurdle they faced. Aurora couldn’t believe her father was against her dating a black boy. He was so against this, he sent her away. Ryker was a mess and Aurora was heart broken. But these two did find there way back to each other and her dad seemed to see what an amazing boy Ryker is and calmed down. This is another must read by Abbi. I loved it!!!