Mable Riley: A Reliable Record of Humdrum, Peril, and Romance

Mable Riley: A Reliable Record of Humdrum, Peril, and Romance

by Marthe Jocelyn

Paperback

$0.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mable Riley: A Reliable Record of Humdrum, Peril, and Romance 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When her sister Viola takes a position as a school teacher in a distant Ontario County, thirteen-year-old Mabel Riley goes along to help with the younger students. Living with the Goodhand family, and feeling somewhat estranged from her suddenly adult-acting sister, Mabel dreams of growing up to be a writer and traveling the world. She's fascinated by the scandalous, possibly widowed Mrs. Rattle, who wears bloomers, rides a bicycle, and has "indecent" opinions. Set in a time when the woman's rights movement was just getting underway, telephones were regarded with suspicion, marriage ended a woman's career, and divorce was a shame and a scandal, Mabel has a difficult time with her desire to be something more than a wife and a mother. Mabel is an entertaining character, and the Canadian setting makes a refreshing change.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thnx! I am in a tough spot. He is the only guy who has ever looked at me the way he does. And he is my best friend! Its gonna be a long hard year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this girl and my friend told her that i like her but she was dating someone at the time and hasnt said anything since but they broke up a day after my friend told her she still hasnt said anything or talked to me we were really good friends but now she kind of walks past me like im nothing and also shes kind of like a girl version of a player she gets guys then dumps them but shes also really nice so i dont know if i should ask her out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The thing is, him and l are besties. I have said hi, and l am just not sure if l want to ask him out as this may ruin our... friendsjip.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good Luck!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved how detailed Jocelyn wrote the 'diary.' The first few pages were not so good but then I found myself attached to it . I could not put it down !!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great coming of age story that happens during the begininnig of the women's movement during the early 1900's in Canada. Mable learns many things during this year of her life. Most importantly, she learns to think and act for herself. Very impressive book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wished I had Mable for a daughter. Her integrity would make any woman or mother proud.This historical fiction book, written in a diary format, is charming, funny and a wonderful realistic account of a young girl who is coming of age, understanding the difficulties during the sufferget period, and how she processes it for herself.