Love in the Afternoon (Hathaways Series #5)

Love in the Afternoon (Hathaways Series #5)

by Lisa Kleypas

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Love in the Afternoon 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 497 reviews.
everydayastory More than 1 year ago
Lisa Kleypas is a fantastic romance writer. I read the Hathaways series and absolutely LOVED it. Now Ms. Kleypas is one of my all-time favorite romance writers. I have been waiting for this book for months, and I don't think she could have done a better job with the conclusion of the Hathaways novels. Even though I'm sad to see the family's story end, Beatrix and Christopher capture your heart from the first letter Beatrix writes and onward through the whole novel. Beatrix is conflicted, and Christopher is frustrated. -hopeless romantic sigh- The confusion that ensues is fantastic and I'm sure you'll enjoy it as much as I did. Do yourself as a favor, whether you are a seasoned romance reader who has been with the Hathaways from the start or this is the first romance novel you have ever looked at. Read. This. Book.
Romance_rookie More than 1 year ago
Love in the Afternoon is the fifth and final book in Lisa Kleypas's Hathaway series. Beatrix, the youngest Hathaway sibling, finally gets her story. It all began innocently enough when Beatrix's friend Prudence reads her a letter from Captain Christopher Phelan. Beatrix never could resist a wounded soul and insists on writing Christopher after Pru callously disregards his letter. Over the course of the next few months Bea becomes Christopher's shining light amid the dark war. After the war ends he plans to come home and clam Pru as his own. Only he doesn't realize it's not Prudence he's in love with, it's Beatrix. Love in the Afternoon while not my favorite in the Hathaway series is still a pleasant read. Beatrix who has always marched to the beat of her own drum prefers the company of animals to that of most people. She is known for her ability to tame almost any wild creature, which is exactly what she does with Christopher once he leaves the war and has to integrate back into society. His gruff and rude behavior is no match for Beatrix's stubborn patience. For some reason I am having a difficult time pin pointing why exactly I didn't like Love in the Afternoon as much as I did the other books in this series. It could be little things, like the fact that Bea and Christopher are apart in the beginning of the book. They exchange a series of letters which establishes their relationship. Then I think that coupled with the fact that it takes Christopher a while to realize that it was Beatrix who wrote the letters and not Pru. Pru is a selfish twit of a girl and Beatrix is obviously a much, much better person and the fact Christopher doesn't see it right away is a big mark against him. Overall it is a cute story. I mean it's Lisa Kleypas. It's still an enjoyable read, just not my favorite.
Nigh10gale More than 1 year ago
As a reader who has become hooked on the Hathaway family, this was one of my favorites and it definitely improved upon where "Married by Morning" left off. Bea is a delightful heroine who always stays true to herself and Christopher is a touching hero; together they melt your heart. Hoping for one last Hathaway novel to sum it all up! Kleypas is one of the very best romance novel writers out there today!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first started reading this book I felt like i already knew the ending, there was nothing for me to figure out on my own and this disapointed me. But Oh how I was wrong. Kleypas has a unique way of throwing you into the story and making you feel like your one of the characters standing in the background watching the events unfold. Let me tell you, this a wonderful feature. It was also refreshing that the main characters in the novel, Beatrix and Captain Phealan weren't to perfect, they had their flaws just like normal people. Overall decent book if you are into this genre.
loyalfanCG More than 1 year ago
Being a fan of Lisa Kleypas for many years and having many of her books on my "keeper shelves" I must confess I was blown away by this story. I read this when it was first available and have read it many times since and cannot say enough good things about it. The Hathaways were an endearing family and I loved everyone of them, but this one touched my heart. How anyone can scoff at romance writing or writers is beyond me. This tale was moving, sensual and heartwarming as well as funny. I loved this story. It surpassed my expectations.
pinktini More than 1 year ago
This last installment has to be my favorite of the series. There was humor, lots of funny lines from a wide facet of characters. There was angst, Beatrix and her pain over falling in love with someone who thought she was someone else. And of course, the romance, and that goes without explaining. A good factor into why I liked this book so much more over the others, is that I loved the characterization of both Beatrix and Christopher so very much. Christopher was very much a "Mr. Darcy" pre-war, but with a playboy-esque reputation. He comes back a broken man after war. He makes it back home with shred of sanity that Beatrix had helped preserve through her letters. Beatrix is a much more "modern" woman compared to most of the females in the series, wearing men's clothing at times (for convenience during chores). At one point in the novel, Beatrix makes a comment about her inability to "swoon" on command, like many of the London women. I loved this aspect of her character. It's nice change of pace from the "blushing virgin" scenarios. **minor spoilers** There wasn't a moment in the books I didn't like. The beginning was perfect where you get to read the letters Chris and Bea write each other. You can feel the love through their words and its heartbreaking that Chris is picturing someone else during all this. When he comes back, it leads to unresolved sexual tension between the two. The story starts picking up pace when Chris becomes suspicious of the real author of the letters. And even when they do finally get together, the story is only just begun. Because Chris and Bea now have to survive Chris' demons as they try to be together. There's a theme from Pride and Prejudice in their story, but refreshingly different as the characters all have a very vivid personalities and individuality. I thoroughly enjoyed Beatrix's story and was glad to see our favorite sisters and their boys guest star.
BLUEEYEBE More than 1 year ago
This is a priceless, tender love story full of love, patience and humor. This is the perfect conclusion to the Hathaway series. Was not disappointed! Others I recommend are A SLOW BURN, THIN PLACES, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, I CAN SEE YOU, CRACKED HEARTS and I WILL WAIT FOR YOU
bee73086 More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book all the characters are so well written and the story is orignal not the same romantic plot that's written so often. I found the hero to be excellent, I must say I can understand why she fell in love with him. I also liked the dog.
avernon1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A man off to war. A woman left behind....waiting, hoping, praying. A letter sent and one received. Words on a page....a lifeline for both. Words on a page....windows to their souls."Dear Pru,We're settling in for a long siege. It's uncertain as to when I'll have the chance to write again. This is not my last letter, only the last for a while. Do not doubt that I am coming back to you someday. Until I can hold you in my arms, these worn and ramshackle words are the only way to reach you. What a poor translation of love they are. Words could never do justice to you, or capture what you mean to me. Still...I love you. I swear by the starlight....I will not leave this earth until you hear those words from me."These are the words sent by Captain Christopher Phelan to Prudence Mercer, the woman he thinks he has fallen in love with. Yet little does he know that Prudence is not the one writing to him. The true author of these letters is Pru's eccentric friend, Beatrix Hathaway. Beatrix did not intend to send letters filled with such tender sentiments. But on their way to Christopher, her "words turned into heartbeats on the page". What will happen when Christopher returns, looking to find Pru and express his undying love for her? What would happen when he found out about Beatrix's unforgivable deception? Christopher could never be hers, even if he declared his love for her on paper....those were just words, weren't they?This was a truly romantic read, especially the letter correspondences. Words are the most romantic form of seduction any man can use, and Beatrix becomes truly seduced. She is the youngest and most quirky, non-conforming, and lovable member of the Hathaway sisters. Being such a huge animal lover, she often appeared peculiar, wanting the company of animals more than people. Yet in this book, the author has managed to show her true spirit, her love of life and her ability to accept others for who they are. Beatrix doesn't try to change Christopher, even if the horrors of war have changed him forever...even if he suffers from post traumatic stress disorder...even if he is driven by guilt. She understands him, accepts him and loves him. This, Lisa Kleypas' last in the Hathaways series, is a tale with a more serious undertone, but one that will still make you smile, cry and sigh with contentment. This book is a wonderful end to a wonderfully unique series that touched my heart.
KrisinKW on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oh no! No more Hathaways!
onyx95 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 5 ..... The way this one started with the correspondence was interesting. It was a difficult was to get to know the characters (especially under the false pretense), but in the course of the letters, the true nature of each character showed through with vivid colors. While Beatrix has always seemed so young (she is the youngest of the Hathaways), she finally grew up in this one. So nice to see. While there were a few moments seeing other members of the family, I wish for the final installment of this series that there had been more. So sad to see the Hathaways over and can only hope that I will enjoy some of Lisa Kleypas others series.
booksNyarn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Beatrix Hathaway was more interested in animals and the outdoors than people and their mysterious ways. When she begins to write Captain Christopher Phelan, pretending to be his not-quite-betrothed, she finds herself drawn to a man who may not return the same as he left. Christopher does return, determined to have the woman he loves, only to find deception and darkness. As the two struggle to overcome their false start, they find that love will always light the darkest corners and shine true.I have read all of the Hathaway books and was excited to know that Beatrix's story would come. She stayed true to herself even when faced with the knowledge it would probably cost her the one man she loved, and Christopher, even as the ever-popular "body-sound but soul-wounded in the war" male that is prevalent in romances, grew on me. Kleypas' quick-witted way of writing the Hathaway family continued through this volume, providing a tidy but fulfilling ending to the series.
aromagik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic book by Lisa Kleypas, with likeable and intelligent characters. A satisfying end to the Hathaways series. Looks like the epilogue is setting up for another historical that will go on my 'must buy' list.
mschweer432 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Is it just me, or are the Hathaway sisters and easy lot?? Just joking! This was another winner by Lisa Kleypas. It was the last in the Hathaway series. I am sorry to say it was my least favorite of the series. Not that I didn't like it, it was just my least favorite. I liked how the "suspense" in this book was containted within the main character, Christopher. The first part of the book focused on the letters between Beatrix and Christopher while Christopher was at war. I enjoyed this section. The middle dragged a bit to me. The book description described Beatrix's friend Prudence as a friend, but even from the beginning I felt like that was a gross exaggeration. She was terrible! I did however feel like there was a real connection between Beatrix and Christopher. I really enjoyed this book and I felt like it was a nice end to the series.
froggykm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have not read any of the other books in the series but I did not have a hard time following this one. It was a fun read, Beatrix was a fun, quirky heroine you could not help but like. She has an affinity to animals and has turned her family's house into a menagerie of orphaned animals. Her two favorites being a three legged cat named Lucky and a hedgehog named Marcela. When Christopher went away to war he was a snotty, self-centered rogue but as he had to fight for his life and for the life of the men under him he changed. He told beautiful Penelope that he would write her but when she got his first letter she was turned off by how unromantic he was. Her friend Beatrix was intrigued by his adventures and struggles so she agreed to answer the letter for Penelope. Little did she know how close those letters were going to make her with Christopher. Now he is coming home and will he want the package he was dreaming of or the brains. I love stories with this Cyrano de Bergerac story line. I had a hard time putting this book down, I wanted to see them finally deal with all their issues and get together. Great read, will have to look for the others in the series, some of the other couples made me curious to read their stories.
cuffindell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lisa Kleypas ends her wonderful Hathaway series with this charming, passionate tale of unlikely love between free-spirited Beatrix Hathaway and world-weary soldier Captain Christopher Phelan.
lina_em on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"On their way to you, my words turned into heartbeats on the page." omg...the letters were probably the best part about this book. so poignant. i fell in love between the lines of the letters.
Cyberlibrariannyc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just finished this yesterday and it's possibly my favorite of the Hathaway books. I loved the main characters and understood how they were attracted to each other. It's simply a lovely read.
Jenson_AKA_DL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Beatrix, being the last of the Hathaway siblings to find their man, turned out to be a much more interesting character than I originally expected. She had always been presented as quite childlike so I wasn't sure how believable a sudden ascent into maturity would go over. However, the author did an admirable job in keeping true to the character we were originally introduced to while adding believable dimensions to her personality that made her a fantastic match for the jaded and emotionally damaged Christopher Phelan.I also enjoyed Christopher's character and I thought that how he dealt with the repercussions of service and resulting PTSD rang true. Coming home is most often not an easy thing for people irrevocably changed by the evils of war. The relationship between Beatrix and Christopher was sweet and not overly fraught with misunderstanding. It was more of two people discovering each other and working together to overcome a huge hurtle in Christopher's psychological makeup. I really enjoyed this end of the series and look forward to seeing if Kleypas chooses to do more with other characters introduced via the Wallflower or Hathaway stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite family's¿!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I so loved this story! So romantic! I read this in a day, because, I couldn't put it down and didn't want it to end. Very engaging story right from the prologue and brillant chemistry between the main characters. I highly recommend this book! S.A.K.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love Lisa Kleypas's books and this one is my absolute favorite. Read it -- you will not be disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly captures the emotions and heartbreak of veterans of war everywhere and over all time. I could have provided the characters for this book from my own friends and family. Very well done. LORRAINE