Love Does for Kids

Love Does for Kids

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Love Does for Kids 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From my 8-year-old: "I think that it has some really funny parts but is also very serious at the same time. It really has made an impact on my life. It has just helped me be more confident in myself. It's really helped me find more ways to love others and to show people God's kingdom and Jesus. The chapters were perfect for me {he's talking about chapter length.} The illustrations are very beautiful and colorful, they are just right. I think that children ages 4 and up would really like this book. It's soothing, but at the same time, it's also very funny. " As a Mama and a big Bob Goff fan, I loved this book. We have been reading a chapter after breakfast and another after dinner. My son has gone back after almost every meal and re-read everything we've already done. I have never seen him love a book this much and he's a total bookworm. He can't wait to read more and talks about the book all day long. I love that it's a book for kids written from a strong male role model- not many of those exist. I think this would be a beloved stocking stuffer for Christmas this year and a book I would love to see in the hands of every child. By far the best kids book I've seen in a very long time and my favorite Christian children's book. We were grateful to receive an Advanced Reader Copy of this book to share our honest opinion with you.
ReynaOrozco 17 hours ago
I´m grateful about books that my girl takes and finishes in hours, that means she really enjoyed and she couldn´t put that down. The author made her laugh a lot, she felt related to many histories. She said the author is so cool and she would love to meet him, and his daughter. She is also planning to have some plans their family had (no manners night, made her laugh a lot! and she wants that as well... amhhh not so grateful about that one haha, the other favorite was star night). The way they write is whimsical and enjoyable, what a dream come true to write a book with your own daughter (sight). My girl is 8 and she says she wants to keep the book for her own children (how sweet is that?). I´m happy she had a great time reading it!
Anonymous 1 days ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book geared toward little ones. I read Love Does earlier so I was familiar with a lot of the stories. This is a great book to share with kids about how to love your neighbor, those near and far. The authors share both practical ideas as well as things that they have actually done to show love to people all over the world. I can't wait to share this with my two children.
JViola79 More than 1 year ago
Having read Love Does and Everybody Always by Bob Goff, I was delighted to see he and his daughter had written Love Does For Kids. Bob Goff is a storyteller and kids will certainly enjoy the stories he tells in this book. He has taken stories told in his previous books and now told them for children ages approximately 6-12 years old. They are stories which will draw them in and help them to realize faith is simply lived out in our everyday world, wherever life may find us. Each story points to a spiritual lesson to help children grow in love towards God, and people. Love Does for kids will encourage children to be other-minded, kind, and thoughtful to those around them. The book is beautifully illustrated, the pictures are colorful and engaging, as they whimsically tell a story on their own. It will make a wonderful gift for any child. This is a book children will be able to read on their own, but would be a wonderful book to be read together as a family. This book delivers the precious reminder – God gave each of us unique talents and abilities of our own and we all can make a difference in our world. *Harper Collins Christian Publishing provided a copy of this book. All opinions are honest and my own.
JennGrand More than 1 year ago
I was so excited when I saw this book had been written! I absolutely loved Bob Goff's first book, Love Does, and have been wanting to read his follow up, Everybody, Always. But the fact that he revamped his original book to target children? Love love love!! If you read Bob's original book, this one will warm your heart just as much. With whimsical illustrations and the same heart behind his words, Love Does for kids will be a staple in every home for years to come. 
Reancont More than 1 year ago
Beautiful children's book to learn to become worthy people First of all I want to mention that I do not have religion, however I am a believer and my position is respectful and open to various religious beliefs. The narrative of this book is warm, friendly, with the natural simplicity that holds the truth. The authors propose a look towards a Jesus of Nazareth who has the heart of a child. I believe that the content has a great ethical value for children, who naturally imitate models to follow as a fundamental part of their development, therefore this book offers a model full of moral principles that underpin a solid fundation of quality of life. A concept proposed by the authors and I agree, is that Jesus taught "a whole new way of thinking, a way that seemed backward and upside down". As a facilitator, educator and therapist, as in my personal journey, it has been very illuminating to recognize a superior Intelligence to which I can surrender, trust and let myself go; in the opposite direction to the common inertia of putting more control over our lives, but with the cost of being frightened, enslaved and limited by our Identity. Through common situations the authors invite us to see things upside down, for example, "I am no less valuable if I make mistakes", where no one is discriminated against and all are included in divine Love, ... this vision can support children to be inclusive and realize in "learning to become better people because of their behavior". Even the smallest acts of kindness are opportunities to express the loving being that children are, and find meaning in how Jesus demonstrated taking-caring for people and animals. The authors through common situations and biblical passages draw beautiful imagery to create precious emotions, for example of the way God loves us, as a concrete character and present in their daily life, for example like "a proud dad who is constantly calling the angels over to see pictures of his loved kids from his wallet "," He's been showing pictures of you around so much that I bet the corners of some of the photos are a little bent and worn ".
LGandhi More than 1 year ago
I cannot say enough great things about this book. If you have a child, get this book and read it together. I fell in love with Bob Goff's book Love Does. I was over the moon excited when I saw him and his daughter wrote a version for kids and was so honored to be selected to read and review it. The language is written to where my six year old had no problems understanding. And it was simply amazing to watch how he connected with the stories, asked relevant questions and watched his heart grow stronger for God through this book. That alone sold me, but there is so much more to brag on with this book. The stories are a beautiful integration of life experiences with how to love God, love others and explain God's love and grace. As an adult I was encouraged reading this book. "Not only does God love you but He really likes you." Such a positive message we all need to be reminded of, regardless of our age. And the anecdotes in each story - they are written in a manner that a kid can relate to (even us big kids) while always pointing us towards God. And as if that's not enough, the illustrations are out of this world great and engaging. This book is the total package whether you read it as a family, your child on their own, you as an adult or even use it in your child's Sunday School class. I can promise you this book will be gifted to many nieces and nephews (and several adults...) for Christmas. I cannot recommend this book enough. Buy it, read it, check it out, and let us all learn to love so beautifully as Christ loves us. My thanks to Bob Goff, Lindsey Goff Viducich, Thomas Nelson Children's Publishing and Netgalley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. It truly was an honor.
SummerMondays More than 1 year ago
This book has stories that deal with real things kids have happen in their lives. Bob Goff uses his familiar voice to tell stories with biblical ideals woven in, but never sounds preachy. The stories are told in a way that makes you feel like you are hearing from a friend and provide hope. God loves all of us, and I think you will love this book! These stories would be great to share in a children’s message at church or in Sunday School classes. I would also encourage adults to partake in these stories because it will remind you of things you have felt and the reminder that God loves us is something none of us are too old for!
Nanna51 More than 1 year ago
This is an absolutely amazing book of vignettes for kids that teaches them how to love Jesus and others, in an active way. Bob Goff is an author, a lawyer and a layman who carries the actions of Jesus to the world. He helps those who cannot help themselves and this book encourages children to do the same. I really enjoyed the chapters about the new heart and the medals for Charlie. We all have a new heart and we all need medals. It was encouraging for me to read that God is cheering me on in my daily struggles in life, and I am confident that this book will be an encouragement for children. I recommend this book for ages six and up, and I highly recommend that parents read this book with their children so that the parents can discuss the chapters and the truth available there. It is important to apply truth, not just to know it, and that is the theme of this awesome book. LOVE DOES is all about doing for Jesus, even if you are only a child. Disclaimer Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”