A Lotus Grows in the Mud

A Lotus Grows in the Mud

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.30 $17.00 Save 10% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $17. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Lotus Grows in the Mud 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
ArkansasgirlPW More than 1 year ago
Loved this book... Glad it was not a tell-all about Hollywood. She is a very good writer. You will not be disappointed in what Goldie has to say about her upbringing or how she feels about starting her career and her joys and mishaps along the way. She is a wonderful person who has given credit to all those around her for where she is today. She is a woman who wanted a career and family life as well, and she achieved it without sacrificing herself or her family.
JennGrrl More than 1 year ago
I have to admit that I didn't go into this with an open mind. I was very skeptical about this book, and wasn't so sure I would enjoy it. Boy, was I wrong. Most of us only know the Goldie Hawn that we see in movies, but this book delves so much deeper without getting too deep. If you're looking for something light, but enlightening and uplifting, this book is great. Goldie goes into the bad times in her life, without making you feel sorry, or pity her. She also describes the events of her life that have strengthened her faith, and made her into the happy go lucky woman we all believe she is. If you at all enjoy Goldie's work, or are just interested in her as a person, this would be a great book. Even if you arent' familiar, or doesn't particularly care for her work, it's still a great, uplifting story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed reading this book. There is a light and beauty that I find very inspiring. Goldie's appreciation of peace, being happy, being true to one's self, adventure, optimism and seeing the goodness in life situations is wonderful. Her laughter is contagious. Just loved hanging out with Goldie through this book! Thank you Goldie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Goldie has such great experiences to share with all her fans! I've always loved watching her on the big screen. I laughed & laughed at some of the stories she shared. And I loved hearing about her elephant experience. And helping little Juan.... what an awesome cause to give to! And there was other parts that made me cry. Goldie has had such awesome life with her family & the world. A lot of the book taught me different things about life and put things into a perspective that I never thought about. I'm so glad she shared it with all of us.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Goldie's story read by Goldie. Audio books don't get better than this. Many of us remember the seemingly irrepressible Goldie Hawn from her early 'Sock it to me'days on Rowan Martin's Laugh-In through her movie roles, Cactus Flower, Shampoo, Private Benjamin, right up until she carried home an Academy Award.. She's a generous, appealing actress - the same adjectives describe her writing. 'Each of us goes through transitions and transformations,' she says. 'The important thing is that we acknowledge them and learn from them. That is the idea behind the book. Not to tell my life story, but to speak openly and from the heart about episodes in my life in the hope of explaining how they changed my perception and how they helped me to look at the world more clearly.' This she does. She speaks of the good times and the bad - her excitement at being a part of a new CBS series and the childhood sexual assault she suffered in her own home by one of her sister's friends. 'Laugh-In' was, of course, an enormous boost to her career, and her relationship with Kurt Russell occupies a large part of her heart. Goldie, the pixie-like gamin is a mom, mother to Kate Hudson, Oliver Hudson, and Boston Russell. She speaks of the difficulties and the pleasures in watching Kate grow into her own person. Every mother can relate to the experience of 'letting go.' With appreciation she tells of the kindness shown her by many, and reflects on anger, love, compassion, and her Buddhist beliefs. This is, of course, Goldie's story until now. She says, 'Every day I ask myself, wondering aloud, `What does the future hold for you now, Goldie Hawn?' And the best thing of all is, I just don't know.' If her future is anything like her past, she will learn, experience and see a great deal more. Let's hope she shares it with us. - Gail Cooke
Guest More than 1 year ago
I ordered this book before publication, received it and read it in less than 2 days. Goldie is such a great person, so intelligent, so interesting and responsible and generous with her celebrity. I couldn't put her book down. Goldie has allowed us to relive her special life moments with people that touched her life and influenced her. This book is not a tell all, it is about some special people in her life and how they affected her, including everyday people who brought meaning her to life. I respect Goldie's ability to write a book that allows the reader insight into her incredible life while simultaneously respecting the privacy of her family and loved ones. Brilliantly written, parts made me laugh and cry. This is an outstanding accomplishment for any author. Goldie is multi talented as any reader will discover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lovely, uplifting read. Truly enjoyable and thought-provoking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This memoir is an enjoyable journey through Goldie’s early childhood and adult life. Honest without being cruel or gossiping Goldie describes her viewpoint and struggles. A little preachy at times, overall a nice read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book about how she handles life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly unexpected & wonderful! I highly recommend reading it slowly, taking it all in carefully! Thank you, Goldie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A bit dull
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too preachy for me. I rolled my eyes a lot during this book. Not sure why celebs think they have anything important to say. Wish I didn't waste my money.
Rena14 More than 1 year ago
I randomly picked up this book not knowing much about Goldie Hawn but heard good reviews. I was shocked; this book was so inspirational and amazing. The way it's written makes you feel like you know Goldie Hawn personally. She is very down to earth and her inspirational stories and adventures make for a very consuming read. I have kept this book in my library and continue to read it over and over again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic book! Goldie writes from the heart.I especially found the beautifully detailed trips, especially to India so inspiring. The Operation Smile charter was so touching. I enjoyed reading about her childhood and family. This book was one of the best that I have read in a long time. I highly recommend this wonderful book to everyone. It will make you stop and think about life, family,and friends. Goldie will touch your heart and make you laugh at the same time. Like Goldie this book is truly delightful!
BoundTogetherForGood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Starting today, my Amazon Associates widget is no longer working. When I start a new post, it doesn't automatically seed with the top selling items. If I highlight a name or title, it doesn't automatically transfer the information to the search box. I gave up and cut and pasted a photo of a book into my post. Thanks all.
gypsyhomebody on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
4 stars! Great auto-biography. I love her as an actress and as a Mom.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Goldie Hawn is one smart woman. I have enjoyed reading about her family growing up. She has had a lot of life experience. She is spiritual and thoughtful. Good stuff!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some parts were a bit boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed her book. Gave us a look at the beauty behind that smile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
arg71 More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book.