Looking for Alaska

Looking for Alaska

by John Green

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.39 $12.99 Save 20% Current price is $10.39, Original price is $12.99. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Looking for Alaska 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1975 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel heavy. And empty. I have read the book. It is over. For me, anyways. This makes me sad. The reviews of this book make me sad, and also a little bit angry because when people say that a book like this is 'amazing,' I think that they do not understand. This book was enormous. Today I told a friend that I was reading a beautiful book called 'The Fault in Our Stars,' but that she had better not read it, because it was mine. I understand Hazel. This book was enormous, but it came and went very quietly. I do not want it to be a sensation. I do not want it to be sensational for anyone but me. I do not want it to be anything. I do not want it to be made into a movie. I want it to be loved. I am very conflicted. I do not want people to read it who will not understand. I think I understand. I feel like I am breaking it. Everything. But this is how I feel. I wish that I had not purchased this book electronically, because then I could take the copy that I do not own wherever I go, pages folded, spine cracking, soft cover bent and loved and worn and used and perfect. This book was enormous, and yet it came and went... so quietly. It is a quiet book. After. You cry. You laugh. But the after. It is a quiet book. Thank you, John. ~Me
LastCapitalist More than 1 year ago
If you have not read this book, I recommend immediately you get up and go to your nearest library and get this book. This book will blow your mind, one of the books I almost teared up in. The author greatest achievements in this book is how he builds gut wrenching tension after every chapter with the 100 day till and so on. And when you finally hit the climax you will be in disbelief. Oh and be prepared to fall in love with the most diverse and compelling characters ever written.
AMorgan721 More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised by Looking for Alaska. For me, it started out very young and teenager-ish, which is probably because.well, it's a book about a bunch of teenagers, doing very teenage things. For a while I was thinking that I was just listening to a book that was going to be basically just that, teenagers doing teenage things; drinking, smoking, sex, and tormenting each other (yes, all of the above are included in this book). I figured there was going to be some great disaster and a lesson learned and wam-bam, you've got a book. The thing is, the book received several great reviews that I just couldn't give up on it. People saying how great a book it was - usually "people" do know what they are talking about.well at least some of the time. It took half the book - and then it happened, the great disaster I was talking about before. The thing is, it's much greater than you wanted or expected. And John Green is a genius, because by this time, you're laughing and enjoying yourself with these characters, so the blow is not just to the characters, but you feel it too. So, no, this book is not about a bunch of teenagers, doing teenage-y things, no matter how much of it is included in the book. It's a book about life. It's a book about very young people attempting to discover the meaning of life, love, true friendship, having fun, tragedy, depression, and even God. I was so impressed with some of the things that the author included about God, and religion in general, and not just one but several different religions. I am a Christian, and while he was simply skimming the surface of religions and religious beliefs, John Green nailed some things on the head, or at least included things that nailed it on the head. My favorite religious section: the discussion about the lady (I can't remember names right now - and since this is an audiobook, no book to reference) who wanted to destroy Heaven and Hell because she wanted people to love God not because he could get them into Heaven, keep them out of Hell, but because God is God! Many of the reviews I had read said that due to the mature nature of some of the stuff in the book, it probably isn't for young teenagers. I would have to agree. There are moments when I felt like smoking and drinking and even sex was not glorified exactly, but it seemed normal. And it is, somewhat, but as adults and parents, we should attempt to move and motivate for it not to be normal. On the flip side, the consequences of some of these actions are shown throughout the book.
joannazasiewski More than 1 year ago
i loved it. i cried throughout the entire 'after' part. like a baby. the only reason i regret reading this book is that now i don't believe any book will ever measure up to this one. absolutely great. there's nothing more to it!
rachael22 More than 1 year ago
When reading this book i laughed, became angried, and cried. This book is so gut wrenching that you can't put down the book. Looking for Alaska is a quick read and a good one too. The mysterious Before and After is quite ingenious if you ask me. I felt as though i knew something was going to happen but until that point it never really struck me. The quote "How will I ever get out of this labyrinth?" plays a huge part through out the book. This book is very relatable in the sense that you are a teenager or you once were the average teenager looking for adventure. I reccomend this book to anyone over the age of 13.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a intriguing book with twist and the every day life of some teens . You get to look into a world of a group of teenagers and see lust , drugs use , pranks , sex and everyday teens exploring themselves and the things around them just trying to keep out of trouble . The before will have you in depths of the book just to see if pudge and alaksa end up together . And to get to the after. Were the book changes courses completely . Ive only read this book once until i lent it to a friend and never recieved it back . Im buying it again bexause its worth the read . No mattter what book i purchase little peaces of the colonel , pudge, alaska and the others will stary in your mind , this is a once in a lifetime book made by an inspiring author who really tries to capture hopeless teens in love or lust . Each having their dofferent qwerks an intresting things abot them . Buy this book , read this book , you will NOT regret it .
harrypotterfan9 More than 1 year ago
i love john green, so i was expecting a lot out of this book. i was not disappointed. this is tied with harry potter as my favorite book of all time. i love the theme, i love the characters, i love all the pranks that are played, i love that miles memorizes last words (just like me!), i love all of it. it's a little inappropriate at times, so definitely a 15+ age range though. but DEFINITELY a must read. can't wait for the fault in our stars! DFTBA!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'd watched the Vlogbrothers for the longest time w/o reading one of John's books. My friend actually had to rave about it before I allowed her to loan it to me. Don't wait like I did! READ THIS FANTASTIC BOOK NOW!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adore this book. Its my favorite by John Green. Looking for Alaska will make you see life like you have never seen it before. This book is shocking, mysterious, soooo funny, and sad. There wasn't one time when I felt like I was getting bored. Every moment had a new way of pulling you into the story. I read this book in one day and one day I decided to read it again and it was as good as it was the first time. This is a captivating story and has an amazing plot. Everybody should read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick read. Thrilling,touching,amazing and life changing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
John Green has a way of writing deep and dark secrets of my life... The Fault in Our Stars in my favorite book and I want the world to love it But at the same time it's my little secret It's a preview of my life and for someone, Someone who won't understand me, my life, Hazel's life... It's a waste for them to read They can come to love the book but never have close to as many connections as I will have. As they should have. I want his books to be loved, and understood, and never forgotten because they are truly a treasure.
BSK-2002 More than 1 year ago
“Looking for Alaska” by John Green. This book is for people who enjoy reading a suspenseful, and dramatic love story. It can also be a bit tragic for a young girl gets her life taken in an accident. The book begins with a boy named Miles whose parents are having a going away party for him. Miles will be attending his first day at Culver Creek Collage. When he arrives he meets his new roommate in a towel. The man was a stalky short guy with an attitude that went by the name of “The Colonel.” He also meets the girl of his dreams named Alaska which he meets when she tells them a story that happened over the summer. The first night at Culver Creek he was duct taped in the middle of the night and chucked into the lake just for being friends with the Colonel. Miles earned the name “Pudge” for being skinny. Miles goes through some events that almost gets his suspended from Culver Creek. They go to this place every day called the “smoking hole.” The Eagel which is the principal of Culver Creek catches them and they have to attend jury to see what their punishments are. Alaska and the Colonel tell the Engle that it was just them and he lets them off with cleaning duty. There was an upcoming Announcement Day were they play a prank on the Eagle. I highly recommend this book. I love reading books with that are suspenseful. This is a great book I hope you take the time to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book, as well as John Green's other books. It's brilliantly written, and it makes you feel all the emotions as well as though the characters are some of your closest friends. I would recommend this book to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read thia book about 10 times love it
Nicole_67 More than 1 year ago
I am extremely disappointed with this book. It has so many raving reviews. Maybe all the hype got my expectations up to high… I had such a hard time reading this book. It was just boring! I skipped pages here and there to get through it faster. The way it is set up with a count down to the "main event" of the story make you anticipate something so mind blowing, but it wasn't. I will admit that the event was not what I expected but it was not thrilling. The characters were uninteresting and unrelatable. They did not seem like realistic high school kids. Alaska is very annoying. No one acts like that and if they did they would have no friends. She is all over the place. Maybe the story would have been better if we heard it from her point of view, that way we would have learned more about why she acts the way she does. Maybe it is because I am not a teen anymore and that made it hard for me to relate. But I am only 20 and it cannot be that I am that disconnected from those who are about 4 years younger. I am just disappointed. The book didn't make me feel sad, or angry, or any other emotion but annoyance. I do not understand these endless 5 star reviews. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This will be in capitals to express my pain I LOVE THE BOOK BUT WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO ME IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING BUYING THE BOOK DO IT DO IT NOW IT IS ONE OF THE BEST THINGS I HAVE EVER READ THE OTHERS BEING ALL THE OTHER JOHN GREEN BOOKS YOU NEED TO READ IT OR YOUR LIFE WILL BR INCOMPLETE Thank you for your time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dear "me", I understand your thoughts completely. Anyone who has read any john green book understands. Once you finish it. There is no going back
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first time I had the pleasure to read this book was in high school, recommended by my librarian. I finished it that night and walked back in half asleep with a wide grin on my face. The plot and storyline the author portrays in this book is a rollorcoaster of 'oh's and 'awes, with one heck of an ending. I continue to this day to recommend this to anyone whom listens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Existentialism lived out in your mind as you read, the author has a keen ability to weave the most complex questions of our human existence into the dialogue of teens. Exquisite
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! I laughed, cried, everything. John Green is a genius,and I want to read it over and over!
CourtneyReads More than 1 year ago
The compelling story of Pudge and his friends is like no other. John Green really knows how to tug on your heartstrings. Looking For Alaska will make you laugh, it will make you cry, and most importantly, you will never forget it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking for Alaska is a classic that anyone could and should love. For some odd reason I have the need to know what happens after. It is like AIA in The Fault in our Stars. I need a sense of closure. The end is just not enough. I crave for more text from John Green.
Angela Russell More than 1 year ago
One of, if not, my favorite book of all time. The characters are so realistic and enguaging. It felt so real like i was there the entire time.
J.R._BookWorm More than 1 year ago
A friend told me about this book, she said it was good so I bought it. OH MY GOD!!! It was so good!!! I couldn't put it down for a minute!!
It's about a boy named Miles, who goes to a new school. There he meets a girl named Alaska. He falls for her. But then something happens and everythings differnt.
I woulnd recommend this book to any of my friend. GO READ IT!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sad but good book. It just gravitates you in! This book is... LITT!