Look for Me (Detective D. D. Warren Series #9)

Look for Me (Detective D. D. Warren Series #9)

Audiobook(CD)

$25.83 $36.99 Save 30% Current price is $25.83, Original price is $36.99. You Save 30%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Look for Me 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She alwaus writes the best books. This one won't disappoint. She breaks your heart for characters while you can't stop turning the pages. Great, great book. I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa gardner is by far my favorite author. I wait anxiously for these books every year. I was thrilled that she brought Flora back. She is by far the most complex and interesting character and I hope to read about her again in the future. For me personally this novel in the series was my least favorite and most predictable. I think that too many story lines were going on at once that took away from the core of the book. Still a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of her best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel like Lisa used to write really suspensful, thrilling, nail biting books that you just couldnt put down. The last few that shes written werent like that at all. Not too much action or enough mystery for me. They are still good and have some action in them, but they are more emotional if anything. I do love Flora Dane and would like more books with her..but maybe she could start to finally cope some. D.D. is still cool but shes getting old. Well her character is and that shes still bossy and sort of blah. You should read the book prior to this one about Flora. Its pretty emotional too, but has more action and suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of suspense with twists and turns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to get into
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding! Everything this very talented author writes is amazing!! However her books should come with a warning saying " you will lose sleep, turning page after page long into the night." Buy it, read it, love it. ENJOY!!!
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Favorite Quotes: College had been about getting out and getting away, not because I hadn’t loved my mom or her farm or the fox kits born each spring, but because I’d been eighteen, and when you’re eighteen, clearly you can’t want what you already have. Definitely, you gotta try for whatever is behind that other door over there. It takes a villain to make a hero. And it took a monster to make me. My Review: This was a brilliantly contrived thriller! Ms. Gardner’s ingenious and intriguing storylines squeezed my heart while they captivated, taunted, and prickled my curiosity. The mystery was compelling and confounding while the characters were deviously nuanced and complicated. I totally appreciate a clever kick-ass heroine/ survivor/vigilante and this story provided several. The story was heartbreakingly realistic, cunningly paced, shrewdly staged, and unpredictable with so many possible suspects with ample motivation. This was my first experience reading this author and could kick myself for noticing the previous eight books in this enticing series. I want them ALL.
CherryPie0420 More than 1 year ago
I love a good suspense story. You know when you read the first page and are instantly hooked that you are going to be in for a wild ride. Look for Me is one of those stories that you think you have figured out and then there is a sudden twist that has you second guessing yourself. Then another twist. And another. By the time you reach the end you close the book and mutter, "Wow." Roxy, a sixteen-year-old girl, is missing. Her family is brutally murdered in their home and no one knows if the missing girl is the murderer or running for her life. Detective D.D. Warren is on the case, carefully putting the pieces of the puzzle together. From what she is being told Roxy is the most level-headed person in her family, having to raise her younger brother and sister, protecting them every way she knows how, especially when they are taken away by child protective services and placed in foster care due to their mothers negligence due to alcoholism. This is the wakeup call that their mother needs and see fights to get clean and get her children back. Against all odds she accomplishes her goal and the little family is reunited. Everything seems to be going good and now almost the entire family is gunned down in cold blood and Roxy is nowhere to be found. The deeper D.D. digs into the family's backstory the darker the secrets that are unearthed which makes the situation that much more confusing. D.D. is approached by Flora Dane soon after news of the murders are out and requests that she be a CI in the investigation. Flora is a victim herself, and an advocate and leader of others who have been through traumatic experiences. She tells D.D. that she has been in contact with Roxy prior to the murders that adds another twist in the already confusing narrative. The attitudes and sarcasm between D.D. and Flora is great. They both have very different tactics but they both have the same goal: to find Roxy and find the truth. The conflict between these two characters helps lighten the very dark subject matter. Look for Me delves into alcoholism, the dark side of the foster care system, the effects of a family being torn apart, and the consequences of the choices of others. Look for Me is the ninth book in The Detective D.D. Warren Series and since this is my first book in the series to read I can honestly say it is perfectly fine to read as a standalone book. I do not post spoilers but I do have to comment that the ending, though slightly predictable, is incredibly sad. The pace of the book is even and constant and makes the book hard to put down once you stop. This is my first book by Lisa Gardner and have to say that it is well written, the story multifaceted, and will not be my last book to read by this author or in this series. Five stars! *I received a complimentary copy of this book from Penguin Group Dutton and NetGalley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review. All opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is definitely my favorite series of books! D.D. Warren is the strong woman that many of wish we could be
Darby0517 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This is one of the best books Lisa Gardner has written!! It starts off right away in a detailed murder. College girl brings a guy home from the bar and it's a mass slaughter! This book focuses on several characters. DD Warren (obviously), Flora Dane, Sarah, and Roxanna Baez. Roxanna lives with her mom and two siblings until one day she is taken away and put into the foster care system. This book talks about how destructing the system can be. Roxanna's Mom is able to gain custody back of the kids and then the worst happens. This book walks you through "the crime" and you get to solve it along with DD Warren and Flora. It talks about what it takes to survive and how far would you go to survive...or help someone else survive. I would definitely recommend this book to any Lisa Gardner fan or someone looking to start out with a Lisa Gardner book who is new to her series.
dawnc More than 1 year ago
When Sergeant DD Warren receives a RED BULL alert on her phone she knows it's something bad. When she gets to the house she learns its a house of five people, four of them are dead, but the fifth, sixteen year old Roxanna is missing. The race is on to find her. Has she been taken? Running scared? or is she responsible for the killings? I loved the way the book takes you back in time to the beginning, of the things the family went through, the ups and downs to that fateful day they were wiped out. I kept changing my mind as to who was behind it all, only to find at the end that not only was I completely wrong but it was someone I hadn't even given a thought to. I received a copy of this arc via NetGalley. This is my honest and unbiased review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But I guessed who did it from the start
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely with a read, a real heart wrencher.
LEH0644 More than 1 year ago
Detective D. D. Warren is called to a brutal murder scene where four family members were found shot to death. There is another daughter who was last seen walking the dogs but she should have been back by now. Was she taken hostage or was she the killer? An Amber Alert is put out and police are searching the area. Flora Dane, a victims’ advocate turned vigilante, tells D.D. that the missing girl is Roxy Baez and she has been in contact with a member of her group. Flora tells D.D. that the girl is terrified of something or someone. As investigation continues, another family member is shot and injured. A person wearing a hoodie with long dark hair was seen running from the scene. Could this be Roxy? I usually love Gardner's books but this one was missing something. Not as good as her others.
HeidiMain More than 1 year ago
Another Lisa Gardner masterpiece! The author kept me guessing whodunit until the very suspenseful end. Roxy made my heart hurt for all those children in foster care out there. The childhood bullies, Anya and Roberto, were hauntingly familiar to current day bullying issues. I know this was foster care, but the author made this situation very real and believable and horrible. I found Roxy's "perfect family" essays haunting and nicely dispersed throughout the text. The point of view flipping between Detective DD and Flora was a nice touch
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
almost done with it but so far so good!! im more than halfway done with it. It has already made me shed a few tears
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a fast read couldn't put it down. The plots are always worked out to leave you guessing to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa is one of my favorite authors. I enjoyed the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed some of her previous books more.