The Lion's Lady

The Lion's Lady

by Julie Garwood

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lion's Lady 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 241 reviews.
Magensbay More than 1 year ago
This is my first reading of a Julie Garwood novel and it was great! I bought it on Tuesday and finish reading it on Thursday. The story was captivating and the love scenes "hot" and descriptive. I have always read only Johanna Lindsey and Kathleen Woodiwiss books and decided to branch out. Well, Julie Garwood is a great "branching out". I loved Christina. She is very endearing and the book gave us all a glimpse into how to be a loving spouse. All the characters were great and Lyon was exceptionally a supportive sexy husband. Since I do not re-read my novels, ever, this book is surely tempting me to break that rule!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Princess Christina is the main topic of gossip with everyone in London. The mysterious Princess is beautiful, warm and friendly. The people of London know virtually nothing about her. The love story is great, the sensuality is charmingly warm, and the various characters just seem to come alive on the page. The humor which constantly arises due the the contrasting cultures made me laugh all through the book. Christina and Lyon are both intelligent, likeable and strong. The lurking sense of danger which threads through the book makes the plot satisfying, and Christina's mother's journal entries (which start each chapter) are very poignant. I just love this book and would encourage anyone who loves the Regency genre to read it. Christina hides many secrets - particularly that she was raised by American Native Indians. At times, her presentation to and acceptance by London society seems a little stretched but it is such a great story that you overlook those little bits of non-reality. Lyon, The Marquis of Lyonwood, is a cynical and hard man. He has the usually rakish views of English historical romance in that he does not believe in love or even expect to meet a woman that could mean more to him than the physical side of a relationship. Christina is a very likable heroine. She is a little too sweet at times but I have found that this is typical for Garwood's heroines. But Christina was so ornery and stubborn to boot! She lied - constantly - to Lyon. Fortunately, he considered it endearing because he understood her reason for it. She is only attempting to cover up her background and I think she is mostly truthful at other times. It is so humorous how Lyon handles Christina's lies and her attempts to hide the truth by giving him vague answers to his specific questions. I love that Christina thinks of Lyon as a warrior. The relationship is certainly unusual for romance writing. There is none of the misunderstandings and bitter words so common in this type of book. We get to see their relationship from the beginning with an unusual twist. From the first moment, they both realize that their attraction to each other is strong and shared. They both attempt to avoid this mutual attraction in their own ways. As Christina and Lyon's relationship develops, we get to experience many wonderful scenes in which they live out, day to day, their love for each other. It is refreshing to not have fighting and disturbances between the romance leads up until the end of the book. We are given time to relish their relationship. Amazing read!    
DelightedNovela More than 1 year ago
I do enjoy reading a good historical romance novel and this one is very very good. The prologue sets the story and completely pulls you in. I loved how Christina never let go of her roots. Her character and personality is quite charming. This story is enthralling and not disappointing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of Julie Garwood's finest novels. I couldn't put it down. It was funny and enchanting, i won't ever forget this one. Christina and Lyon make this story of intrigue and deception memorable. A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved both of the main characters. Interesting plot take on a standard romance novel storyline, with some very cute and funny moments throughout. This is one of my staples I go to again and again when I want a quick fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my absolute favorite book by this author. I think I have read it at least 20 times and am still not tired of it. She is normally a good author but not one of my favorites. But she did very, very well with this one. It is definitely worth the money.
HEDI09 More than 1 year ago
I think I've read all of Garwood's books and intend to read every one she writes! Another author I recently discovered has knocked me off my feet! EXPLOSION IN PARIS by Linda Masemore Pirrung is just about the most rewarding, fascinating, charming, and suspenseful book I've read in a while! I can't wait for her next one and am hoping as her reviewers are, that there is a sequel to this one!!! Check out her reviews!!! They HOOKED me big time!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book opens with a very promising story but as the characters play out you feel as though the book trails off. You never really get attached to the characters. Lyon is a strong male but Christina is almost irriatating. She goes from being strong to weak to almost annoying. The romance and passion that you would expecct in this type of book was never really there as I read page after page. I honestly had to stop reading the book. I just didn't enjoy the story. It wasn't interesting or suspenseful. I read the other reviews so I was completely shocked because I was anticipating a great read yet I was very disappointed. If you have never read a Julie Garwood book skip this one. It's not worth it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is Great! Christina claims the Dakota people as her family even though she has Blue eyes and Blonde hair. Anyway she is going on the biggest adventur of her life, returning to England and facing the Evil that murdered her mother and countless others. While she is adjusting to her new role she finds Lion a man after her own heart. Together they face her father and fall in love (Of course :))
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read many romance novels, mysteries, etc. over the years. But Julie Garwood is the best. Her stories have made me sad and glad, actually laughing out loud. Whenever I'm a little down, I re-re-re-read 'The Lion's Lady'. It has so many laughs, it just brightens up the whole world. Keep on doing what your doing Julie Garwood, your the best. Of all her books, I love the old stories the best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lyon, Marquis of Lyonwood is one of those near-perfect heros, a memorable character to be sure. He was great and the story was great, but I did expect to meet Christina's family. I think the author intended for Christina to be a strong woman, but honestly, she didn't quite live up to it. All in all, though, this was a GREAT book. And, ladies, if you really want to read a GREAT book, try THE ROSE OF ENCHANTMENT by Kathryn Bender. This one book is better than all Ms Garwoods books put together! And I love Ms Garwood!
Guest More than 1 year ago
O.k., first let me start off by saying that Julie Garwood cannot write a bad novel. I have read almost all of them and have enjoyed every single one. This book was no exception. But, (you knew this was coming) this book was not at the top of my list. I just couldn't connect with these characters like I have with other characters of Julie's. I did not relate to Christina at all, but that is more my problem than the character's. I also felt as if the ending was very rushed. It went so fast, I had a hard time keeping up and wished for the sake of the characters, we could have had more conversation and interacting rather than just a quick third-person, matter-of-fact narrative. I don't want anyone to think I disliked the book. I enjoyed reading it, but just wished I had gotten more involved with the story-line as I have with almost all of Garwood's books. In the end, I do recommend this book. If you buy it, you won't be disapointed. I also HIGHLY recommned any of Garwood's mid-evil novels. Those are my favorites.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS WAS MY FIRST JULIE GARWOOD NOVEL. I FELL IN LOVE WITH HER AND THIS BOOK. BUT I MUST SAY EVEN THOUGH I HAVE READ MANY OF HER BOOKS THIS ONE TOPS THEM ALL. THE CHARACTERS HAVE THE MOST HUMORING CONVERSATIONS AND JULIE REALLY CAPTURES THE SPARKS THAT FLY BETWEEN THEM. READ THIS BOOK AND YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.
melorem on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of historical romances based in England and usually shy away from those that involve the American Colonies. This one has the main character being raised by the Dakota Indian tribe and returning to her own people and family in England.Christina's mother dies and leaves her in the care of a Dakota woman who promises to raise her strong and to care for her. She returns to England and tries her best to fit into society there but Garwood humorously sets up incidents that are funny to the reader and mysterious and confusing to the main hero Lyon (the Marquis of Lyonwood). The characters are well developed. Loved it!
blingtastic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
enjoyable read; great story and colorful characters; female was very strong; much better re-read than when i read it years ago.....
mom2lnb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've considered myself to be a fan of Julie Garwood for close to twenty years now, but in spite of my loyalty to her writing and my usual ability to cut her some slack even when the story isn't quite perfect for me, I couldn't help coming away from reading The Lion's Lady with very mixed feelings. The more of Ms. Garwood's books I read/re-read, the more I've come to realize that there is a certain sameness in her characters and the development of their relationship. The hero and heroine of The Lion's Lady followed her usual stereotypes, but they seemed a bit more extreme to me in certain aspects of their personalities than some of Ms. Garwood's other characters I've read. This often made it difficult to connect with them. Sometimes it felt like there were small holes in the plot too, just some nagging, little thing that I was missing, and couldn't quite put my finger on it. I was also surprised to see some passivity in her narration. I'm not sure if this is a trait that has been there all along, and I simply didn't notice, or an anomaly in this book, but passive story-telling never works for me. I am willing to admit though that I might have been more forgiving of this flaw if I hadn't just read three books in a row with some degree of the dreaded ¿telling not showing¿ in them. At the beginning of the story, Lyon was a very intriguing hero. I thought he was going to be a really tortured man with his scars, both inside and out, and his cynical attitude about marriage and life in general. Unfortunately, that part of his character just hovered in the background and was never really given the weight I thought it deserved. Instead, he became more of the typical alpha hero who at times was just a little too arrogant for my taste and who also on occasion behaved more like a caveman than a Regency gentleman. There were things that he did which just didn't seem to fit the social mores of the era, and several times when his actions probably would have compromised Christina, but of course, the actual compromising happened in a more extreme way too. Lyon did have moments where he could be gentler, and it was in those moments that I did like him. Some instances of his possessiveness and protectiveness were actually romantic and endearing. I thought it was sweet that Lyon was the first one to say, ¿I love you,¿ and then patiently prodded Christina to do the same. However, in my opinion, he fell in love with her, and more importantly, trusted her far too easily. Considering that his first wife's betrayal had left him so completely soured on the idea of marriage that he was prepared to never wed again even to sire an heir, his quick turnaround and complete faith in Christina even though he knew she was lying to him didn't really make sense to me. Overall, Lyon was a good man, and one who certainly exhibited the patience of Job in handling a high-spirited young lady like Christina, but not a true stand-out hero like some others I've read.Christina was so mysterious and confusing throughout most of the story that I had a very hard time relating to her. Julie Garwood has a tendency to write heroines who are strong-willed but also pretty scatterbrained which can be rather amusing, but with Christina this dichotomy just didn't work for me. One minute, she was a ¿warrior woman¿ who could most certainly take care of herself, and the next, she could be pretty ditsy which I had a hard time wrapping my head around. She could also be incredibly stubborn especially when it came to telling Lyon the truth about her past. I tried very hard to look at it from Christina's perspective and take into account her feelings about various things, but I think I would have needed more insights into her psyche to fully understand her reasoning. As written she just seemed contradictory and obstinate (though thankfully not at bad as some heroines I've read), and I thought that her lack of trust in Lyon for most of the story diminished their intimacy as a co
lexi1022 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An Amusing story that just sucks you right in. Julie Garwood really knows how to write books that will pull you into them and not let go until you have finished the last page. This is a well written book with lots of charm, love, and adventure. The characters are amusing, witty, and well written. If you like Historical Romances this is a book for you.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While it has some aspects of a historical novel it wasn't really all that well rooted in history in either the characters or the settings, I didn't really get that it was truly a regency novel, it could have been pretty much any time up to victorian. Christina Bennett is a woman raised by a Dakota Indian tribe after her mother dies. The tribe promised to return her to England when she was old enough and now she's in society, steered through by her avaricious aunt who sees her as nothing more than a source of her grandfather's monies. Christina meets Lyon, Marquis of Lyonwood who is bitter after his first marriage and his first wife's betrayal. But the two of them are attracted. Lyon has to get over the cultural differences and sparks fly between them.It's not a bad read but I was left wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great humorous without being rediculous!! Romantic love scenes without being vulgar! A hero that is tender and very manly at the same time. Love your historicals!!! Please start writing them again Ms. Garwood!!!!! Yours are the best!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book by garland. Like all her books there is humor with the drama. This was one of her better ones. I book worthy of a second read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago