The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta Series #11)

The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta Series #11)

Audio CD(Abridged, 5 CDs)

$26.95 $29.95 Save 10% Current price is $26.95, Original price is $29.95. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta Series #11) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 175 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A continuation of Kay's life after Benton's death, her attempted murder by Chandonne and the same attention to detail in the autopsies she performs. I love the way Patricia weaves her stories.
Shannon Dwire More than 1 year ago
This was the first "Scarpetta" book I read; sent to me mistakenly by a book club I belonged to. It hooked me on the series. Going back now after so many years and so many of Cornwall's books, I remember why I was so entranced. The reread, knowing the characters like I now do, is even better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When is Marino going to get lucky? Everyone seems to :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me coming back to see what would happen next. Can't wait to read next book in the series!
luv2readMA More than 1 year ago
I've become a true fan of Patricia Cornwell's writings over the years, and this Kay Scarpetta book reminded me once more why I read some of these titles more than once and why I patiently wait for the next Scarpetta book to come to print. Lots going on in this book, and I couldn't wait to see it all play out. From the beginning when Kay moves out of her home, following the attack on her in the book just prior, Black Notice, to the end when she sits facing the jury, I was hooked. Even though you can pick up one of the Scarpetta books and get right into it, I would begin with the very first -- Postmortem.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After I read Black Notice I couldn't go another day without reading TLP. This book was amazing. It goes deeper into detail about what happened it past books. This book changes Scarpetta's life forever!
Panathanikamacos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While this isn't up to the usual v high standard if you have read the previous books then this is essential reading and kept me gripped from page 1.
gaturbev on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Possibly better than a 2, but I think maybe I'm getting burned out on Cornwell. Also, though I was current years ago, I have fallen way behind and am also a little "out of order."Basically, I like the characters and I like that I know about the characters. But I'm tired of hearing about the former (dead) characters (Benton, Grethen, Gault, etc.) and the running threads. I rather have the current group of heroes (Kay, Lucy, and Marino) solving crimes that are unrelated to previous books.
BibliophileBubba on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was the one that convinced me to stop buying Patricia Cornwell's books. Her first half dozen were world class suspense/detective fiction, but the subsequent books have gone steadily downhill, and now they just feel like cyncial rip-offs.
delphimo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Patricia Cornwell delves into a story, and leaves no stone uncovered. In this installment, Kay Scarpetta deals with the lingering paranoia from the attack by Jean-Baptiste Chandonne. A New York attorney, Jaime Berger, ties Chandonne with a brutal murder in New York. Just when Kay thinks she may rebuild her life, a grand jury investigates Kay's involvement into the death of Diane Bray, believing that Kay committed the murder. As many of Cornwell's novels, this is set during the Christmas season when Virginia is covered with snow and bad weather. Kay must fight for her professional integrity and sanity in this chilling story. More people are killed and the trail leads to Chandonne and his family, and Kay must decide which people are friends or foes. An interesting study in the secrets that each person carries.
debavp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What the hell is going on--the downhill slide of this character's development is really showing.
MsBeautiful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Feels like Cornwell is trying to finish up old plot points and start new ones, I got bogged down and didn't enjoy this "transitional" book
unrequitedlibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tone of language: Grimly psychologicalCharacters: Deeply emotionally woundedPlot twists: Puzzling links between seemingly unrelated murdersPace: Slow, painstaking analysis of crimesValues: The importance of relationships founded on trustBackground research: ForensicsSexuality: Female murder victims engaged in consensual intercourse firstEnding: Family comes firstOffensive to any group: Unattractive peopleTarget audience: WomenFlaw: The author doesn't explain how the mastermind of a known crime family could fool the authorities and become a high-ranking international police agent.
writestuff on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Patricia Cornwell's stories. They are well drawn out and accurate in their forensic details. Cornwell's MC, Dr. Kay Scarpetta, is a character who is likeable while still demonstrating her human weaknesses. This novel picks up where the last (Black Notice) left off...and it doesn't disappoint. Fast paced, it kept my interest...and answered questions the author left hanging inBlack Notice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good I went through a box of tissue. I still wish Benton or Mark was still alive. Hopefully soon Mariano gets his happiness and it last. Please don't kill off anymore main characters, I don't think I can take it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE LAST PRECINCT I enjoyed reading this book; it is a bit longer than some of Ms Cornwell's earlier books. There is a lot of angst and anger displayed by the main characters, and this occurs because of the fascinating way the author brings in details from earlier books. It is not necessary that one has read the earlier books in the series, but it does help follow the development of the characters. There is repetition and explanation of previous story lines. I really think this is one of the best of the Scarpetta books. Besides the main plot, there are several sub-plots with many characters. I find it mind-boggling how Ms. Cornwell brings out so many details and links them together. I found it difficult to put down this one! LFB
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm on book 17
Anonymous More than 1 year ago