The Last Full Measure

The Last Full Measure

by Jeff Shaara

Hardcover(1 ED)

$26.09 $28.99 Save 10% Current price is $26.09, Original price is $28.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Last Full Measure 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a throughly enjoyable experience this book is! I turned to The Last Full Measure to complete the cycle of Civil War reading I began with The Killer Angels, by Jeff's father, and to fill in my knowledge of what, to me, was a lesser known part of the Civil War...the last part. Not only did I fill in that knowledge, I got to know ( and know more about ) Ulysses S. Grant, Joshua Chamberlain and Robert E. Lee with some degree of intimacy, and a fair-sized cast of other notable characters who were colorful and interesting, to say the least. Shaara's writing can be surprisingly emotional, yet is still economical and clear. The use of a few key maps ( so disappointingly left out of some works that would greatly benefit them )really help to describe the battle action more clearly and vividly. But the book is not merely a collection of battles, and, in fact, leaves out a number of major and important battles in some theatres that do not take anything away from the greatness of this book. I am absolutely going to get Shaara's Mexican War book, Gone for Soldiers, soon. I want to stay close to these characters and this writer and enjoy the considerable skill that has been passed on to him.
Father_of_5_Boys More than 1 year ago
I read this book after reading Killer Angels and then Gods & Generals. I don't think it was good as either of those, but it was still good. (Let's just pray they don't try to make a movie out of it.) I highly recommend Gods & Generals, Killer Angels, & Last Full Measure to anybody, but especially to those that might not know a lot about the Civil War and don't know where to start. These books are a lot easier to read than some of the hard core history books, and they give you some insight into the personalities and struggles of the guys in the field. They keep you aware that wars are fought by real people with feelings and emotions and they aren't just abstract movements of pawns in a big game of chess.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best novels of the Civil War I have read, Better than G&G. Should have made a movie of this one instead. Even better is Shaara's Rise to Rebellion.
StuffedMango More than 1 year ago
By the time you reach this last book in the The Killer Angels trilogy, it is difficult to not feel like you know the commanders personally. We are privy to conversations between Gen. Grant and President Lincoln. We are once again privileged to charge into battle with the soldiers of blue and gray...and to follow them to the end of the war. While artistic license may have been taken in a few places to help the flow of the story in the books, it nevertheless remains an incredible introduction to the Civil War for anyone. In fact, it propels a true learner to find out more, to discover the facts for themselves. Don't miss this last book. Again, it is a must read!
Ben_Olin More than 1 year ago
The Last Full Measure is a great compilation of Civil War stories that bring the characters to life and give the reader a small sense of what it must have been like to be at some of these battles. The pain, frusteration, and uncertainty of the commanders and soldiers alike are brought to light for the reader to glimpse the chaos of war, especially when communications were so much slower than they are today. It is a fiction book, so don't take every quote or thought as absolutely true, but it does give a good representation of the events.
Jamie Eggleston More than 1 year ago
I love history, and the civil war is my favorite time. It's unbelievable the scale of destruction we can inflict on each other. This is a recommended book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read, and a fitting conclusion to this thrilling and touching civil war trilogy.
Sarum More than 1 year ago
"The Last Full Measure" is one of my all time favorite books. I finished it and said, "Wow". It is a lot deeper than "Gods and Generals" or "The Killer Angels", but is a great conclusion to the Trilogy. It is a moving and heartbreaking finale, a great conclusion for both sides to the war that has destroyed them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Phenomanal end to the series. Truly a great read for people that enjoy the civil war
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book - very informatiave, flows well. Had already read Killer Angels and Gods & Generals. This one is a fitting closure to the trilogy. Learned more by reading these 3 books than in all the US history classes I took in high school & college. In fact, I did not remember much about the Civil War, but now, I will not forget. I also recommend 1865 by Jay Winik & just for fun, tackle Gone With The Wind, if you have the time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was happily surprised by The Last Full Measure. I am generally skeptical about sequals/prequals, but Mr. Shara did an outstanding job of completing the saga begun by his father. All of the characters come across with all their human successes and failures. I was particularly impressed by the way he handled General Lee's physical weaknesses, which lent a more human aspect of Lee's nature, rather than the indestructable icon he became after the war.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Last Full Measure is an amazing accomplishment. I enjoyed both Gods and Generals and the Killer Angels, and The Last Full Measure is certainly on par with them, if it does not exceed them. The feelings are more raw and real, now that the war is coming to a close. I am fascinated by Chamberlain and this book reinforced that. Before reading these books I had almost no understanding of the Civil War, or the people in it. Now it was all brought alive to me by two men: Michael and Jeff Shaara.
Guest More than 1 year ago
IN THIS NOVEL SHAARA CONTINUES THE RICH VEIN OF HISTORY, BIOGRAPHY AND NARATIVE BEGUN IN THE KILLER ANGELS (THE SEQUENCE IS INCLUDING THE PREQUEL). A TRUELY WONDERFUL READ!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book a lot. I am a big fan of Joshua Chamberlain. It's pretty cool to write in the mind of other people.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You can tell a lot of research went into this book. Two weeks after I read this book I visited Gettysburg for the second time and I understood the battle more. This is one book that should be referred to in schools when teaching of the battle of Gettysburg. Both father and son wrote classics!!!
Mdshrk1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Last Full Measure is the sequel to The Killer Angels which I have not read. However, this novel is capable of standing alone. It covers the last two years of the Civil War. Shaara has obviously done his research, and while no one can know for sure, tells credible tales from the perspective of many of the major generals of the conflict. Even though I knew the outcome, the book drew me along compellingly.
jpsnow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The focus is on Lee, Grant, and Chamberlain. You will feel as if you were there, and the way it closes out the war makes it the best of the series.
bigmoose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am finally getting around to finishing the Shaara's Civil War trilogy, albeit slightly out of sequence. Two down, one to go. This one was once again a thoroughly enjoyable reading experience and exactly as expected -- Jeff follows the Shaara methodology and gets us into the heads of Grant, Lee and Chamberlain (and other participating soldiers) to understand this terrible story of war and destruction, courage and bloody death. A most terrible period in U.S. history! Reading The Last Full Measure was just what historical fiction should feel like, and few can do it like the Shaaras.
JohnNebauer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Doesn't have quite the sense of drama as his father's 'Killer Angels', perhaps because the Gettysburg campaign featured dramatic crescendo, whereas the Wilderness campaign, the Petersburg siege and the campaign to Appomattox featured the relentless grinding down of Lee's Army of Northern Virginia. Jeff Shaara tries to faithfully reproduce his father's writing style, and it largely works, at least in the characters' dialogue. Some phrases (for example 'He tried not to think on that') seemed a bit overdone. Still, a good read, and gives a good overview of the American Civil War in the eastern theatre.
Jthierer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The conclusion to the father-son trilogy does not disappoint. "The Last Full Measure" follows the characters from the aftermath of Gettysburg through the end of their lives. The reader feels the desperation and hopelessness of the Confederate Army as it runs out of food and men, as well as the determination of Grant and Chamberlain. Overall, this book is a fitting capstone for the trilogy as it carries on the tradition of putting the reader on the battlefield in a way that's clear and meaningful.
Mooose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
oh....my...this...book...was...unreadable...due....to....the...number...of...ellipses...this...author....loves...to....use.If this is indicative of his work he is nowhere near the writer his father was.
loafhunter13 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Concluding the Civil War trilogy that began with his father Michael's Pulitzer-winning The Killer Angels, Shaara (Gods and Generals) chronicles Lee's retreat from Gettysburg and his valiant efforts to defend northern Virginia from Grant's superior, better-supplied forces. Seen alternately through the eyes of Lee, Grant, and Maine abolitionist Colonel Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, the narrative begins with the successful Union ambush at Bristow Station in October 1863. It then details Lee's 18-month cat-and-mouse game as he outmaneuvers Grant, despite overwhelming odds and terrible deprivation, concludes with Lee's surrender at Appomattox. Impressively researched, this deeply affecting work can't be faulted for inaccuracy or lack of detail. But the occasionally coarse grain of Shaara's characterizations is a problem. Haunted by Stonewall Jackson's ghost, 56-year-old Lee frequently appears to be a semi-senile neurotic. Grant, more concerned about his supply of cigars than battle losses, comes across as a dolt. Some repetition can grind the progression of the story to a halt and differences in writing style between father and son are noticeable. Still for all its faults it is one of the best historical fiction novel series and family of writers in that genre out there.
Joles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jeff doesn't write with the same enthusiasm or storytelling ability as his father but nonetheless he writes a good book. Not the best book of the set but enjoyable regardless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago