The King of Torts

The King of Torts

by John Grisham

Paperback(Large Print)

$15.96 $16.95 Save 6% Current price is $15.96, Original price is $16.95. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The King of Torts 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 349 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read, but could have called the outcome early. Little too much of a sappy love story. Written well but the story line is pretty cookie cutter.
Mysticbooks More than 1 year ago
This book will make a great gift .It is one John Grisham's best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book so long ago that I had forgotten most of it so I decided to read it again. I thoroughly enjoyed it this time, too.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
John Grisham always does such a good job of fleshing out characters. So much so that the protagonists have their faults and the antagonists seems plausible. Here, the main character, Clay, just didn't appeal to me at all. I seemed to be rooting against him. There was no one to root for. I know every book doesn't need those things but Grisham's novels usually do. Oh well, they all can't be gems.
MM45 More than 1 year ago
The King of Torts is one of those odd sort of books were the protagonist and antagonist are really the same person. We have all heard this story, good rather innocent man gets a taste of money and power, becomes corrupt, then seeks some sort of salvation. I found the book to be good "mind candy" and I would recommend it. Though not as good as other Grisham novels it does serve the general purpose of entertainment. 3 out 5 stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first Grishman's book I have read. When I first started reading the book, The King Of Torts by John Grisham, I thought it was going to be as boring and uninteresting book as there are so many, but I was wrong. John Grishman really get into the mood of writing this book. Clay Carter a lawyer that works at the Office of the Public Defender finally finds a way to get out of the cheap job he has, where he has work for more than five years, and finally form his own firm. He gets into a lot of trouble before getting what he wants. He takes the case of a young man charged with murder, which he assumes is just another random street killing. As he explores the history of Tequila, his client, he meets Max Pace, a man who reveals a hidden truth about a drug company that has been making a bad drug called Tarvan. Max offers Clay to help him silence the victims that had being use this drug paying them five million dollars. Clay takes the risk and trust Max. Max gave Clay fifteen million dollars for helping him silence the people. Later Max gives Clay more cases and helps him get his own firm. Clay turn into a successful tort lawyer in a short period of time. Clay soon finds himself rich and famous as the ¿King of Torts.¿ Later he starts to have some problems with the FBI and some of his cases were lost. He now he finds himself bankruptcy. As you read the novel you will find so many interesting things. I really recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Successful writer John Grisham dazzles readers in his novel, The King of Torts, where he makes a moving argument about how greed is, once again, man¿s tragedy. We¿re captured in the average life of thirty two year old Clay Carter, a lawyer providing free legal counsel to impecunious defendants at the Office of the Public Defender where he has worked for a consecutive five years, and dreams of one day working in a real firm. He reluctantly takes the case of a young man charged with murder, which he assumes is just another random street killing. As explores the history of his client, however, Clay meets Max Pace, a man who reveals a hidden truth about a giant pharmaceutical company that has been testing anti-addiction medication on drug addicts. Even though the drug showed hopeful results, a small percentage of the users turned homicidal including Clay¿s client. Max offers Clay a deal: to help silence the victim¿s families with five million dollar settlements given by Max¿s employer and if the job is done successfully, Clay would receive fifteen million dollars. Tantalized by the offer of a new future, Clay agrees thinking he does not have much to lose. The job is a complete success and Clay begins his own firm. As time progresses, Pace provides new information and new cases helping Clay turn into a successful tort lawyer in a short period of time. Clay soon finds himself rich and famous as the ¿King of Torts.¿ Tort lawyers are attorneys that file large class action suits that bring massive payouts from corporations however, very little money goes to the plaintiffs but huge amounts go to the lawyers who represent them. Grisham depicts tort lawyers as vultures interested only in increasing personal fortunes as they drive corporations into bankruptcy. As you get deeper into the novel, you tumble down the spiral of greed, financial woes, and looming disaster, tempting you to read until the bitter end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was in ottawa for vacation this past week and i just happened to pass a bookstore. I was choosing books when i happened to come across this book. It was fantastic!! I couldn't put it down if my life depended on it. I read it all in the bookstore and then brought it and re-read it. The plot and the story were all very well written. John Grisham is still the king of the courts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although I never got my law degree - and had to settle for my Master of Arts in Political Science and a Masters of Science in Hotel & Food Service Management - I have been obsessed with legal thrillers! Why? The degrees I received had enough 'pre-law' type courses to whet my appetite for the legal profession. KING OF TORTS takes on the hottest topic in the United States today - the law and the unbelievable amount of 'class action suits' and money to be made - much of it for lawyers; with clients expecting their fact share! YOU - believe it or not may PERSONALLY be confronted by a class action suit - sooner than you think ! A MUST READ *****+
readingwithtea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Maybe it¿s because I¿ve read some ¿high class¿ literature now (although I¿m still hardly ¿well-read¿), but some of this novel felt shallow and predictable. It was obvious from the minute J Clay Carter II (I still can¿t believe what some parents inflict upon their children) started to make astronomical amounts of money that at some point it would all fall apart.Enthralling, fun and the right thing happens in the end.It feels like heresy to categorise John Grisham as "fluff", but really...
DocWalt10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found myself fully involved in the book. Grisham's development of the characters keeps you emotional involved. I found myself getting really mad, at the greed of Clay Carter. But also sympathetic, to how he got swept up in the emotions of the money and power it brought.
bookheaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pretty boring but it gets better at the end.
JBD1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Meh. Typical Grisham, takes about two hours to read.
polutropos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Greed kills. Another first-rate Grisham, satisfying from beginning to end.
ALincolnNut on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
John Grisham offers another legal thriller in "The King of Torts." Like several of his previous efforts, this one features a young lawyer thrust into a legal scene beyond his years and experience. Unlike previous books, the setting for this one is the big money, high-stakes arena of large class-action suits, set in the nation's capital.Overworked and underpaid DC public defender Clay Carter finds himself assigned to defend an alleged murderer who is almost assuredly guilty. In the course of investigating the background of his new client, however, Carter asks questions that a high-powered, and unnamed, pharmaceutical company hopes to bury.In this intrigue, Carter is given the means and the information to arrange a small class-action settlement, worth millions of dollars, provided he opens his own firm, specializing in such lawsuits. This he does with aplomb, spending lavishly to present himself as such a lawyer, including hiring dozens of lawyers to investigate and pursue new cases. In short order, Carter finds himself fabulously wealthy and in way over his head.Like Grisham's best work, the legal components are smart and gripping, if a tad far-fetched. Unfortunately, there is also a subplot of romantic entanglements with two women that strains credulity and feels forced. It's not good when certain relationships between Carter and his close associates seem warmer and more loving in a few sentences spread throughout the novel then the purported romances which stretch for pages.That criticism aside, the novel clearly falls under the category of "good Grisham": tightly paced, exciting, surprising at points, with an adequate conclusion.
harpua on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first Grisham book I've read. I just never envisioned myself as reading Grisham, however, when I picked up a dozen Grisham books cheap at a thrift store, I thought I might as well give one a try. This one was pulled at random from the pile so I'm not sure if I picked a good one to start with or not, but overall I was pleasantly surprised. It held my interest long enough to finish and it wasn't much of a chore to get through. Not really my style of book, but I'll be back to try more Grisham in the future.On to the story. This was a novel that got me emotionally involved unlike many.....and I'm not really sure why. I was rooting for the main character, yet hated him as well. It fascinated me to see how the class action lawyers functioned (if it really functions like this) and yet how dirty the whole process was. Grisham really spun a tale that brought to light the seedy side of law and the greed that sudden masses of money can bring. For the most part this was well plotted, yet a few threads were left hanging and the novel just seemed to wrap up too quickly and cleanly.Not too bad thought and an enjoyable read, so I'll try some Grisham again in the future.
Livana on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A solid John Grisham book. I made the mistake of reading this one and "The Street Lawyer" back-to-back, and because Grisham's books are all based on lawyer stories, I get them both confused!The story is good. The main character is not very sympathetic. I never rooted for him and was a little disappointed about the end. But overall, an enjoyable read.
MsBeautiful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Avg. legal thriller, not his best
drjhkellogg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another good one from Grisham.
es135 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Once again, John Grisham makes the normally dry/tedious genre of legal fiction into an inventive and thrilling read. I was surprised by the amount of insight given to the profession of a tort lawyer. This one will probably divide readers, the whole conspiracy can be kind of unbelievable, but I was completely entertained.
ini_ya on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not a thriller. But very interesting.
jrtanworth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The plot is rather predictable and the characters not very carefully developed. The book is worth reading however for its description of the class action tort process. I thought about it again today when a settlement was announced for the 10,000 9/11 cleanup workers possibly affected by the toxic dust and debris they came into contact with or breathed.
FolkeB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grisham completes another thrilling legal work of non-fiction with his 2003 novel, The King of Torts. Clay Carter is a defense lawyer who works for the Office of Public Defender (OPD), in Washington D.C. While his dream has always been to work for a major law firm, he is restricted to serving as criminals who cannot afford their own lawyers. He gets stuck with a seemingly routine murder trial of a black teen. However, Clay gets a mysterious phone call from a Max Pace who claims that he can easily make Clay millions of dollars. It turns out that the murderer was under the influence of a pharmaceutical drug that has been causing violent outbursts around the country. Pace claims that his company will pay Clay $10 million if he can get all the victims to settle at $5 million a piece. After this has successfully been completed, Pace gives Clay another assignment; a case worth millions of dollars based on evidence, that unknown to Clay, was stolen. This novel gives clever and creative insight to a relatively unknown branch of law: mass tort cases. Grisham cleverly weaves an intricate web of fact and fiction, that captures the readers attention and refuses to let go. Michael
KendraRenee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
well-written. this guy is good at plot, very good.
Jarratt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm anti big government, but I gotta give the Georgia Public Library system props for providing audio books online which is how I "read" this book. It'd been a while since I'd read Grisham and I enjoyed "The King of Torts." The way Grisham takes his main character, J. Clay Carter, from a desperate lawyer with DC¿s Office of Public Defenders representing crackheads and thieves to extreme success in mass tort litigation was quite good. There¿s a fine line between an attorney doing what¿s best for his clients and one who¿s pushing the envelope of what¿s right or fair based on his fees. And Clay falls right into that trap.I wasn¿t so taken with the love interest subplot as it seemed rather tacked on to add the ¿romantic¿ element to the story. But that¿s not enough of a reason to bypass this book. Read it. You¿ll enjoy it!