King Lear

King Lear

by William Shakespeare

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.60 $0.99 Save 39% Current price is $0.6, Original price is $0.99. You Save 39%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

King Lear (Barnes & Noble Shakespeare) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 84 reviews.
JohnLemon More than 1 year ago
This review is not of King Lear itself (one of my two favorite Shakespeare plays, with the other being Othello), but rather on this edition of Lear (ISBN: 9781411400795), which was edited by Andrew Hadfield and David Scott Kastan. I read a lot of heavily annotated books, and I have to say that the Barnes & Noble Shakespeare editions have one of the best book designs I've ever encountered. The various references materials (footnotes and definitions for archaic words) appear in a manner that makes the text very easy to follow. The scholarship is also top-notch. The annotations give you enough to make things clear without insulting your intelligence, or without overburdening you with unnecessary detail. The essays are also interesting and informative. I've been avoiding Shakespeare ever since high school, which was many years ago. Now that I'm reading him again, I'm glad I'm in such good hands. It is making the experience a joy, rather than a chore. My compliments to the editors and the book designer. They have done a superior job of making this difficult text accessible to the modern reader. Highly recommended.
typoo More than 1 year ago
The Barnes and Noble edition of the plays are my favorites to read. The format of the books is great. No jumping around to read the footnotes and text explanatory notes unless I want to. The play speaks for itself and has for hundreds of years. I highly recommend all the B&N editions of his plays.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Barnes & Noble Shakespeare editions are my favorites. The font and clean layout make them very readable and the notes are helpful without being distracting to the eye or burdensome to read. They are also very reasonably priced!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Barnes and Noble team did a fantastic job here. The play - one of Shakespeare's best tragedies - is well-annotated and free from the crumminess inherent to the cheap Shakespeare editions that can be found on the Nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great play, this edition has been the victiom of the google books project & so contains glaring typographical errors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the language! I loved how it all came together at the end. It was kind of suspenseful. I love Shakespeare.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The actual play Is much interesting but with the errors of the spelling it made it reaally boringgg no wonder its for free
raethompson More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite Shakespearean plays. Its challenging but a great read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
king lear is awsome -- thought i didnt read the book -- i did hear an a audio tape -- i got it cuz i was interested in it after a 'just shoot me' eposide -- its been one of my meny favertiot books sence (excuse mey spelling please)
Guest More than 1 year ago
King Lear is William Shakespeare's most magnificent and deliciously diabolical plays of ingratitude, the intoxicating promise of power and position, and the ultimate sacrifice of love. Lear's two daughters Regan and Goneril are two monstrously malevolant women of Britain who perpetuate their father's decreasing sanity, in order to maintain power in Britain. Lear's youngest daughter Cordelia, a compassionate, loyal, kind, and wonderfully woman who is a trememdous contrast to her evil sisters Goneril and Regan. Cordelia is, an angel of goodness who is a spectacular influence and characterization of what a daughter should give and mention to her father, not out of appetite but out of conscience. The line between good and evil is faultlessly drawn in this spectacular play by one of the most ingenious writers of the human condition who ever lived.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Certainly the most powerful and profound of all Shakespeare's plays. This one has to do with the ungratefulness of Lear's three daughters. Gonreil, Regan, and Cordelia whom he has divided his kingdom amongst the three of them. Except, Cordelia who has estranged herself from his love. Little does he know the two daughters whom he thinks love's him most are actually wicekdly plotting against him. I thought this had to be the most triumphant play written by Shakespeare. A glorious, and overwhelming account of selfishness, ingraitude, madness, and evil amongst a family seperated by hatred.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So I'm not exactly a Shakespeare scholar, but I still loved this tragedy. I think it's one of the best one, and it's a pity so few are put on live action show (the recent Hamlet,Henry V,Richard III,Midsummer Night's Dream, and other movies were great!). Unfortunately, some complain that it is not an official 'tragedy' because, according to A.C. Bradley, who's supposed to be some real genius, requires that Fate have little to do with any good tragedy...Yet King Lear DOES include Fate (cf. Gloucester's laments about the gods playing with human lives). So much of it that I think it's one of the main themes of the play. Unlike Bradley, I think this inevitability only INTENSES the depressing mood of the play, and to people suffering from chronic depression (like myself), the play really speaks out. Generational gaps and treatment of seniors are very relevant to our society, yet the question of Fate and the great tragedy that life can sometimes end up to be cannot be ignored in this one of Shakespeare's greatest plays. I mean, it IS a tragedy right???
dirkjohnson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm somewhat biased: Lear is my favorite play written since the time of Euripides (who wrote later than my absolute favorites Aeschylus and Sophocles).The cast and execution of the Naxos audiobook are also excellent. I would list the cast, but the combination of blurred lines between book and performance and my own laziness and busy schedule prohibit me.
BrianDewey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Shakespeare, William. King Lear. University of Virginia Electronic Text Center, 15XX. This is my favorite Shakespeare play. I don't know if I would have re-read it now if I hadn't had a copy on my iPaq and needed something to read at night without disturbing Molly and Tony on our trip to Madrid. I like Lear for its apocalyptic vision and because I think the transition from one generation to the next is an interesting topic. The paper I wrote on this play in college, which compares Edgar to the Fool, is one of my favorites.
Clif on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This play was discussed by the Great Books KC group of which I am a member. We also watched the movie "A Thousand Acres" to see another version of the plot. This story becomes more harrowing the older one becomes. It's a reminder that one's children don't always remain loyal. But then again, some parents do bad things or make unwise choices.
MrsLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For some reason I was rather set against this play at the beginning. However, it had all the elements I enjoy in a story; gruesome, depressing and yet, after act two, compelling. I couldn't put it down. It's sort of the flip-side of his comedies. Lots of misunderstanding at the beginning, betrayals by the bad guys (that's not in the comedies much), lots of people running around disguised as other people, then at the end, instead of everyone forgiving everyone after all is revealed, almost everyone dies. Not quite the happy-ever-after ending of the comedies, yet in this play it worked. I'm left with one thing unsettled though, what happened to the blind Gloucester?
rizeandshine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not one of my favorites by Shakespeare. The language, as always, is beautiful but the plot seems too thin, convoluted and unbelievable for me to really appreciate. I haven't actually seen this play on the stage. Maybe I would enjoy it more in that context.
Othemts on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite Shakespeare tragedy. The plot, language, and characterization show the dramatist at his mature best.
ThatsFresh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another great tragic tale as told my Shakespeare. Like all his plays, you're able to dig deep into this story and draw out tons of stories, themes and hidden meanings out of all its layers. An enjoyable read for any Shakespeare enthusiast.
xshyx on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Let me talk about this specific edition of the book first. I have to read this edition for my creative writing class. At first, it can be so hard to read, but once you put your heart reading it, it is an easy read. This is also because the translation of the words are on the other side of the page. Unlike the other King Lear edition where you need to go to the back of the and check what those words mean. It's also affordable. The play itself is really good - not too depressing or cheesy for me compare to Hamlet. Even though this is about a royal family, anyone can relate it directly or indirectly whether they have rivalry with their siblings or a loyal assistant or having problems with their parents.
cheme2005 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite of all of Shakespeare's works. Blood, death, and treachery. Who could ask for more!
Smiler69 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I decided to overcome longstanding feelings of inadequacy which had until now kept me away from Shakespeare's plays, which I had never studied in school and which seemed indecipherable to me. There is no particular reason why I chose to start with Lear, other than the fact that I had gotten my hands on an excellent audio version of a performance featuring John Gielgud as the king. One of Shakespeare most bleak and depressing, plays, it tells the story of how King Lear chose to divide his kingdom between his two eldest daughters because of their flattering words, disowning his most faithful daughter, Cordelia when she fails to shower him with compliments, and thereby bringing himself unending torment and sorrow. I've yet to listen to that performance, but I read the play first, and with SparkNotes helping me to decipher all the nuances of Shakespearean English, was surprised to find myself enjoying it to the point of laughter when the unremitting bleakness had one of the central characters putting it succinctly when he said: "Our present business is general woe". That's one Shakespeare quote I'm not likely to forget!
AlbertoGiuseppe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Where is the 6th star, or even up to the 101st? Most likely the best English language play ever written, with one of the most phenomenal characters ever created. Hundreds of years before neural imaging began (like, last Tuesday,) to reveal the importance of intrinsic and extrinsic networks on behavior, the different tendencies between men and women and between man and man, the pyramidical, male-dominated social structures our species has tended to create over the last 10,000 years or so, Shakespeare intuited so, so much. From the start, where nothing will come from nothing, (a pun on 'noting' or social mores which, perhaps, the Bard intended in a more comprehensive way,) to Lear's failed, heartbreaking attempt to return to and save something greater than himself, it's a devastating, crystal clear work. We should use our tongues and eyes to crack heaven's gate, but we don't. A lifetime of careful observation, a brilliant mind, and a one-in-a-billion talent for prosody concentrated into a few hours.
mais3477 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What can I say about Shakespeare. He wrote a tragedy and I lived it through this book. Though reading such complicated manner of writing was a difficult task, I did not disturb my understanding of the story line. Since it is a tragedy, I was not a surprise to me that people died at the end, but the reason for which they died made me almost cry. One of the main themes of this tragedy is the bond between a father and a his offspring: King Lear and his daughters and Gloucester and his sons. Honesty and betrayal play an important role in the plot. I was socked by the behavior of the two daughters towards their father. They were mean to his just so they can get his kingdom. Although, Lear only wanted their love. I was a good read for sure and I can't wait until I will be able to discuss it with my classmates.
jaelmore on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If I could only recommend one Shakespeare Play it would be King Lear.