The Killing Club

The Killing Club

by Marcie Walsh, Michael Malone

Hardcover

$19.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Killing Club 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader, and a speed reader, but I found that difficult in with this book. The reason was that the natural flow that most authors have was not the case in this book. I found myself having to reread sentences to understand what was being said due to poorly placed punctuation. The story and concepts were fantastic, but the writing was mediocre at best. I believe this could have been a superb book if written better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing to me. My mom is a OLTL fan and got me into it as well. I may be only 14, but I read very big mysteries. Marcie Walsh is one of my favorite characters on OLTL, so I was really excited that I got to read her book. I hope she has more books out soon. Also, please look for my books in about 4, 5 years. I'm writing as Crystal Frost. Anyways...this book was, to me, a great read. I read it in two days because I had high school. If I didn't have school, I would've been done in a day or so.
booklover3258 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was a decent story. Big fan of OLTL, book was a lot different than the murder on the soap. Surprised by who the killer was.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was walking out my local library and say this book on sale for 10 cents and bought it and loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
As I read the novel, I feel as if I am floating through a story where even the author has no idea what is going to happen next. The basic plot seems to be excellent, but somehow, somewhere, everything else faded. I havent finished the book yet, but I will, as I have a rule - always read a book to the finish. This time however, this rule is a hard one to follow. Again GREAT PLOT, but what happened?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Do you like the kind of books that keep you wanting more and you never know who¿s going to die next? The Killing Club by Marcie Walsh will keep you on your toes waiting for the next victim. This book will keep you guessing who the murder or murders are. The Killing Club is a fiction book with protagonist and antagonist characters. The major theme in The Killing Club is it is Man VS Man and a little Man VS Society. The antagonist is a detective named Jamie and the protagonist is the killer. The antagonist is trying to bring down the protagonist and put him in jail for murder. The antagonist is a simple character, like a hero because she put murders away and justice is solved. The protagonist is a more of a complex character because you can only say so much about him he is more of a mysterious character. The protagonist leaves hardly any evidence when he kills his victims so it¿s hard for the antagonist Jamie to get a lead on the case. The setting in this book is really important. If the setting was some were else it wouldn¿t really work that good as a story structure. The setting is in a small town and along a river. The setting makes the story feel real because everyone that lives there knows everyone and the people don¿t know who the killer is, but it¿s some one that they once grew up with. A couple of kids in the town made up the group called the killing club when they were in high school. Now they are older and its like 10 years later, and in the club they had a death book were they would write how they wanted to kill someone and now there are being killed like the way they planed on killing someone. Jamie has to prove at first that the killings are no accidents, that they are actually the stories from the death book. The author likes to use flashbacks to let the readers understand what is going on. When he use the flashbacks, it builds up a small story plot to explain how all the stuff happen back 10 years ago and how it relates now. The author use for shadowing to keep the reader on their feet and to emphasize something exciting is going to happen. The book is through the eyes of a 1st person character. The antagonist is telling the story through her eyes and explaining the characters. I think that this was the best way to tell the story it really kept the reader interested in whom the killer was. I think the author did a really good job writing this book The Killing Club. I like how someone in every other chapter died or something exciting happens. The author really keeps the story going, and you are surprised by the identity of the killer. I didn¿t like how there was so many little characters in the first couple chapters. This was a really good murder mystery and I give it a thumb¿s up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book because I'm a big OLTL fan, but it was not at all what I expected. I was actually very dissapointed the writer did not do the research that was needed for this type of book. I love Marcie Walsh, but after this book :(
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book, as the previous reviewer said, was very easy to read. It was fast. I finished it in about a day. The reason that I finished it so fast though, was because I couldn't put it down. This book is good for someone that doesn't have that much time to read but wants a good mystery.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What should have been a pretty good read is marred by the author's lack of research into some technical points. It is obvious the author has no knowledge of firearms. He refers to a .380 Python at one point. The .380 caliber is a semi-auto round. The Python is a .357 Magnum caliber revolver. His description of the protagonist's firearm is absurd, again mixing semi-auto and revolver features into a fictional gun that any self respecting cop wouldn't be caught dead with even if it could be produced. He also goofed up on the description of the Maglite flashlight that the protagonist uses, stating its power as 200 watts. Flashlight power is not measured in watts, but rather candle power. It would have taken the author a very short time on the internet to research police firearms and flashlights, but he is obviously too lazy to worry. He just assumes that since he is igorant of these things that everyone else must be as well. I've subtracted one star from my rating due to the author's refusal to do basic research on subjects he has little or no knowledge of.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had no expectations going into the reading of this book. I am a OLTL fan so of course I was intrigued. I found the book to be a very easy read. I found it very difficult to put down. I did guess the killer early but then while I would read futher there were enough plot twists to keep making me change my mind and jump to other conclusions, which to me is what makes a mytery novel interesting for me.