Journey to the River Sea

Journey to the River Sea

Audiobook(CD)

$0.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Journey to the River Sea 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was totally AMAZING. I had to read it for the 2011-2012 Battle of the Books list. It was so great and I loved it so much. If you are a reader of adventure and seek hints of romance and inner-connection with a legitament, exhilarating story, you're looking at it!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Journey to the River Sea is still to this day one of my favorite books. I have read several of Eva Ibbotson's books, but this one is definitely her best! The way she described the setting made me want to hop on a plane and see it for myself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Journey to the River Sea is okay. It starts off more than a little slow, but picks up at the end.
mzonderm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
At first, this looks like a fairly predictable orphaned-English-girl-gets-shipped-off-to-live-with-distant-relatives story. Predictably, the family Maia is to live with in Brazil is horrid, and only allowed her to come at all so that they could get the allowance that comes with her. Fortunately, Maia has a very sympathetic, if somewhat mysterious governess who accompanies her to Brazil and in her adventures. It isn't until Maia's been in Brazil for a while that the story begins to come out of its predictable beginnings. There's a missing boy who may or may not actually be missing, and a child actor suddenly looking at the end of his career, and possibly Maia's new family has been living on ill-gotten gains for some time.This is quite an enjoyable story, with plenty of adventure, and some intrigue mixed in for good measure. The characters are believable and the ending is quite satisfying, with the horrid family getting their comeuppance and Maia and her friends being able to live out their dreams.
labfs39 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Maia is a wealthy orphan from Victorian England who is sent to live with unknown relatives in the Amazon. Accompanying her is a stern, but book-loving governess named Miss Minton. Maia dreams of adventures and a loving family to welcome her. Unfortunately, the Carters are only after her money. But there are adventures to be had with a half Indian boy heir to an unwanted fortune in England, a child actor who longs to return home to the land of bread puddings, and a lovable natural history museum curator.I read this book to my daughter, and at first I was charmed, although there were shades of The Secret Garden hovering about the book. (Why are there so many orphans in children's literature? This book had three.) Unfortunately I didn't feel as though we learned as much about the Amazon as about the more detestable aspects of British classism. Also, I wish that Maia had been a stronger female character. Much of the time she is a pawn for others, and I wish she had shown more initiative in going after her dreams of exploration. Although there were exciting moments, it was a big of a slog to get to the end. I have not given up on the author, however, as I hear some of her other books are better.
LyzzyBee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
14 Sep 2010 - from Emma, Beth and GraceI'd been discussing this book with my friend Emma and her daughters when I saw them at the weekend. I didn't have room in my bags to take their copy home with me, so we agreed they'd post it to me. I was thrilled when a brand new copy arrived via Amazon on Tuesday! I promised to read it quickly and let them know what I thought about it, and it was no problem to promote it up the reading pile!This is a fabulous book that I feel follows in the tradition of earlier children's books like The Secret Garden or The Little Princess. Indeed, this tale of an orphan girl shipped off to a new life on the other side of the world mentions Little Lord Fauntleroy, a nice touch for the adult and younger reader.It's fabulous in two ways - a very good read and full of excitement, colour, mystery and magic. Maia is a lovely heroine and I adored her governess, Miss Minton, first met seeming very forbidding with a terrifying umbrella, but soon revealed to have a trunk full of books, and therefore to be on our side. All the requisite elements are here, from absent-minded professors to distant guardians, a fantastic landscape and a realistically described city, and an interesting family to live with. I particularly liked the way Miss Minton's fate worked out, and the way Ibbotson worked in different parts to appeal to different groups of readers, from the knockabout experiences of a couple of lawyers, to the very odd obsessions of the Carters, to the interesting and beautiful dwellers in the jungle.Any more than this would give the plot away, so I'll just exhort people to get hold of a copy and read it! It's won a Nestle Children's Book Prize and been shortlisted for the Carnegie, and rightly so - a classic for the future.
HeatherSwinford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about the adventures of an orphaned English girl who must travel an live with her terrible relatives in Brazil. The main character is very loving and trusting. The characters are all adventurous and connected with the bond of family. Each of the main characters are wanting to have the family that they have either lost or never had. The story takes us from England to Brazil, through the jungles, then back to England, and once again returning to Brazil for more adventure. The book could be used for exposure to other cultures, also could be trasitioned into many different units depending on the need for the child/classroom.
MissTeacher on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A wonderful story about finding what you never knew you were looking for. The story brings to life all different aspects of existence in the Amazon, and stages an epic battle between the two forces at work there--the 'civilized' world trying to tame and contain it, and the 'savage' world only trying to understand its beauty. Reminiscent of The Secret Garden, this is another story of a English orphan who is moved out of her element, forced into a quiet and sterile environment, who refuses not to shine. With a wonderful happy ending and the perfect amount of vengence for all wrongs done, this is a gem for both young readers and those who still feel young.
Goldengrove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyd this book. It's a good story with an engaging central character and plenty of incident. Maia has a lot to cope with: her parents have died and she must travel to the Amazon with a governess she does not know to live with distant relatives that she has never met. She is an adventurous person and approaches her new life with enthusiasm and spirit. But things do not turn out quite as she has hoped, and Maia is soon dealing with difficult people and an unexpected adventure.The story, set in 1910, reminded me rather of 'A Little Princess' with its lonely, plucky heroine, but Maia is more convincing character than Sara Crewe.The description of the Amazon and its people is vivid and real and left me with a lasting sense of the colours and sounds of the amazon.
tipsister on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked up Journey to the River Sea, by Eva Ibbotson, strictly because I needed a book written by an "I" author. Fortunately I chose wisely and thanks to the A to Z Challenge, I found a wonderful book that I probably would never have looked at otherwise.Maia is an orphan who is leaving the security of her boarding school in England to travel to the Amazon to live with distant relatives. She has images of her twin cousins becoming fast friends, and having adventures in the jungle. Once she arrives, she realizes that nothing is as it seems. Her aunt is paranoid, her uncle unaware, and her cousins are downright creepy. It is Miss Minton, Maia's nanny and teacher, who protects Maia from her awful family. Maia does find her adventure in the jungle, and with a great cast of characters, we the readers go along for the ride. Journey to the River Sea is one of those special books that is going to stay with me. I plan to share this book with many people and I really highly recommend it. If any of you are teachers, it's an excellent book to read aloud, with all the twists and turns.
madamepince on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read in ages and the first one I've read that was written by Ibbotson (I'm ashamed to say). Makes me want to read more by her. A great book for daughters.
liahna89 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Maia, an English orphan, is sent to live with her only living relatives, the Carters, currently living in Brazil outside the city of Manaus. Although the Carters are trully horrible, Maia is able to find solace, in her governess, Ms. Minton, who helps her to discover the beauty of the jungle. Maia makes friends in town including Clovis, a child actor in a company that has come to Manaus, and Finn, a half British, half Indian boy who lives on his own in the jungle. With them Maia discovers her passions and goes on the adventure of a lifetime. Reminicant of turn of the century children's books like The Secret Garden or Little Women, Journey to the River Sea can at times be overly sentimental, but the earnestness of the main charachter makes the story a timeless favourite. Maia is a wonderful argument for letting children live "big lives". I read this story years ago and it continues to stay with me and influence how I treat my students and other children in my life. I would definitly recomend this to any young girl with a hearty imagination and a thirst for adventure
heidijane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A wonderful little book. I would have loved this as a child. If i had a daughter, i'd want her to read this book. My only quibble is that the girl in the story, Maia, is too perfect - clever, good, unspoilt etc. But then, as she's the heroine, i can forgive her...
drruth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An exciting story of a young woman who goes to the Amazon River to be raised by unscrupulous relatives who resist seeing the beauty of the world around them and lock themselves away from the savage jungle and its people who she longs to meet. A secondary story includes another orphan who refuses to be found and has become part of the jungle that he loves, refusing to return to England and proper society despite the great wealth that awaits him. The story revolves around these two young people finding solutions to their related dilemmas with the aid of sympathetic adults and yet one more orphan... Very well told and enjoyable and explores an entirely new setting for the time period.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a well written, funny and a tad bit educational. I like how the characters are very, obviously, thought of thouroughly, and have unique personalities, just like in real life. Speaking of which, the overall realism is a very high percentage. I have not completed the book, but only on chapter 5, and even then, it is very high in quality, and meets very high expectaions. I am working on it in a novel, for obvious reasons, and am glad that i chose it for my group. Highly recomended, worth reading, even only to chapter 5, book. Must read. If you see this book on the shelves of your local book store, snatch it before anybody else can get at it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is so great that it has become one of my best reads. it's a bit boring in the beginning, but if u read it further, u begin to like it. Maia's character has been so beautifully made that u can't stop yourself from being fond of her. u must must read it......
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first began reading this book I thought it was horrible. I didn't like it at all and I really didn't want to read it but as we kept on reading I started to like it. I guess that I just hated the beginning of the book and loved it towards the end. The beginning seemed dull to me so when your reading this book and you think the beginning is dull don't stop reading it because it does get very interesting towards the end of the story. Many events happen more towards the end. Many exciting events happen and make you more interested in finding out what happens to the characters in the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Journey to the River Sea was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was exciting and fun. This book is not any old predictable book where you can automatically guess what is going to happen. If you read this book ,i can assure you that you will not be dissapointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book a lot. It was interesting and exicting. Eva Ibbotson is one of my favorite authors. She really knows how to pull you into her books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The setting for Journey To The River Sea by Eva Ibbotson mostly takes place in the Amazon. Once you get into the book it is very hard to put it down. The book has suspense and drama. Maia is an orphan living in and going to the best school in London. Suddenly she learns that she is going to have to stay with her unknown relatives, the Carters, in the Amazon. She thinks that her cousins will like her and every thing will be fun. On her journey to the Amazon, she meets her governess and they become friends. She also meets a young actor named Clovis. When she gets to her new house, it is anything but fun. She is not allowed to go outside and play. Her two cousins, Beatrice and Gwendolyn, are mean to her because they have never lived with anyone before. After she gets settled in, she finds that the Indians are not bad and they will not do anything to her. An Indian boy brings her out to a lagoon where she meets a young boy named Finn. He explains that he needs her to help him get away. His grandfather has sent two people to bring him back so he can inherit Westwood, when his grandfather dies. Both his uncle and father would have been the next in line to inherit Westwood, but they both have died. Maia, Finn and Clovis come up with a plan to have Clovis and Finn switch places. The story continues with them carrying out their plan. After you get done with the first few chapters of the book you will be drawn into the story. It¿s an easy book to read and to understand. I recommend this book for intermediate school-age children and some high school teens.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of my very favorite books. It does NOT start off slow. Ibbotsen describes things wonderfully. If I could, I'd give it 10 stars.