Journey Through Heartsongs

Journey Through Heartsongs

Hardcover(1ST)

$12.48 $14.95 Save 17% Current price is $12.48, Original price is $14.95. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Journey through Heartsongs 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
annedria on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Journey through Heartsongs is a book full of poems by a boy named Mattie J.T. Stepanek who had a rare form of muscular dystrophy. Mattie wrote poems about life and death, love and loss, faith and hope, and innocence and joy. He struggled with his rare form of muscular disease and used his struggles to write movingly and courageously poems. Here is one of his poems. Every journey beginsWith but a small step.And every day is a chanceFor a new, small stepIn the right direction.Just follow your Heartsong. by Mattie Stepanek This book of poems is very sad. Some of the poems deal with death and angels and I am not sure if it would be a good book for the classroom because it is very sad. I am amazed at his poems and his wisdom that has touched so many people¿s lives including mine. Mattie was a peacemaker and wanted his poems to spread out all over the world to touch the hearts of people to bring peace. Mattie passed away in 2004 at the age of 13. If you have not read his poetry book I would say go out and buy it because it is very touching.If I was to use this book in the classroom I would pick the poems to read aloud such as the one Titled "A Handful of Mattie" which is a picture of Mattie¿s hand with written words that describe himself them put into a poem. This would be a fun activity to do with a group of students. One of my favorite poems Mattie wrote when he was ten is "Believing for the Journey"Every day,Everyone in the worldShould do at least One thing nice for others.Doing so can help each personBelieve in himself or herselfMore fully, and Give confidence that may Inspire each personTo do more andMore new and good thingsFor the self,For others, andFor the world.These poistive attitudesAnd actionsCan be the first of many stepsTowards the journeyFor world peace.And world peace,Harmony, and Confidence are essential For our futre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mattie is an inspiration for us all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mattie passed away today so this is a tribute instead of a review. The eloquence and spirit of this young man was astounding. I could not listen to him read or read his words without tears. My tears then were tears of hope and respect. Tonight they are tears of grief.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw Mattie on Oprah, am inspired by his poetry, his vision at such a young age. I'm buying his book for my daughter who does research in muscular dystophry. I think she is truly one of Mattie's angels.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must admit I first heard of Mattie on Oprah (a show I watch regularly, but has it's own stigma attatched). I fell in love the moment I saw him. How can a boy so young know so much about the world around him? If there is a god, Mattie was sent here by him for a reason. Wonderful read, and surprisingly beautiful poetry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I not only read Mattie's books, but was there through the birth and death of his siblngs and witnessed the bravery of their mother, Jeni. I am so proud to have known this little family and how they have grown into one of God's miracles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
im buying all of his books for my sons one is 7yrs and the other is 10yrs i seen mattie on cable and i herd him reading his work and i said to my self my kids need his books he makes you cry but a joyful cry i just hope my kids will love his stuff just as much as i do keep them coming mattie a big fan :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
You would not expect such wisdom from one so young in years, but this book will bring joy into the lives of both children and adults alike. I highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mattie writes with complete understanding of the thoughts and feelings of someone much older. His story is an inspiration to all who've heard it. Highly recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this seems like the other people like the book so im going to buy it! p.s. I LOVE ROBURHOE
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mattie is a gifted and special child who sees and writes about the world in a way that you can't help but appreciate and want to adopt. Sad but pure and makes you smile and cry. The softcover edition is better for younger children. The hardcover deals with death and other harder topics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got my copy of this book and it's very pleasing to the heartstrings. My children even found it to be incredible. God Bless little Mattie and may he continue to write for many years. His words of wisdom are brave, caring and loving!
Guest More than 1 year ago
11 year old 'Mattie' is a special gift from God. He describes himself as a poet and peacemaker. His poetry explores his feelings and insights about love, life, death, earth, and heaven. Mattie's life experiences have made him wise beyond his years. His poetry makes you laugh and makes you cry. Above all, you can't forget 'Mattie'or his poetry or his philosophy of life... be grateful and always remember to give thanks.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This author's wisdom is far beyond his years. What a gifted soul. Thank you, Mattie, for sharing your poetry with us. I wish you longevity and great happiness, and I look forward to reading more 'heartsongs' in the years to come.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This piece has inspired me to look inside myself and try and find my heartsong. Matty's words have touched me in a way that even Id on't understand. Matty you are a blessing to this world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book inspired me. Mattie is an inspiration to us all. He is a gift from God. When you read this book you will sigh.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Words cannot begin to express the way this young man has changed my heart, and the way I view my life. Before I read Mattie's amazing book, I was so unhappy with the way my life has been, I was so focused on getting the material things out of life that I had always dreamed of having, that I totally forgotten the most important thing I needed; My family. Mattie's unselfishness and genuine love of his mother, God, and people has made me open my eyes and realize that success and material things have no meaning if you have no one that you love to share it with. Thank you Mattie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Thank you Mattie, I love your insight and your brave guidance and leadership for us all. My kids love it too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I felt as though I had found a treasure when I found this book, out of place, at the grocery store. Mattie is certainly a young man of talent and shares his heartsongs so clearly with us.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mattie,very much his mothers child, is the love that beams from her eyes... Mattie is a writer who explains life in colors.Thank you both for letting us learn how much a mother and child LOVE their lifes and GOD...
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book made my heart feel good. A beautiful little boy with my dreams mans heart. Wonderful
Guest More than 1 year ago
One can't help but to be moved and touched by this book. A great gift for others and yourself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read out loud all the poems to my Assistant and was amazed at the insight and acceptance this young man shows of his condition. It is truly a humbling experience to realize the adversity that he must live with and how he exalts in it. God bless you Mattie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a job he did on the Oprah show! He had the whole audience and Oprah laughing and crying all at once! She was correct when she said everyone should read this book! This is the most amazing boy you will ever know! You must buy this book! I promise the poetry he writes will warm your soul just as he intends it to!