The Journey (Guardians of Ga'Hoole Series #2)

The Journey (Guardians of Ga'Hoole Series #2)

by Kathryn Lasky

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Media Tie)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Journey (Guardians of Ga'Hoole Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 308 reviews.
nook23AD More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a pretty good book. I read the first one and I had to continue. This book is when Soren, Gylfie, Twilight and Digger journey to the Great Ga'Hoole Tree (the journey there is quite remarkable). They also get picked for certain chaws at the Tree, and at the end of the book Eglantine gets found and Ezlyrb goes missing. The third book, "The Rescue", is supposed to be about finding Ezlyrb and rescuing him.
book4children More than 1 year ago
This is a really fun series. So far, I have been very impressed. It is original, unique, and completely different from anything else out there right now. I can see why it is a best selling series. The Journey did not have as much action or bloodshed as book #1, The Capture, but it did not take away from the story at all. There was a lot of mystery and intrigue going on as the owls try to piece together bits of information. They spend some time traveling, and learn some valuable things along the way. Then they reach the Great Ga'Hoole Tree and are welcomed with open wings. The four owls fit into life there easily as they learn more about how to be honest, courageous, and brave. There was something very Harry Potter-esque about that part of the book (and I mean that in a good way). Lasky has a knack for coming up with entertaining words and names for things that would matter to an owl. Who knew there was so much involved in flying? We finally learn what the mysterious "flecks" are from the first book, and we discover the fate of Soren's younger sister, Eglantine. There are new owls to love and new ones to be irritated with. Not many new enemies are made in this book, but plenty of owls loaded with character come into the picture. The Cover: I love the cover. It shows this book for exactly what it is, an adventure told from the viewpoint of an owl. The illustrated cover also lends itself to appealing to young readers. I was happy to see Soren on the cover this time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can read this book over and over again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OH wait didI say can? I mean I do read this book over and over again. I just love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWSOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bluewolf777 More than 1 year ago
After 'Guardians of Ga'Hoole: The Capture', I felt in anticipation this book may be disappointing. My anxiety on this subject died away when I began reading 'The Journey'. One of the best things about the book was the characters. They were much the same as I had left them in the first book, and then the characters of the owls began to grow. Not only were they distinctive by their personalities, but Kathryn Lasky let the difference in the characters clash humorously. I laughed while reading. Disappointingly, I could not find a lesson embedded within. All in all, it was an enjoyable book with near equal ups and downs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am so happy Soren found his sister Elegantine. Keep reading the whole series! I am on the third book and I love the books I've read. Know I want to read all the books the author has wrote!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, great series!! =)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just got done reading the first book and it's incredible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book sounds facinating. Intracite and delightful. Little owl, big words
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stars plus 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000009999999999999999999999999999999 stars loved every part of it but my preferd auther is Rick Rioridan best auther alive next Suzane Collins last Every body loves the diary of the kid series Jeff Kinney
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it!!!!!!
Jody Schorr More than 1 year ago
best seires ever!if you like this READ WARRIORS!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!do you?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yep, this is a 5 star book I recommend to read. Once you pick up the book, you can not put it down until you have read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is so great I read the first one and when I finished i bought the seccond one and read it in 2 days. I can wait for the third one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gur it gliched today and it will open but the pages are blank HELP : (
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I disagree with anyone who doesn't like this book. The movie is horrible, though. The book is awesome. I wouldn't recomennd the next few books if you disliked the discription of what happened to Grimble in THE CAPTURE. There will be more fightig.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to youtube and look up take to the sky it is all about the book series and the song is on the dvd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome! Saving Ezlryb, and figuring out that Kludd was Metal Beak. I always thought that Kludd was the bad guy, but to have actual proof that he was... woah! I can't wait to read "The Siege". I bet that it will be even better than "The Journey". Well, so long for now. I'll be getting back to you after I read "The Siege". Bye! -Allison age 11
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am ten and I love these books,but my mom saw they were for young adults.She is most likely right.
Anonymous 5 months ago
looking for a recent, active wolf/dog rp? if so come on over to aspen result 2!(book name is 'aspen pulp' for those who dont know how the res thing works). all ranks are open except alpha. i just posyed the map and rules at the fourth result(i believe book name is 'christmas at aspen creek' but im not positive). please help me spread the word at all of erin hunters books and at all the guardians of gahoole books. if you have any questions or concerns you can reply to me at aspen res 2! peace!~your loyal alpha Aspen
aethercowboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Journey, by Kathryn Lasky, is the second book in her children¿s series about owls. In this book, the protagonist, Soren, and his three close friends, all owls, travel to the legendary Great Ga¿Hoole Tree, which, as far as those they pass along the way, is merely the stuff of legends.This book is very much like its predecessor, which is to say, the plot is somewhat interesting, but the narrative does not do it justice. However, due to the law of diminishing returns, a lot of the same stuff isn¿t always good, even if it is ¿comfortable.¿In this book, it seemed Lasky got more annoying the the Owl Vocabulary Lessons, in which an unusual word is introduced, because that¿s just the word owls use for that sort of thing, and from then on out, it¿s used in every other sentence, or at least, it seems that way. It does get annoying.In addition, the character Twilight¿s chants/songs are really annoying, too.In the end, this book was nothing spectacular, and probably wouldn¿t be of great interest to a reader whose tastes include more recognized children¿s fantasy authors. In the end, if you¿re looking for something you could zip through in about a day (or a week, if you pace yourself), then this book may be good. Otherwise, read something a bit better.
The_Hibernator on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a cute story about some young owls learning be adventurers and to save the owl world. Although I laughed when I read the previous review (below) saying that this is the Harry Potter of owls, I actually agreed after I read the book. Although there are most certainly some very original concepts in this book, the types of issues they deal with in their owl school are very similar to those in Harry Potter. On the other hand, it is a juvenile book, and therefore tends to cover the types of issues familiar to a child.I prefer books that are for a slightly older audience...although the world Lasky invents is quite cute and original, she does tend to be a little too educational at times. I recommend this book to 3rd or 4th graders, and people who love simple (unsophisticated) children's books. I definitely plan on reading more of this series.
Dranea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The journey of Soren and his band of friends continues in The Journey. (kinda fitting, don't you think?) But things just never seem to be going as well for Soren as he would like. His family is still missing, he knows his brother tried to kill him, he knows he will never see his sister again, and he gets stuck with a creepy instructor. Yea...the great Hoole empire is not quite what Soren was hoping for. Excitement! Adventure! Rescues! That is what this place is all about, isn't it? All the stories talk about the daring rescues, the heroic battles, and the innocence protected - not once did they mention studying and annoying female brown-nosing owls! Soren and his friends must learn what it takes to be a real hero before they can ever try to be one. This is a great continuation of the Ga'Hoole story. I know I am WAY too old to be reading these books, but after I saw the movie, I just HAD to read them. And, as in almost any situation, the book(s) prove far superior to the movie - even if I still love the movie! The detail and depth these books can provide can never been shown on screen, unless this was done in a VERY long series. The personalities of our favorite owls are becoming more and more pronounced the further into this we go. The Others are still the creepy figure I think we have all come to recognize, and this "other threat that is worse than St. Aggies" is becoming more sinister. OOHHH boy! Things are heating up, and it's not just because of the forest fires! We get to meet more owls this time through; however, none of these are in the book long enough (besides the teachers and Madam Plonk) for us to really get to know them greatly. I'm sure in the next few books, I will love them as much as I adore Gylfie.I really like how the author did not feel the need to rush these books. As a younger YA series, authors tend to try to hurry things up for fear the children will lose interest. Because she did not do this, these books can be enjoyed by anyone. They are very quick, light and easy reads for the adults (albeit very enjoyable reads), and I intend to continue to read them all until I finish the series. I am hooked - I admit it! I'm secure enough in myself to fully announce to the world, I am a Ga'Hoole-aholic....and I will get my fix until there is no more. Now, the journey must continue....
TiffanyHickox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The second installment in the Gaurdian of Ga'Hoole series was every bit as good, if not better, than the first. The author is very imaginative, and while the book is appropriate for juvenile readers, it is one that will appeal to any reader of fantasy and fan of alternate realities/societies.The story is beginning to develop in depth and complexity as the characters in the book begin to take on their own depth as well. It is evident that the books to come will be filled with excitement and adventure.