Johnny Cash: The Life

Johnny Cash: The Life

by Robert Hilburn

Paperback

$6.98 $20.00 Save 65% Current price is $6.98, Original price is $20. You Save 65%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Johnny Cash: The Life 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fast paced and highly informative look at Johnny Cash. We see him at his very best as well as during his most flawed and selfish moments. We see him at the peak of his powers as an artist as well as at during his most vulnerable and insecure moments. Often a living contradiction, there are periods in his life that he was lost and even unlikeable, yet through it all, he was real and lived life on his terms. While never losing sight or faith in God, this book shows many points where he was clearly lost in the wilderness. In the end, through all of his loss and pain, there is both artistisic and spiritual redemption.
chandelle More than 1 year ago
There are lots of biographies of Johnny Cash and each adds its insights. This one is filled with entertaining detail and reads very smoothly. The background information on his early career and relationships really pulled me in. If you are not a Cash fan, this may not be worth your time, but if you are you will absolutely enjoy reading this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very long and involved, and that is not a bad thing. Cash's life was long and complex as well. The author does a great job of documenting the many phases of Cash's life and career and offers a fair account of the dichotomy of Johnny Cash. This was a very well-done biography of a gifted and fragile human being.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like Cash, honest and to the point. Not a highlight reel type of thing like the movie Walk the Line was. The movie did show plenty of problems, but was glossed over compared to this. So much has already been written about this guy I would have thought not much more was going to be new. There is SO much detail here. In addition, his career touched so many others. There are tid bits about Dylan, Roseanne, Kristoferson, Marty Stuart, little things that just add to the overall story. Makes a great bio!!
PenName69 More than 1 year ago
Great Book, the good and the bad, lots of pages, 5 star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought this for my husband for Christmas and he hasn't put it down! He absolutely loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent I highly recommend from what I've read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thescorpion More than 1 year ago
Great book, show the good and the bad of Cash,would highly recommend for anyone that likes biography's . If you are looking for just the goo in this man, then don't read it, but if you are looking for a balanced review of his life and talents, this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have not read this biography yet. Still separating pages that were never separated from each other when published.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi it is ashley payton in i love him so much in i wii diey whit him