Imago

Imago

by Octavia E. Butler

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Imago 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IMAGO is a decent finish to a worthwhile series. My only criticsm is the rather hurried and somewhat contrived resolution of the story line -- it seemed that Butler wanted to end the novel quickly during the final several chapters. Nevertheless, IMAGO is a very good read and almost as good as DAWN and ADULTHOOD RITES, both of which were superb. ------- Leonard
ragwaine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the last in the trilogy and I have to say I'm a bit disappointed it didn't have a more 'definite' ending. I was really hoping for a epilogue, a kind of and then they left earth and sailed off into the wild blue yonder but instead it ended as if there could be another book written very similar to this one (and the 2nd book).It is kind of strange that she picked new characters as main characters for this book and then just had some cameos of the old characters. It makes it seem much like a classic trilogy and more like a couple stories set in the same world.Another strange thing about this is that she didn't ever explain again how the very complicated family structures work or how the aliens actually look. I read the first book more than a year ago so I couldn't really remember much of it.Writing was great, very readable like Stephen King but way more interesting and less gimmicky. Only one more Butler book to read and I will have read her entire catalog. Have to say I don't regret it.
stubbyfingers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Octavia E. Butler is an amazing writer. It doesn't matter whether or not I like the story she has written, when I'm reading it I'm not reading a book, I'm there in her world, totally transported. Imago is no exception. This is the third and final book in the Xenogenesis series (a.k.a. Lilith's Brood). There are a lot of very complicated relationships in this which are explained fully in previous books. I have to admit that I got a bit bogged down in them as they were re-explained at the beginning of this one. This is told from the perspective of Lilith's youngest offspring who is now 29 years old. Lilith, a human, gave birth to it, but she is only one of its five parents (note the previously mentioned complicated relationships). What was great about this story was the way it took things that humans do that you and I would find perfectly understandable and then took a step back to look at them from an alien perspective. Suddenly these rational human reactions seem completely irrational. After seeing through alien eyes for a while I came to totally agree with the alien perspective. It wasn't until several hours after I finished the book that I realized that if I were put in the position of these humans, I would probably have acted similarly--I would be a "resister" too! Totally awesome writing with a very imaginative story. My biggest complaint about this book is that it's too short!
clong on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Imago is a thought provoking and intriguing conclusion to the Xenogenesis trilogy, but I found the series less compelling as it progressed from book to book. The characters here are generally simpler and less sympathetic than Lilith was in Dawn. In part this may reflect the fact that several (including the protagonists in the second and third books) are a part-human, part-alien constructs struggling to find their identity. I struggled a bit with some of the human alien sexual content, not so much because it was weird, but because it just didn't ring true for me. And at some point the unrelenting violence and rapacity of the survivors of man became kind of boring. Still, the trilogy as a whole is well worth your time.
jshillingford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jodahs, child of Lilith, who was thought to be a male is actually maturing into the first ooloi from a human/Oankali union. Jodahs finds a pair of human resisters who prove that some pure humans are still fertile. These humans may be his only hope to find successful mates, but they have been raised to revile and despise his species above all else. Fantastic conclusion to the trilogy!
heidilove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a satisfying conclusion. i read these out of order, but the story still hung together well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago