ISBN-10:
0385722109
ISBN-13:
2900385722109
Pub. Date:
01/15/2002
Publisher:
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Hotel World / Edition 1

Hotel World / Edition 1

by Ali Smith
Current price is , Original price is $14.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hotel World 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Struggles within classes in society and people of different social classes coming together at one hotel -Hotel World. Broken into 5 chapters representing 5 point-of-views for 5 different people. The homeless girl and the depressed/ mentally challenged girl's POV's are somewhat difficult to understand, but the point comes across either way. A good book with some unneccessary details.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I work in the publishing industry and consider myself an avid reader, but I just didn't get this book. I couldn't even finish the book, I thought it was so terrible. It was extremely choppy, vague and nearly impossible to follow, not to mention a bit boring. It lacked interesting action.
NativeRoses on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ali Smith delves into the psyches of a teenage ghost, homeless woman, young front desk worker, and guests connected to a hotel. The prose is disturbing and also very funny, sometimes at the same time. Jim Crace blurbed the book: "Courageous and startling. I doubt that I shall read a tougher or more affecting novel this year." i'd agree if i hadn't just read Jhumpa Lahiri's Unaccustomed Earth, but Hotel World is still wonderful and i recommend it highly.
sunfi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Finished this one, it was a little tough for me to read especially those sections without any punctuation. I can't say I would really recommend it to someone who prefers a more traditional literary format.
melydia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is distilled insanity. It's told from the more or less stream-of-consciousness points of view of five women whose lives intersect in a certain hotel: a dead teenager trying to remember her past, her sister working through her grief, a self-absorbed journalist, a bed-ridden invalid, and a barely coherent homeless woman. I wish I could explain the plot, but there really isn't one - just snapshots of life that happen to overlap a bit. That said, it was kind of a fun read in places. The ghost's manic descriptions were fun, the journalist's ignorance was amusing, and some of the writing style was novel. Plus, it was short enough that I never felt overtaxed by any one character - save the sister, whose entire chapter contained no punctuation. That was exhausting to read.
melibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
+ Well-written, interesting voices & prose.- Sometimes the artsy prose was too much, I wish there was a "wow" moment when you find out everybody is connected (instead, the knowledge trickles out throughout the book.)
HippieLunatic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was pulled in by the different styles of voice, but I was left a bit unsatisfied by not having a moment of clarity at the end of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
You have to be able to follow a nonlinear story to appreciate the beauty and depth of this incredible book. Ali Smith has written a book that is profound in its humanity. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a selection for a book club that I was involved in , and it was the only book that all of us agreed was a terrible read. After reading the synopsis of this book I was thrilled to start it, and that was the last time I had a pleasant thought about it. There are far too many outstanding, recommended, ok and even disappointing books out there to waste your time on this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Though certainly not for everyone, Hotel World is a moving tribute to the complexities of life and death and the stages in between. It isn't a Cinderella story, and is a bit morbid. But if you allow yourself to be pulled in by Ali Smith's effective style of writing, you will certainly be blown away by her stunningly accurate portrayal of women from completely different walks of life and points of view. Very highly recommended, although you may want to read the first page or two to see if Smith's way of writing attracts or repels you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can only describe Ms. Smith's writing style as fresh. The reader feels as lost as the main character, through voice changes and whole sections of the book lacking any punctuation at all. Ultimately satisfying however, as most, but not all, questions are answered on the last page of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey sorry ..i been gone am bussywith school n shyt but goodnite
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U stupid mofo..u got lo ked am go to 20res two
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Duhh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amm...ill meet u at ur casa...kk? U got locked
Guest More than 1 year ago
.....but I hated this book so much that I literally through it in the garbage 1/4 of the way through. The writing is choppy and completely non-descript. The 'plot' is just monotonous.