Horton Hears a Who! (1 Cassette with Book)

Horton Hears a Who! (1 Cassette with Book)

Audio Other(Other - Book & 1 Cassette)

$14.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Horton hears a Who 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son first saw the Movie and I wasn't sure if he would enjoy the book as much. He will be three years old soon and LOVES this book! It's one of his favorites and he asks us to read it over and over.
Fox_in_the_Woods More than 1 year ago
"Horton Hears a Who" is a classic with which most of us are familiar but is worth a second-read, a third-read, and a first-read to a new generation. The story challenges us to defend the weak, not merely when it is convenient, but at real personal cost to ourselves.
Jordan_Hal More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome Book to have in one's own library. Everyone should own Seuss works, along with Ohio Blue Tips by Jeanne E. Clark, The Photos In The Closet by Daniel E. Lopez, and works by Alison Townsend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book to read to my 3 year old daughter. It quickly became THE book we have to read every night before she goes to bed. She loves the rhymes, and enjoys trying to read the pages out loud with me.
flamingoFL More than 1 year ago
the book overall puts children into this storybook. meaning of the DR. who created a wonderful book and has the meaning of a person's a person know matter how small. i rate this book highly, please buy or read to others than yourself.
catz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book because it shows friendship and it's just very short and sweet. Horton shows just how a good friend should act and to never give up with what you believe in.
micheaun on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favorite as a child and my brothers favorite too!
enagreen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My first exposure to this book was when my first grade teacher read it aloud to my class. I still remember the story from then and the discussion that followed. I think this is an ideal book for a read aloud because it is fun and goofy, told in a sing-song poem form, but there are also many themes that can be discussed, including such as not giving up, standing up for defenseless people, everyone is important, etc.
LainaBourgeois on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Horton the Elephant struggles to protect a microscopic community from his neighbors who refuse to believe it exists. This book could help teach children the importance of life and how special it is for everyone, no matter how small.
quaintlittlehead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This modern-day parable lends itself to a variety of political interpretations, not all of which are truly present in the story without reading in one's own motives. Though the refrain of "a person's a person, no matter how small" has been triumphed by the pro-life movement, the book itself deals far more with the ugliness of prejudice against things you don't believe in, the depths to which people will go to attack something by which they are threatened, and the importance of even the lowliest "shirker" choosing to stand up and make his own voice heard in the fight. Whatever your ideological takeaway, however, this remains absolutely one of the most significant messages Dr. Seuss ever put to paper, and is perhaps even one of the best in all of children's literature. Horton never stoops to his attackers' level, even when the Wickersham Brothers are literally mauling him; he appeals always to reason and to the best of humanity in those who disagree with him. They are few other stories in which the dignity of life is so profoundly presented.
esproull on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Horton the elephant has a very keen sense of hearing, and one day he hears a voice coming from a tiny speck of dust. A tiny person was living on this tiny speck and asked Horton for help in fear that they might fall in the water, so Horton places the dust speck onto a clover. It wasn't long before everyone was making fun of Horton and calling him crazy for speaking to a speck of dust. No one believed that the Who's resided on the dust speck no matter how hard he tried to convince them, and the fact that no one else's ears could hear the Who's didn't help either. One day birds snatch the clover and run off, taking with it the speck of dust and all the Who's. The birds drop the clover into a field of a million more, and Horton searches for hours and hours before finding the Who's. Everyone still thinks that Horton has lost his mind for talking to this dust speck until he gets a brilliant idea. He tells the mayor of Whoville to have every single Who holler, scream, and make as much noise as they possibly can. Their voices are finally heard by Horton's friends and everyone sees that he isn't crazy after all.
JoseDelAguila on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Horton, the lovable elephant, tries to protect tiny creatures on a speck of dust. An easy reader with delightful verse and pictures.
skeeterbo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was weird. I liked Horton and I liked the little midgets. I liked when the little boy yelled like a lion.
PigOfHappiness on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"A person's a person no matter how small." A classic Seuss tale about accepting and defending each other. Horton is beloved character that is ideal for carrying Seuss' powerful message. Appropriate for all ages.
EllieGiles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another of Dr. Seuss' marvelous children's books!
crystalr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love all of Dr.Seuss books but this one is one of my favorite because it speaks about friendship and how no matter that no one saw the whos he was going tohelp them and be there for them no matter what!
conuly on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think we all know by now "A person's a person, no matter how small!"Horton, the hero, runs around trying to save the little whos while everybody else, of course, derides him and even tries to harm the clover for no reason other than that they don't understand.There is a happy ending, and most children old enough to sit through it will enjoy it. As an adult, though, one thing keeps running through my mind, and that's the fact that the whos were in no danger at all UNTIL Horton decided to "save" them! I keep this thought to myself when reading to the nieces, though. I'm not sure they'd appreciate it :)
shawnd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed. The storyline should have led to a better book. The color palette is limited, maybe because this was done in the 1950's. Every page is basically a large overwhelming elephant and a tiny speck (that's an exaggeration). Very little else going on in the book. And the fact that the speck-people can't make themselves known without getting the last slacker to help is un-American/un-Zen: I wan't my children to believe that if they want to achieve they can do it and not be held down by someone who chooses to not participate. Best not to try and get the non-participater to join...let them have freedom of choice to not join. Live and let live is what I say but the book provides an artificial situation that is rarely found in our country.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
“A Person’s a Person No Matter How Small.” Dr. Seuss released many wonderful books in his long career, but there are a few that are more well-known than the rest. One of those is Horton Hears a Who! Rereading it recently, it is easy to see why. This is actually the second book Dr. Seuss wrote to feature the elephant Horton. This time around, Horton’s sitting in a pool when he hears a noise coming from a speck of dust blowing by. It’s a cry for help, so he plucks it out of the air and puts it on a clover to protect it. However, the other animals around Horton think that he is hearing things. Rather than leave him alone, they decide to destroy the clover and the speck of dust on it. Will Horton be able to prove that there are living people who deserve to be protected on that speck? My brother and I both loved this book as a kid, and I remembered a lot of it when I went to reread it. It’s easy to root for Horton, especially since we know he is right early on in the book. Even knowing what is happening, I got caught up in the suspense of Horton proving it when I reread it as an adult, and I remember feeling that way as a kid as well. This is a good story, and it holds up well years after it was first written. The book is illustrated in Seuss’s classic cartoony style. There is nothing like his art work, and you’ll delight in it again here. While the illustrations usually only have a few colors and are even black and white at times, the detail is always fun. But what struck me most on this reread is the messages in the book. The book shows how important it is to stand up for what you believe is true, even if everyone else around you disagrees with you. It places value on human life. And it shows how destructive bullies can be. The best part is, the book does all of this without preaching to us once. Instead, these morals are all an outflow of the story. I’m sure I picked up on them as a kid, but the power of them really hit me as an adult. The story is told in classic Seuss rhyme. A few times, the rhythm doesn’t seem to work, but I don’t remember noticing that before. Maybe I just needed to read it aloud. This isn’t one of Seuss’s easy readers since some of his imaginative words show up here. While they certainly add to the fun of the story, they would be hard for the easiest readers to sound out correctly. Horton Hears a Who! really is a classic picture book. Pick it up for the kid in your life today and enjoy a great tale well told.
maryob More than 1 year ago
Used it with my High School Confirmation Students. They loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In  Horton Hears a Who by Dr Seuss (A famous poet writer) tells a story about an elephant named Horton that finds a world living on a speck of dust. “I say!” murmured Horton. “I’ve never heard tell of a small speck of dust that is able to yell” . And Horton decides he will protect this speck of dust, this world he is holding in his hands. But because no one can hear the noise coming this speck of dust no one believes him.“I think you’re a fool!” laughed the sour kangaroo and the young kangaroo in her pouch said, “Me, too! You’re the biggest blame fool in the Jungle of Nool!” .. So Horton goes on adventure with no one but the speck and with everyone being mean, being rude “Through the high jungle tree tops, the news quickly spread: “He talks to a dust speck! He’s out of his head! Just look at him walk with that speck on that flower!” He carries on and saves the town called Who-Valle. Horton proves in this book that you should be kind, you should not say word that would bring others down and that is why this book shows kindness. .......Both books show kindness and thoughtfulness, like in Horton Hears a Who “Through the high jungle tree tops, the news quickly spread: “He talks to a dust speck! He’s out of his head! Just look at him walk with that speck on that flower!” And Horton walked, worrying, almost an hour. “Should I put this speck down?...” Horton thought with alarm. “If I do, these small persons may come to great harm. I can’t put it down. And I won’t! After all a person’s a person. No matter how small.”  he later goes on and says... “Find THAT!” sneered the bird. “But I think you will fail.” And he left with a flip of his blackbottomed tail. “I’ll find it!” cried Horton. “I’ll find it or bust! I SHALL find my friends on my small speck of dust!” And clover, by clover, by clover with care he picked up and searched them, and called, “Are you there?”. Horton did not sneere back at the bird but instead was nice, was caring. In The Lion and The Mouse the lion was as so nice to leave the mouse and instead of being killed the mouse save his life"Don't move, Your Majesty, I'll cut your ropes and you will soon be free" squeaked the mouse. Without wasting a second, he began nibbling through the ropes with his sharp little teeth. Very soon the lion was free."I did not believe that even you could help me. But I was wrong" said the lion humbly. And the two creatures became the best of friends from that day.  Both books tell you no matter what, no matter who be nice to everyone and they’ll be nice to you. I think being nice to someone does go far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Since you made me think you had these in stock and then cancelled my order a couple days later, too late to get them in time to take to a meeting in Europe I was facilitating, I couldn't tell you. Luckily my friend in Holland was able to find a reliable store there to purchase them from and have waiting for me when I got there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago