Highland Scandal

Highland Scandal

Audiobook(CD - Unabridged, 9 CDs, 11 min.)

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Highland Scandal 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1807 the Prince of Wales demands the Lords Commissioners complete their Delicate Investigation into the behavior of his wife. Being the royal heir, George expects one outcome. However, the Lords Commissioners are finding little to uphold the accusations George is making against his spouse Princess Caroline of her sleeping around. The latest lord the Prince accuses of adultery with the Princess of Wales is Scottish Earl Jankin "Jack" Haines. Jack assumes George will quickly drop the nonsensical charge so he goes home to wait. Instead the Prince, claiming Jack fled to Scotland to avoid conviction of the seditious act of sleeping with the Princess, hires bounty hunters to find the earl. They capture Jack and take him to their clan laird, Carson Beal who forces his prisoner to handfast with his troublemaking niece, Elizabeth "Lizzie" Drummond Beal in order to avoid her possible marriage with Gavin Gordon. Although Carson denies duplicity, Jack thinks his "host" has a nefarious reason to keep his niece from marrying Gordon and he plans to learn what that is even as he begins to fall in love with the shrew taming him. Based on a real investigation, the second scandal Regency romance (see BOOK OF SCANDAL) is a delightful historical Scottish romance. Jack expects the accusations will soon pass but underestimates the Prince's determination. However, he adapts nicely as he goes from the fire to the frying pan and back into the fire. Lizzie acts inane at first blaming Jack for her situation and behaving dangerously foolish to avoid marrying her uncle's prisoner. She quickly comes around (thank goodness) as she falls in love. HIGHLAND SCANDAL is a wonderful tale as a real event leads to love between two Highlanders. Harriet Klausner
RegencyReader More than 1 year ago
Jack has been accused of intimacy with the Princess of Wales and as such the Prince of Wales wants to ask him a few questions right now. While Jack has done nothing wrong or improper with the Princess convincing the Prince as well as King George of that is most difficult especially since Jack has a sizeable bounty on his head and bounty hunters looking for Jack everywhere. While on the run in Scotland he is captured by Carson Beal who agrees to keep Jack's secret and let him hide if Jack were to be hand fasted to Carson's niece Elizabeth Drummond Beal. Jack is not looking for anything long term in his life especially a relationship but given the choice of imprisonment or worse death he chooses to stay with Elizabeth for the one year and one day as decreed with the hand fasting. Elizabeth is as warm to the idea of this as is Jack and she tries at every turn to get away from him and the captivity she is forced to endure with him in close quarters behind locked doors. She wants to return to her home, Thorntree and her sister Charlotte who is disabled. Lizzie feels that Charlotte will not survive without her since they are alone in the world since the death of their father. However Charlotte is being cared for by one of their uncle's henchmen and while this is not an agreeable relationship it seems to be working on some level and though she hisses and snarls at Newton there is something beneath the surface brewing between the two of them. Lizzie was destined to marry another - Mr. Gavin Gordon. She has been courted by him for over a year and if he finds out about this turn of events the relationship is assuredly doomed. No man will want her if they feel she has been compromised. While Lizzie worries about this Jack is convinced that Carson Beal has something up his sleeve and that his reasons for this hand fasting have nothing to do with keeping Jack safe or marrying off Lizzie. Carson along with all Beal men are unable to own land - a fact that came about when his ancestor's picked the wrong side of a battle with England. Carson is on a vendetta to make sure Lizzie stays married to Jack and return to Thorntree but why is he doing this. While Carson growls about ancient family feuds and that is why he does not want Lizzie to marry Mr. Gordon Jack is not buying into any of this. But while at Thorntree, Jack delights the staff with his stories of life in London, what the royals are like and continues to dig deeper into what is so valuable about Thorntree. After much investigating he decides that the key to success is for he and Lizzie to return to London and while he will face his accuser the main objective is to beg for assistance for Lizzie and her sister Charlotte. Jack does all this not for himself but for Lizzie who has become the centerpoint for his life and existence. While he tells her differently what he really feels is love and this is something he cannot handle as it is as out of control as the hellion Elizabeth. It is taking him places he is not familiar and charting waters best left undisturbed. Once they arrive in London the story takes on a new direction as old friends are reunited, Fiona comes to call and remind her brother why she is marrying and stay ahead of trouble. Easier said than done when you are accompanied by the main reason for all of Jack's recent t
srbSH More than 1 year ago
One of the coterie of rakehells in the Book of Scandal, Jack has been embroiled in gossip around the Princess of Wales. En route Jack is waylaid by Highland Laird Carson Beal and is forced to agree to a handfast with the laird's niece, Elizabeth Beal else be turned over to the King's bounty hunters. Elizabeth, too, is forced to do her uncle's bidding. Why is the laird so keen on this 'marriage'? What's his interest in the impoverished sisters to whom the threadbare estate of Thorntree is entailed? What's in the north of their property? To keep his distance from the enticing Lizzie and to keep warm and his belly filled, Jack turns to repairing roofs, recounting tales of the ton, and doing some tracking of his own. The arrival on the scene of suitor Gavin Gordon complicates matters. For Jack the only recourse is go back to London with Gavin and Lizzie in tow to meet with the king, plead her case, and face the prospect of being hanged for treason. Thus is the rake transformed by love. Colorful secondary characters and plot: Charlotte Beal, Lizzie's crippled sister, and Mr. Newton, Carson's man who's there to guard Jack, but who shows Charlotte that invalids can enjoy a full life.
booklover1335 More than 1 year ago
I was eagerly anticipating this new series from Julia London, because I am a highland romance junkie. I mean what's not to love, men in kilts, the oftentimes romantic Gaelic language, the raw beauty of the landscape, and did I mention men in kilts.I think you get the picture. I have read many of Ms. London's romances, and have never been disappointed.until now. When I read the teaser line "You deserve to know what it is like to be wholly seduced" I thought, "wow", which unfortunately turned into more of a "huh". I'm not going to go into much into detail about the book, because frankly the blurb on the back cover pretty much covers it all. It wasn't until I got to about page two hundred, that the story final started to become somewhat interesting, but even then their story wasn't scandalous. It all seemed like words on a page, and most of them forgettable. The emotions and the characters of Jack and Lizzie never really seemed to come alive for me. I thought the story might become more interesting when it is revealed that Jack's father was an emotional and physical abuser, and Jack fears becoming like him. Yet very little is done with this fact. Lizzie is "almost" engaged to another man, but she and her almost fiancé give each other up without too much thought, or guilt. The few romantic scenes came off to me more "cheesy" than heartfelt declarations of love. But the biggest revealing disappointment for me was the moment Jack decides to appeal to the king on Lizzie's behalf, knowing by doing so he could be sent to his death. This kind of sacrifice almost always gets to me (we're talking major tears and heaving sobs...I'm a sucker for it), but in Highland Scandal this element failed to induce any sense of loss, or sacrifice, which is sad. The story that I wish Julia would have written was the secondary romance between Lizzie's handicapped sister Charlotte and the highlander sent to protect her, Newton. Charlotte was the family beauty, sophisticated and charming, with her pick of eligible and wealthy suitors, whose world came crashing to a halt after she became paralyzed from a horse riding accident. After the accident she becomes reclusive and bitter, mourns the loss of her dreams, resents the fact that she is dependant on the people that she loves, and feels guilty for being an added burden on their meager resources. Newton is a modest highlander, who is sent to protect Charlotte when Lizzie is taken to her Uncle's castle to become hand fasted to Jack. Despite Charlotte's abrasiveness, a friendship blossoms between these two unlikely people, and Newton finds endearing ways to bring happiness back to her life. The reader is given very brief glimpses into their romance, but the few scenes we are gifted with are sincerely touching. I wanted more of Charlotte and Newton's romance, and less with Jack and Lizzie. Unfortunately, the epilogue written at the end of Highland Scandal concludes both love stories, so sadly we will never get to fully enjoy the more compelling love story between Charlotte and Newton, and that for me is truly scandalous. Booklover1335 for Seductive Musings
FluffyWhiteKitty More than 1 year ago
Wonderful, rich characters coupled with an unusual plot and awesome, sizzling sexual chemistry made this a book that I could not put down- literally read in one (long) afternoon. I could really relate to Jack at male lead because I think I had an ex-boyfriend somewhere down the line with similar personality (minus the wealth, though!) See my recommendations below for other great reads with similar characters, chemistry, passion, plot development...
scarpettajunkie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Highland Scandal involves "the rake" , Jack Haines, who is on the run from the Prince of Wales for allegedly having an affair with the Princess. A highland lord offers him shelter and protection if he handfasts or marries the lord's niece. When he meets Lizzy Beal, he is surprised by the fact that she is beautiful until she speaks and reveals that she is a women with intelligence and not afraid to use it. Lizzie has plans of a marriage of her own making and not involving Jack.I loved how the fireworks flew between Lizzy and Jack. It was definitely moving how they went from loathing to just lusting after each other to really falling in love with each other. I also enjoyed the side story of Lizzy's sister Charlotte overcoming her obstacles. There was also a true plot in that Lizzy and Charlotte's uncle is trying to keep Lizzy from marrying because of the land they live on.I can recommend this story because the plot flowed smoothly along and nicely intertwined with the few romantic scenes. The characters are believable and it is easy to become lost in the actual story of the book. I can safely say that this is enjoyable candy without being too sickly sweet. Those who are not particular followers of romance could find enjoyment in this story, so it gets my big thumbs up
pmpayne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have decided to keep reading romance novels to escape into a better and more pleasant world than waht exists right now in this country. I have just finished Highland Scandal by Julia London. The book, set in Scotland in 1807, is the story of Jack, Earl of Lambourne who is being chased by bounty hunters set upon him by the Prince of Wales. Jack is being wrongly accused of adultery with the Princess of Wales. In order to avoid the bounty hunters he agrees to a handfast marriage with Lizzie Beal. Lizzie is being forced into this marriage against her will by her uncle. All she wants to do is to save her property, take care of her crippled sister and be left alone. I found this story to have a fast moving plot and well developed characters. Even some of the secondary characters such as Newton, one of the uncle¿s men set to guard Lizzie and Jack, were very well developed. Scotland is one of my very favorite settings so this story had instant appeal for me. I like the geography of the country but I really like the loyalty of clan members to each other. Of course a handsome hero only adds to the attraction! There is an element of mystery as the reader tries, along with Jack, to discover why the uncle insists on this handfast marriage. There is also some humor which I think adds to a story¿s attraction. I loved the scene where Jack, who is considered a rake of the first degree, is up on the roof trying to patch it. This is surely not like a rake¿s behavior and the dialog was very good in this scene as it is throughout the book. Julia Long is a very good author and I am looking forward to the next book in the series which will be A Courtesan¿s Scandal. This book is due out in November of 2009. I gave Highland Scandal 4 ½ stars.
aromagik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Made it to chapter 11 and still boring. Whiny, annoying heroine. Skipping it.
def618 More than 1 year ago
I've been in the mood for books set in Scotland and somehow I missed this one when it first came out. As soon as I started reading it, I realized the hero, Jack Haines, was the brother of the heroine, Fiona, in the novella "Snowy Night with a Highlander" in the anthology "Snowy Night with a Stranger". At the end of that story, Jack was told to hide in the highlands as he is wanted by Prince George. This book starts with Jack being captured by Carson Beal who forces him to handfast with his niece, Lizzie, for an year and a day or be handed over to the Prince's men searching for him. Carson threatens Lizzie, who has a crippled sister, with their debts. Neither are happy about this, but they agree. Jack moves into her home, with her sister Charlotte, and the two guards the uncle sent, Dougal to watch Jack and the other, Newton to help Charlotte. Jack tries to figure out why the uncle is acting like this and assumes there is something on the sisters' property he wants. Jack and Lizzie, along with Mr. Gavin Gordon, who has come at her summons to help her discover why and set off for London to make things right. Jack assumes he will end up in jail or hung, but pleads with the king to make it clear to Carson that Charlotte and Lizzie own the land and what's been discovered on it. By this time, Lizzie loves Jack but can't see him loving her back or moving from England to his Scottish estate. Jack believes she loves Gavin. With a little help from his friends and the King he is only jailed for a few weeks. I hate plot spoilers so this is very basic. A lot goes on while he is living with her. There is a very nice secondary romance between Charlotte and her "guard" Newton. I really enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago