High Hopes and Heartbreaks

High Hopes and Heartbreaks

by Brooke White

CD

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

High Hopes and Heartbreaks 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
BN_Music_Fan_1986 More than 1 year ago
High Hopes and Heartbreak is excellent. My favorite songs are "Out of the Ashes" (number two) and "smile" (number seven). Brooke White is a great fit for anyone who likes The Carpenters, Taylor Swift, and/or Kris Allen.
spitzlady More than 1 year ago
I love this album. I know Brooke wrote all but one song, she's such a talented person. I find myself singing Radio Radio all the time.
KellyV More than 1 year ago
Once again Brooke White manages to put together another very solid album, this time on her own label with the backing of Idol's Randy Jackson. This was the first time Jackson put himself out for a former American Idol finalisst like this and that's telling in and of itself. Nearly all the songs on the album -- save for a solid cover of Use Somebody by Kings of Leon -- were written by White and the storytelling of professional and personal hopes and heartbreaks in these songs is at times achingly honest and always refreshing, but that's what makes Brooke White one of the most unique and enjoyable talents out there. You ride the gamut of emotions, wanting to dance around the house to Radio Radio, to flying along in your car singing along to Little Bird to getting teary over Be Careful. You also get a lovely tribute song to growing up in Phoenix that will make you think back to your friends and family and growing up, as well as a tribute to some of her favorites from the 70s in California Song. Whether you watched American Idol or not this is one you'll want, as one the songs goes, to ride along with in your car for a couple of million miles and sure to put a smile on your face.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brooke White is an American Idol. Great album.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not watch the season of AI that Brooke was on. I found this CD in my library and had read online that "little bird" was a good song so I checked it out. Wow! I was really surprised to find an amazing new artist. These songs are so simply and honestly written but just beautiful. There are ony 1 or 2 songs that I am not crazy about. The rest are just one classic after another. Reminds me very much of james taylor, carole king, carly simon..sort of in that vein. The writing and singing is exceptional. I am definitely looking forward to purchasing Brooke's next album and the girl has found a fan for life. I hope she has the opportunity to keep making records. Definitely an album worth checking out.
7KnightStudios More than 1 year ago
Brooke White's latest cd, "High Hopes & Heartbreak" is a wonder! Great music that is perfect for a long summer drive. Beautifully orchestrated, this cd is one that you would risk wearing out for playing it over, and over, and over again. Not many cds in this day and age are as authentic and real as this one is. Brooke recorded each song all the way through for each track. No stops in the middle and cut & pastes along the way. She sat in the studio and recorded it right on the spot. Something that is quite unique nowadays. It brings a feel of the 70s while attaining something that is fresh and new, an unappreciated hit if you will. If there is one album to buy this year it's this one right here. I guarantee there is not a more soulful, true pop album out there reminiscent of the singer-songwriters of the old days with a splash of brilliance of Colbie Caillet, Kelly Clarkson, and Kate Vogele. This is some real music. Man does she pull it off like no one else could. Brooke White ushers in the new era of music. Independent and free from the big companies of olden days, Brooke started her own company for this record. A choice that made this album shine like it could no other. "High Hopes and Heartbreak" is the start of something really special for this young woman. If you don't buy any other cds, I would recommend this one right here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago