Helpless

Helpless

Other Format(Unabridged)

$39.97 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Helpless 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
ErinFaye More than 1 year ago
Given how much I enjoyed Daniel Palmer’s debut, DELIRIOUS, last year, I was looking forward to reading HELPLESS. That said, I wasn’t sure I’d love it because I’m not a fan of infallible heroes, and I was afraid lead character Tom Hawkins, a former Navy SEAL, would be just that. Frankly, I also wasn’t sure a guy author would be able to capture the motivation and voice of Tom’s teenage daughter, Jill and her friends, around whom the story turns. I need not have been concerned. HELPLESS will appeal to different readers for different reasons. For parents, it’s a cautionary tale about the aspects of what kids can get up as they tap away on tiny keyboards, and the devastating implications their communication can have. For those amongst us who eschew the online universe, it’s testament to the importance of paying attention to what people are saying about you online. For those interested in what the FBI really does on a daily basis, it’s a fascinating look into their Innocent Images National Initiative. And for those who just love crime fiction and throat-grabbing thrillers, it’s the whole package. HELPLESS is far from a simple story, but it is in no way difficult to follow. It follows what happens to Tom when his bland suburban existence is fractured by his ex-wife’s murder, which brings secrets from his military past back to the fore as he endures an online attack that graphically accuses him of horrible crimes against the kids whose soccer team he coaches. As in DELIRIOUS, it’s unclear until the very end who the bad guys are here. The know-it-all teens? The old friend from his SEAL days? The mysterious stranger? The town cop? All of the above? One of the things that made Tom most believable for me was that when his reputation is attacked, he is truly and genuinely shocked. His distress comes in part because he can’t believe someone would say such things about him, but it’s also because he is confronted with the reality that when this happens, there’s not a whole heck of a lot he can do. It’s not like the old days, when someone posted a nasty flyer on the school bulletin board and all one had to do was take it down. Before reading HELPLESS I also had no idea that the FBI’s Innocent Images Initiative even existed, never mind what it does. It’s very real—I’ve been lucky enough to work with Daniel and have had the opportunity to speak with folks at the FBI—and their work is accurately described in the story, but more importantly to readers, the subplot Palmer creates around this aspect of the story adds layers to HELPLESS that make it immeasurably richer. Palmer also captures both the trepidation and bravado of kids today. We all remember worrying that someone won’t like us. The world might have changed, but that has not. But today, bullying has so many more forms than it did way back when. I also found Tom’s relationship with Jill fascinating. For much of the story, Tom seems afraid of his daughter, constantly asking her rather than telling her. Very different from my relationship way back when with my single dad. HELPLESS has already gotten a bunch of rave reviews, and each is well deserved. This is a page-turner, to be sure, a story that races along and leaves you breathless.
sfc98 More than 1 year ago
This one starts out slow and confusing. The main character Tom is seriously flawed, I mean he is a trained Navy Seal but sets himself up time and time again almost getting killed several of those times and in real life he would have, no one truly takes the time to explain in detail the entire plot of sabotage right before killing you, although many stories use this "trick" But all that being said, I devoured this. Once it picked up about half way through there was no putting it down. I guess that is why they call it fiction!
bearister More than 1 year ago
Daniel Palmer is the son of renowned author, Michael Palmer but that's not why you should read this book. Tom Hawkins is a former Navy SEAL who is now a high school teacher and girls soccer coach in Shilo, New Hampshire. Tom left Shilo nine years previously. He returned to the small New England community after the murder of his former wife, Kelly, to raise his daughter, Jill. Tom figures he can stay close to Jill and overcome Jill's bitterness to him by taking advantage of his role as soccer coach of her high school team. This are slowly returning to "normal" - but the return quickly comes to a halt when Tom is visited by one of Shilo's detectives who informs Tom that he is the chief suspect in the death of his ex-wife Kelly. Add to this mysterious allegations that Tom is having an illicit relationship with one of his players and the Town of Shilo is in an uproar. Tom tries desperately to hold on to his relationship with his daughter at the same time as he tries to clear his own name and understand the mess created by his ex-wife's own crimes and secrets. This was a great book - the second of Palmer's that I've read. Don't miss "Delirious," his other novel.
TSteiner More than 1 year ago
What makes a good book for me? I think most of all it is really three things; characters, continuity and plot. I want likeable characters. I need to be able to connect with them and see them as real people. The book must also have solid continuity. I don’t like to be reading a book and have to stop and think - no wait, they were not there or nope that never happened. Then lastly a great book needs a smooth intriguing plot. No matter how real or farfetched; I need to believe in it, feel it and breathe it. Helpless had all this and more! This book kept me up late and I mean really late. I kept telling myself one more chapter, but the way Mr. Palmer wrote his novel, I couldn’t find a great stopping point. At 6am, yes you read that right, I simply had to say ENOUGH! I was absolutely engaged from the beginning of the book to the very end. One would think that Tom had an ideal start to his adult life. He worked hard and became a Navy SEAL, reconnected with his high school sweetheart and now has a baby on the way. Unfortunately, that was the beginning of the end for him. From that moment forward, Tom’s life would never be ideal again. After their divorce, his ex-wife Kelly took every opportunity to turn his baby girl against him. Now that she is dead, he needs to work especially hard to earn his daughters trust and love. All they have is each other, but when they should be grieve the loss of Kelly’s life; they are thrust into a conspiracy of lies and betrayal. Can they repair their already shaky relationship? Tom is an innocent man whose life has been ruined by falsehoods. He has no idea why these awful things are happening to him, but he will do anything to prove his innocence and protect his daughter. Helpless has a scary realism to it that should not be ignored. In our current world of technology, anyone is at risk to the perils that Tom faces. It’s a reality that any one of us could face at any time. Seemingly innocent actions can have lifelong terrible repercussions. One message or photo can change a person’s life forever. While Tom’s ordeal was on the extreme side of things, this could happen to anyone. Not just the horrible events that happened to him, but also to the innocent children. Mr. Palmer has written an engaging and captivating tale. He kept me guessing and wondering what could happen next to this poor man. Within society it truly is a misconception that we are innocent until proven guilty and what happened to Tom is a prime example. Helpless is an amazing rendition about perseverance, tenacity, faith and love. Tom’s fight was a long arduous journey, but he has the heart of a loving father and the ferocity of a warrior. Helpless is a story for anyone who devoted to technology. This is an eye opener to the scary possibilities of our current reality. So sit back and take a look at what there is to fear.
Reviews-ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite “Helpless” by Daniel Palmer is a great book. It is a thriller, a mystery, a twisting and turning plot that will hold your attention from beginning to end. This is the story of a single father and a teenage girl’s worst nightmares. “Helpless” is about Jill Hawkins, her recently murdered mother, her high school friends and Tom Hawkins, the divorced father she has heard only bad things about from Mom and old Navy enemies. The world as they know it suddenly becomes turned upside down. “Helpless” is a psychological thriller. Tom, a former Navy SEAL, is the main suspect of his ex-wife’s murder. He is forced to deal with lies from his past and present. Tom enlists the help of his friends and lawyers to prove his innocence while trying to slowly build a bond of trust between himself and Jill that is tested over and over again. “Helpless” delves into the world of child porn on the internet, cut-throat businessmen, murder, kidnapping and love. There is constant intrigue as the readers are kept guessing as to who the good guys and bad guys really are. Daniel Palmer has written a winner with “Helpless”. This book has all the makings to become a long standing number one bestseller. It is written tastefully and emotionally. “Helpless” has strong characters that we find ourselves cheering on or not liking at all. It is a book that will keep you up way beyond your bedtime because it is just too good to put down. This is a must read for all.
lindyLW More than 1 year ago
It is a great book, you will like it as well as his last one. Was up till 3 am finishing the book. From the first page it keeps you reading, you don`t want to put it down. You feel sorry for the guy in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Better than a lot of mysteries but certainly not among the best. Obviously the author is up to date on internet manipulation and that was over my head. However, I stayed with it until the final page and until that time was not completely sure who the culprits were. Not bad, There are too many excellent authors of mysteries and I would put this author about halfway there.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I had to stop reading. I did not find it creible that all these bad things would keep happening to an innocent person.
JimJF 11 months ago
I really liked this book. Good story and well written. My only problem was the continuous seemingly insurmountable issues heaped upon the main character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
croknot1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grabbed me at first, then it bogged down a bit, then by the middle, the plot became more interesting. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, another twist. Pretty good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
No one writes “complex” better than Daniel Palmer, as reiterated in Helpless. A web of deception, revenge, a frame up of sexual crimes, drugs, kidnapping, and a behind the scenes complicated twisted scheme for an intense and gripping suspenseful ride. How far will a parent go to protect their child? The novel opens with Lindsey Wells, age fifteen, (sexting) a nude photo of herself to her boyfriend, Tanner (for his eyes only, right), as she thinks this is better than sleeping with him, as she has to keep him interested. Little does she know her photo among other girls, will go viral across the internet and will end up on a child-porn website which later links to Tom. Former Navy SEAL Tom Hawkins has moved back to New Hampshire to raise his teenage daughter, after his ex-wife, Kelly dies under mysterious circumstances. He and his daughter are not on the best of terms; however, things get worse, as he soon finds himself being charged with being a rapist, drug smuggler, child pornographer, and accused of sleeping with his 16-year-old daughter Jill's, best friend Lindsey. If this is not enough he is being targeted by an old military pal who was involved in smuggling heroin from Germany with the dead wife. From sexting rings, naked pictures, frantic teens, a fetish market, drugs, murder, kidnapping, and the ability to destroy people’s reputation, using technology-- piling up making the story a little unrealistic at times. However, some nice family dynamics with father-daughter, and a much needed lesson and warning for teens and parents alike, in today’s social media world. Even though the novel was suspenseful, with many twists and turns, I did not feel it was as good as some of Palmer’s other books. Possibly due to listening to the audiobook narrated by Phil Gigante, not as captivating a voice as Peter Berkrot, which is superb. Looking forward to reading Delirious, next and back to Peter, once again. (please keep using Peter). I have read all Palmer's newer books, and making my way backwards to some of the older ones. If you have not read Palmer, you are in for a treat!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Comment him on how well he looks, his grades, how smart he is, etc. Even introduce him to some of your friends to me him feel welcome. Friendship leads to love sometimes ^_^ And try looking at him from far istances and see if he looks at you. If, hopefully when, he does, look away just as quickly. That gives him hints about how you like him. He'll constantly be thinking about it. And do this often. If he looks at you when you aren't thats like what you're doing to him. Get it? So glancing, looking away: Take a hint. I likey you. <p> As this grows to happen more often out of offort, you and him would both be confused about if he likes you; you like him. Try sitting at a table close to his at lunch and see if anything happens. Once, I did this, and his friends pushed a trash can toward my table without knowing I was there, and my crush got mad at him and gestured to me. So that's how I knew better about if he liked me. And most people with crushes seem to do the glancing thing without trying and do it out of free will. This will definitley help you. I promise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Try talking with your friends about it otherwise if he dosent speak up to you give it a go and speak up tho him
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You don't have to talk to him until you're getting to know him more. To let him know you're interested, try to cath his gaze. Hold it a little longer than usual, and give him a shy smile, before looking away. Also, try to make him feel welcome at school if he's new.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There's this guy in my class, that I have been thinking about. He's new this year, and I dont think he has too many friends. I think I am starting to like him. We haven't talked much, and when we did it was about school. He sits beside me in English. I'm not sure what to do. And another problem, I'm super shy, and have a really hard time just talking to people I dont really know. Any help? Anything would help. <br> BK
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WOW! This book will open your eyes to possible realities you never imagined could happen to the common person. The book appears to have multiple story lines going in the begining but all changes later on. This book is riveting and keeps on the seat. A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exceptional read and attention grabber
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love is book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago