Heartbroken: A Novel

Heartbroken: A Novel

by Lisa Unger

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Heartbroken: A Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this srory! There was such drama and intensity... the characters were wildly imaginative.
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
Three women. Three lives. All come together on an island where things will never be the same. Everything comes back to the choices one makes and in this emotional and suspenseful tale those choices leads to a trek both past and present with repercussions that will be long lasting. The frenzy pace of this drama quickly became a page. There were some tense moments that had my heart pounding as the story moved towards an adrenaline-charged conclusion. With a well-developed plot, a dynamic cast of characters, from the matriarch Birdie to the mysterious man, and a mesmerizing setting, this was an excellent read and I look forward to the next book by this talented author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of lisa unger's books. This one is my favorite. Could not put it down!!! A definate keeper!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast paced and interesting characters. I recommend this book for a gripping summer read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down. The charters are engrossing...very entertaining novel. Looking forward to reading more of this author soon.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Very good book to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I mistook the name of this story for another one I was looking for, but it held my interest anyway. Good look into the various character's psychologies, and a nice mystery to solve.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By far, one of my favorites by Lisa Unger. Especially enjoyed how the separate story lines converged at the most unlikely time. Great read:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The outcome of this story was nothing in comparsion to what I had expected. The author spent a lot of time building the characters which robbed this book of an interesting climax. I was hoping for more mystery and suspense. There were some slow areas within the plot; however, it eventually took off when the climax begun, which was near the end of this book. Wouud not recommend this book to someone who is trying Ms. Unger's books for the first time. Try Blackout. It was far more interesting than this novel.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Enjoyed the book..
knittingmomof3 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Family drama with a hint of suspense, Heartbroken by Lisa Unger takes the reader to Heart Island and into the complicated relationships that exist between mothers and daughters. Unger seamlessly weaves together differing mother-daughter relationships to further develop an intricate plot, which slowly builds into a rather well thought out and suspenseful plot. Going into the book I was expecting Heartbroken to be more of in-your-face suspense/thriller, however Unger takes the book into a different direction and makes it work quite well. I enjoyed reading the complex relationships and watching the story unfold and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick summer read.Disclaimer: I received a copy of Heartbroken through the Amazon VINE Program, for review.
mckait on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Birdie is a cold woman, living on a stark island, and happiest when she is alone.What made her this way is the reason for this story. Perhaps I should say stories, because there are always many threads woven into any good story. Kate, her husband Sean and her children are preparing for yet another visit toHeart Island to spend time with Kate's mother Birdie. They all feel a strange mixtureof anticipation and dread, but for different reasons. But they went to the island everyyear, and Kate really had no idea how to avoid it. Her children liked it there, she hadsome good feelings for the place as well. But Birdie, her mother, was an enigma. Time spentwith her was rarely pleasant or comfortable. But going was the right thing to do, wasn't it?Emilie had no husband, no children and in fact her own mother was more like Kate's. Cold and not very loving to her daughter. That was one thing that they seemed to have in common.The only thing that they seemed to have in common. Yet, meeting each other in an unlikely placewould change both of their lives forever. It is well worth following the threads to findthe story of how and why. recommended
Darcia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While Heartbroken is being marketed as suspense, I found it more of a family drama. The first three-quarters of the book moves slow. We explore the lives of families that are tangled in a variety of ways. The relationships are interesting, though I got a little bored with the repeated descriptions and the slow pace. The last quarter of the book picks up speed and suspense, and, for me, was the best part.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good plot, interesting characters. Definitely worth your time.
bmamca36 More than 1 year ago
Good Story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good page turner that is hard to put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago