The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching

The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching

Paperback

$14.71 $16.00 Save 8% Current price is $14.71, Original price is $16. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching: Transforming Suffering into Peace, Joy and Liberation: The Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path and Other B 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a beginning student of Buddhism I find this book most helpful. The book contains a wealth of basic information on the essential Buddhist teachings, clearly presented. The author's style reflects the compassion and intellect of the Buddha. I continue re-reading this book, as a resource to clarify questions which come up in other books on Buddhism.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is beautifully written. It is concise and the concepts clearly and logically explained. It neither preaches nor condescends. As I study and meditate on the teachings I find a bit more beauty, color and happiness in everything.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because I was interested I the Buddhist religion. As I read this book I found out that it is not a religion, but a grouping of teachings to free your mind. You are not meant to blindly believe what you are told, but to ask questions so as to have a deeper understanding. I highly recomend this book. It is easy to read & follow as well.
mamksm More than 1 year ago
If you have never read a book by Thich Nhat Hanh you would truly benefit by doing so. I am a practicing Presbyterian, but Buddhism interests me as well. He compares Christianity with Buddhism in several of his books. This book will help you to understand as do his others, that we are in control of our suffering.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an exceptional book by any standard. Universal, expansive in scope, it hits the heart of the human condition in an uncommon and beautiful way. Not just for novice Buddhists, it speaks to anyone with a heart and a conscience, transcending religion, politics and other boundaries to living a life of purpose and meaning.
MirandaRyan More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book! Follow these steps and feel the difference. So nice to have these essential life teachings available for us in the west!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a high school sophomore and I chose this book for my research project. As I am a person who was a Buddhist and as an international student who learned English as a second language, I really recommend this book. After I read this book I realized that there are so many things that I just heard about and a lot of new things that no one even taught me before. It is kind of interesting to learn somethings new from a book, not from others. I found this book is easy to read even if it was a doctrine of the Buddha that might get a little confused. The only problem for me is that there is just a few of the Buddha biography and that I can’t know what his early life was like. I would like to recommend this book to anyone who is interested and what to do the research about the Buddha and his teachings. You will be able to know more detail about his teachings and a few of his biography and you will know a lot of things you might not have known before. I wish that the author could do part II about Buddha’s early life. It would be interesting from the start to the very end of the book.
BruceAF More than 1 year ago
The book is way of Mediation for all who want to have inner peace. The four noble truths are for all people even for all faiths! The author wants all to be enlightenment. The cover states " transform suffering into peace, joy, and liberation. " it is for all! please enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is a remarkable book; well worth time spent reading it. So well written with clear information on Buddhist basics. I always recommend to anyone interested in Buddhism and looking for a good place to start. Sure wish the publisher would ePublish this book! I think Thich Nhat Hahn is a wonderful teacher.
MaggieMGarcia More than 1 year ago
Thay has an amazing way to write, It's so easy to understand even for people with no knowleged about buddhism, I highly recommended this book, I'm sure you'll love it.
Wonderfool on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm currently only about a third of the way through, but so far this book is beautifully written. Thich Nhat Hanh writes in a clear yet elegant way that is very helpful in comveying a basic understanding of some of the Buddha's core teachings. I bought this on recommendation from a fellow Buddhist and will definitely be looking into more of his work. I would recommend this book to anyone who, like me, is starting out in Buddhism or who just would like to learn about the basics. This is one of the few books that I'll likely go back and read multiple times.
Essa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent and very enjoyable introduction to basic Buddhist teachings by noted Zen master Thich Nhat Hahn. The book is as pleasurable to read as it is enlightening---the author's encouraging, joyful style reads easily and sometimes gives the impression that he is right there with you. The material in the book can, in my view, be understood and appreciated by people of any religion (or none).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first excursion into Buddhism. It was great at explaining at a beginner's level but some of the book was outside my comprehension. That was probably more about me though than the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago