Havana (Earl Swagger Series #3)

Havana (Earl Swagger Series #3)

by Stephen Hunter

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Havana (Earl Swagger Series #3) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again,Stephen Hunter,the author,has kept me from getting to sleep on time. Like Hot Springs;Pale Hoese Coming and Black Light,Mr.Hunter continues the Swagger story.I always say that Hot Springs is Hunter's best but maybe that was because that was my introduction to Swagger and his clan....TRUST ME! Once you start HAVANA you will not be able to put the book down.I know that's a cliche but I MEAN IT....Great action and suspense throughout.Early 1950's pre-revolution times are described well...Go get this book...NOW!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1953, the don¿t say his name boss arrives in Havana with a dossier on a charismatic threat to the currently American supported dictator. He orders Roger St. Johns Evans and Walter Short to eliminate Fidel Castro before he causes problems like regime changing and Communist government building. Walter suggests they use Earl Swagger of Arkansas on the assignment.

The Boss sends a loyalist to Siberia to reassign 4715 from the North Pole road building to mentoring Castro in Cuba. Speshan takes a shower for the first in seemingly centuries before, he, the former and perhaps future 4715, travels to Havana to indoctrinate Castro.

Though he only wants to go hunting with his son, when the Feds come recruiting, Earl accepts the mission and journeys to Cuba. However, nothing is quite like it seems and instead of a simple job, Earl is caught in global politics with little hope of expediting himself from this mess.

This is a powerful historical thriller that brings to life the era just before Castro takes over Cuba. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action, but contains much humor (Bill and Ted?). Earl is a great protagonist who also serves as a role model for a caring nurturing yet all male man. Stephen Hunter escorts readers back five decades in Havana in a numero uno tale.

Harriet Klausner

MarthaHuntley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had bought this audio book because I wanted to learn something about Cuba and I wanted to explore some new mystery series, try out Stephen Hunter, the author, and Earl Swagger, the character. After I got into it, I really liked it. Some reviewers are complaining about the characters being caricatures, but I think that was the point, as in Carl Hiassen's Florida caricatures, I mean, characters. I enjoyed the humor, and of course, I liked Earl, the man of integrity in a setting where there sure wasn't much of that. The best of all was the Russian Agent -- a marvelous character! Every time he appears, the book shines. Learning about Cuba, not so much.
Gary10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Set in Cuba at the time of Castro and the reviolution. Well-written, exciting and imaginative.
jimmaclachlan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not a bad read, but he made caricatures of the main characters. The hero, Earl Swagger, was such a hero - good, faithful, loyal. The bad guys were so vile, dumb & almost comical, in some cases. It was just over the top. The basic story was kind of interesting; Cuba before Castro took over. At the end of the book are two short articles that Hunter did after researching the area for his book. For those fans of Bob Lee, we find out why he learned to shoot so well. If you haven't read any other books, Bob Lee Swagger, Earl's son, is the hero in several others, one of the best snipers in the world. I really liked a couple of these books.
amacmillen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An Earl Swager historical novel on 1950s Havana Cuba and the early days of Fidel Castro. The research done on this period is very good and the characters were believable. Was this the true charaterastion of Cuba then? I believe so. the plot was very good and and the story line was exciting and intersesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The ending saved it for me. Had a had time getting through the first 300 pages for some reason. But I love all the rest of his books, have read them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Love Earl! Highly recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avast_me_hearties More than 1 year ago
This is the third of the Earl Swagger series, although not his third book of the Earl, Bob Lee and Ray Cruz. Father, son and grandson. Well written, believable characters, great background work keeping this and all the other of Hunter's novels in a historical perspective.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My first book by this author. I'll definitely be reading more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago