Hater: A Novel

Hater: A Novel

by David Moody

Paperback(First Edition)

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hater 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 183 reviews.
Dave_Lightfoot More than 1 year ago
WOW. The first thing I will say is, you don't need to read a review of this book. You just need to read it for yourself. This story is fantastic. David Moody has created a story that could possibly be one of the best modern "situation horror" stories ever written. I was hooked from the first chapter. This book starts at a fast pace and just continues to gain momentum right until the end. This isn't your run of the mill "horror" story. There isn't a monster, no vampires or werewolves. The fear comes from our own humanity, or what will happen if we lose our humanity. The author has created a world were a proportion of the population becomes affected by a "new" kind of disorder. Once affected they lose all humanity towards those not affected. They fear those who haven't changed and they HATE those who haven't changed. They find only one way of fixing this situation. Kill the unchanged. The horror in this book comes at the reader from three different angles. Firstly, we have the violence that is carried out throughout the whole story. It is relentless, in your face and most of all, it is believable. Every attack resembles something we could possibly read or see in the news on a daily basis. Secondly, we have the simple horror of normal people being trapped and confused in this situation. The author really creates a spine chilling experience by making us feel empathy with those not affected and from this we get a feeling of the fear that they must be feeling. Thirdly, the horror, at its best, comes from the very realistic way that David Moody has shown us how humanity, love and empathy can easily be destroyed once fear is added into the world. How friends can turn on friends once they are shown the difference. How we fear those who are different from ourselves and the lengths we are willing to go to get rid them. The story is easy to read, captivating, brilliant, scary and worryingly mirrors the world we live in. Expect a few shivers down your back and after reading, try not to judge those you walk past in the street. After all, it is only a story........ but it will make you think!!!
SavageBS More than 1 year ago
Awesome, outstanding, very well written book! "Hater" is the 1st book in what will be a trilogy. The next book, "Dog Blood" will be out soon according to back page's author's notes. Don't let the obscure title fool you, "Hater" is the real deal! A word of advice, read "Hater" now, don't wait until the movie comes out or until all three books are out and everyone is talking about it and your three books behind. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! A few random people are brutally attacked by strangers. The next day, several more attacks. All random, all appear to be for no certain reason. The media declares the attacks are being committed by haters! But who is a hater, what is a hater, how can we tell them apart? The government puts the following message on every television, every station- REMAIN CALM DO NOT PANIC TAKE SHELTER WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS THE SITUATION IS UNDER CONTROL The haters can tell us apart, they already know, "it's kill or be killed, hate or be hated!" Haters are not zombies, their not vampires, read it and find out for yourself! The book gets better & better all the way through. It's fast paced and the ending is phenomenal! Guillermo del Toro, director of "Pan's Labyrinth", "Hellboy 1 & 2" has already purchased the rights to this novel for production of the major motion picture "Hater"! I will definitely watch the movie and definitely read the next two novels when they come out. Read it!
Luckeechikee More than 1 year ago
I had no idea what to expect going into this book but by the end of the first chapter I felt like I'd been punched in the face....but in a good way! It is amazingly well written and leaves you wanting more every time you have to close the cover. If you enjoy the infected human or undead genre you will undoubtedly enjoy this book.
OpalRain More than 1 year ago
Nothing about this book is entirely innovative or remarkable, but it was a good read that I would cautiously recommend. It's very interesting and I was definitely compelled to keep reading all the way to the end. It took a little while to get to the interesting part. The first half of the book or so was interesting, but typical. I would have gotten to the original bit more quickly because that's the part that made this book a four for me. If you start reading this book, you may start reading it and get a little bored at first, but push through it because the plot twist towards the end makes it worth it and makes it unique and a story that you will remember. Gory, morbid, strikingly violent, but it captures your imagination. If you enjoy horror movies/books, get this. If you're looking for a heart warming tale, go elsewhere! I would check out this author's other books for a casual and interesting read, but he's not my favorite.
JonathonThomas More than 1 year ago
What an amazing read! The book's cover catches the eye and draws you in. From the very beginning of the book, you are captivated. The pace is quick and never slows down. Page after page is filled with a unique sense of anticipation that forces you into the world of the Haters. The way Moody writes in the personal form forces you to think like the character and truly commit to his process of drawing conclusions and making decisions. Although his names is mentioned only a handful of times, you relate to the main character so well, you barely realize you don't know his name. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to escape into a fantastical and gory alter-world.
Liston More than 1 year ago
Hater is different type of horror in which raw human fear, anger, and self preservation become the enemy where both the "normal" and the "haters" both feel that they must protect themselves from each other. I thought that the book was interesting from a psycological standpoint but it was just me but the main character irritated me but beyond my opinion, it was a decent book.
RHale More than 1 year ago
Pretty good book - I'm looking forward to the next one in the series. It stuck (mostly) with the rules and had just enough twists to keep it interesting. There were a few parts that were dry and also a few that were annoying (the children - these kids are a living advertisment for birth control). I will probably read this again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book leaves you wondering who the 'bad-guy' really is. Should be interesting to see if the movie does it justice.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Danny McCoyne is a bureaucrat at the Parking Fine Processing Office; a job he loathes but as poor as the pay is he needs to keep his boring position in order to feed his wife and kids. Depressed Danny knows he has no future beyond being near the bottom of his agency's food chain. Danny is stunned when he witnesses an apparent random act of violence. When more occur, the media dubs the assaulters as Haters. Victims are loved ones, friends and fellow workers as much as strangers. No one can explain why even as society begins to unravel as exponentially the number of attacks is beyond when the government can contend with. Danny anticipates the worst is yet to come; so he tries to keep his loved ones safe though that means hiding inside their home like convicts. He trusts no one especially the government who he thinks may be behind the sudden violence This is a chilling thriller as the increasingly violent society forcing innocents to lock themselves and their families in houses that are prisons seems plausible due to the pace of the story line. The brutality is often vivid, rightfully so, as that cruelty is what leads to self incarceration. Fans of a dark world will appreciate this grim thriller as normality is simple survival in a Moody world gone mad. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You wait till the last 2 pages to find out the big reveal... there isn’t one... poorly written with lack luster imagery and an even worse plot.
bob boehm More than 1 year ago
I love me but this book is weird don't mess with me Wisconsin and good morning .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth the cost
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kept waiting for it to get better. It never did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy this book. I did not like the main character, or his family. The story is actually a good story though. It is about the ramifications of a society to oftened touched by hate. I felt a little dirty after reading it though. Could i become a hater?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was ok in the early going but became more and more rambling and disconnected. Are we supposed to root for this guy? He wasn't very likeable when he was well and sure wasn't later.
scarlett77 More than 1 year ago
Violence begins unexpectidly in all areas of society and it is expanding exponentially. People become enraged and attack others with no known provocation. The news says it is copy cat violence. Then a virus is suspected. Before long speculation is a thing of the past. The collapse of society is observed by a seemingly unconnected number of people. Then it starts to come closer and closer to home. What is the cause? Where will it end? This trilogy explores the situation with well developed characters and interesting storyline of escalating violence. A great new author. A great new series.
Fate More than 1 year ago
My first encounter with this hellishly delightful text was through the public library. I am a professional reader & read it in a day. My roommate loved it as well -- finishing it in less than a week (he works, has a boyfriend & parties full time). Every Xmas I give my youngest cousin money inside an excellent book. Last year it was Kostova's THE HISTORIAN. This year it will be Moody's HATER.
Annibebe More than 1 year ago
This book is unnerving, and leaves you wondering who the real enemy is.... Who really are the Haters? Can't wait to read his new one - hopefully, answers will be provided.
divideByZero More than 1 year ago
I read the whole thing and its just bad on many levels. Its looking for a metaphor and the author should of stated it in an abstract so that we might pin him down on it with Elmer's glue and get it over with. The previous reviewers alluded to a fast paced novel ... nope. Its kind of like Dawn of the Dead but you never get to the Mall. All character development kinda stops half way through and we are on a long wrap up for part two. I really liked the beginning of the book. The main character was developing nicely and I liked how the author gave us the hater's perspective when they changed. From there everything is miserable and self centered for the most part. If your not a hater, you do nothing but what good for you and skip everyone else. When your a hater, once you get past the initiation part of killing some innocent sucker just cuz its the most logical path to follow, your palling around with the bestest most magnanimous altruistic bunch of self center people that do everything for one another but kill everyone else as long as the timing is right and if its not, we act like we did before; whine and wait ... wait, mmm. I have a hard time with irrational acts leading to rational pacts of irrational people that have a global goal that must lead to nothing in the end because they are a disconnected people with no other goal. Did I just say that out loud? Maybe its a Gaea thing. Maybe its a Nietzsche "become what you are" thing, which I'm all for but it was never meant in this vein. Maybe its a I don't care because its boring thing. Hater/non-hater ... whats the difference with the exception of kill, kill, kill for different self centered reasons ... which kind of sounds like we are hitting a metaphor, but its not that easy in this book, and the journey isn't worth wherever this story goes, part two goes and beyond. I'm skipping the boat ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good quick read. The author really takes his time building a world and fleshing out his characters. Then when all hell breaks loose you really feel for them. Really feels like the first book of a trilogy if that makes any sense. The plot, settings and characters are all set up nicely for the following books.
klolovebooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
freaking book it was good then it became creepy and the end suck big time
andsoitgoes on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The writing style reminded me of a Chuck Palahniuk novel but lacking in the imagination of Palahniuk. Kinda of like a zombie book -- I kept expecting the Hater characters to start eating brains and it always threw me when they human needs such as eating and sleeping. Would probably read the next one.
Josh_Hanagarne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Set in near-future England. A rash of killings break out, committed by "Haters" who suddenly and inexplicably get the urge to kill and kill and kill. Not bad. First in a trilogy. Peters out at the end a bit. Terrible author photo.
BeckyJG on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hater was self-published online in 2006 by author David Moody. It became, we are told in the dust jacket copy, an internet phenomenon and Moody--who apparently is a great self-promoter--sold the movie rights, sans agent, to Guillermo del Toro.I'm here to tell you, folks, that just because something is an "internet phenomenon," and just because a great director has the ability to recognize a good movie within a story, doesn't mean that story will translate into a great book. Because it didn't, my friends, it didn't.The premise is intriguing: over the course of a few days the world realizes that certain violent, unprovoked, usually homicidal attacks are occurring with increasing frequency, and with a modus operandi that is distinctly similar each time. First uneasiness develops, then families and friends begin to circle the wagons, but soon full-fledged panic breaks out. The people committing the unprovoked attacks are dubbed Haters, which is an apt enough designation. We follow the story mostly through the first person narrative of one Danny McCoyne, a low level civil servant barely able to support his wife and three kids. Unfortunately, Moody is not a good enough writer to sustain the level of horror and panic necessary to move a novel like this along at the proper brisk pace. It's not until three quarters of the way through, when we finally get inside the head of a Hater, that the suspense is elevated, but by then it's too little too late.Hater, I suspect, will turn out to be a far better movie than it was a book.
pstotts on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It¿s a normal day in suburbia. Bright and sunny; the smell of lemon freshener in the air. You¿re at home, relaxing, a chorus of dogs barking outside, your spouse happily chit-chatting. Your mind wanders. Only for a few moments. Maybe just a few seconds. But long enough. Long enough to be confused by the sudden silence, an eerie silence. The air¿s suddenly pregnant with tension, thick with it. You look at your spouse, searching for a clue, looking to understand. Hoping the answer to the silence lies in a loved one¿s eyes. But when you look in their eyes, you aren¿t greeted by love. You¿re greeted by terror, a face filled with fear. A face filled with hate. Puzzled, you¿re taken off-guard when your spouse suddenly lunges at you, grabbing a nearby kitchen knife. And starts stabbing you. Furiously. Fighting like a cornered animal. A whirling dervish of arms, glistening steel, and blood. Your blood.And you wonder¿why? As the knife repeatedly slices your flesh¿why? As you bleed out on your living room floor¿why? As you look into your spouse¿s eyes one final time, grasping to understand the betrayal, before the light dims. To understand how this person can go from honey¿to Hater.It¿s not a normal day in suburbia. Or downtown, or in the countryside. Violent incidents are increasing, daily. Exponentially. People are being attacked randomly, maybe by a stranger, maybe by a loved one, all the assailants dubbed Haters by the media. It¿s an epidemic, of violence, of hate. And no one seems to know why.David Moody masterfully plays upon a multitude of primal fears in his new novel ¿Hater.¿ Fears about isolation, ignorance, random inexplicable violence, betrayal, and mass hysteria. It¿s us against them in a race of kill or be killed. An endless cycle of violence; a snapshot of a world in which fear is the overwhelming motivation to kill. In which fear is used to justify pre-emptive violence. It¿s not a pretty picture, but the underlying motto should be familiar¿if we don¿t get them, they¿ll get us. It¿s the ideology behind the war on terrorism, and Britain and America¿s current involvement in the Middle East. Terrorists hate us, seeking to harm and kill innocents. To kill our families. To kill us. But why? Do their actions arise out of hate¿or out of fear? Are these groups on the offensive, or the defensive? Is one man¿s terrorist, another man¿s freedom fighter? These questions make ¿Hater¿ timely and topical; an examination of the disquieting and immense power of fear. How fear is the seed of hate.Much has been made of Moody selling the film rights of ¿Hater¿ to Guillermo del Toro¿the director of the Hellboy series and Pan¿s Labyrinth¿after initially self-publishing the novel online. After reading it, I can see why it would be attractive source material for a film. It¿s highly cinematic, both visceral and intense. The book flows easily through a course of memorable scenes, amping up the drama all the way to the end. Sections of the novel strongly reminded me of the George Romero¿s classic zombie film Dawn of the Dead. Both feature characters that isolate themselves, seeking refuge from a world spiraling into madness, having no clue why. All they can do is sit, and wait, while their situation grows increasingly more dismal. And more deadly.Last Word:Moody has crafted an intelligent and powerful novel. And an isolating one. One that traps you in your own skin, forcing you into self-reliance. Not because of the stranger on the street who¿s a Hater, but because of your wife, or child, who suddenly becomes one. What do you do when those closest turn on you? Who other than yourself can you ever trust? Scary thoughts. But utterly engaging reading. Suddenly it¿s cool to hate.