Half a War (Shattered Sea Series #3)

Half a War (Shattered Sea Series #3)

by Joe Abercrombie

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.83 $16.00 Save 7% Current price is $14.83, Original price is $16. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Half a War (Shattered Sea Series #3) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
ShieldWolfJRS More than 1 year ago
My review today is for Half a War (Shattered Sea Book 3) by Joe Abercrombie. I was very excited for this book, so much so that I pre-ordered it and not-so patently waited for it to come out. I was not disappointed. This is the final installment of the Shattered Sea series. It was not a surprise that once again there is a shift in protagonist. I was expecting this after having been surprised by this move in the second book. As it turns out the new characters are once again great additions. Princess Skara, Vansterland warrior Raith, and Father Yarvi's apprentice, Koll are the new kids in this book. Their stories intertwine in a variety of twist and turns. Skara and her story are at the forefront this time, and the book revolves around her plot. We still get the characters from the previous books making their way though this story. It is a nice blend of new characters with the recurring ones that we know and love. As with the first Two books the story telling is top notch, Characters are intriguing and you get invested. The world is a wonderfully brutal viking paradise, the way I like them. This book seems like it could be a little more gritty than the first two books, and for me that is a plus. Overall a great offering by Mr. Abercrombie. I think a slight step below the first two books but still a very good book. The only negative is I was not quite happy with the ultimate fate of Yarvi. I wish it could have ended differently for the deep cunning Minister, I had grown rather fond of the character. In any case This was a fantastic series and I am now a big fan of Mr. Abercrombie. I can't wait to read his other books that I have acquired while reading this series. I am also very anxious to see what comes next in the Joe Abercrombie bibliography! As you know if you have read my reviews before I am not about long reviews with synopsis and spoilers. I just give my opinion on my experience with this book and you can take it from there. Now on to the next book. 4/5 STARS - mightythorjrs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like others the story felt rushed and forced. Characters making odd choices suddenly to meet plot demands. The first 2 books of the triology were very good. The third in the series less so.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars I have loved this trilogy and I have to admit that I feel somewhat guilty about the fact that I didn't rate this final book in the trilogy as high as the two prior books. I base my rating strictly on my enjoyment of the story and I just didn't enjoy this book as much as the first two books. These books are the only books by Joe Abercrombie that I have read and I guess I had hoped for an ending that would feel satisfying and a little bit of happily ever after. This final book left me rather depressed and there was no happily ever after to be found. The book focuses largely on Princess Skara. Princess Skara witnesses the murder of the king, her grandfather before she is whisked away to safety by Blue Jenner. She must now step in to rule the kingdom but first she must ensure its safety. I liked a lot of things about Skara. I liked the fact that she stepped up and proved to be a natural leader. She was able to pick people as her support that may be an unconventional choice but the right one for her. She was also able to win over the staff she was assigned so that they became loyal to her. Princess Skara proved to be a strong leader despite her age and lack of experience. Even though I liked Princess Skara, I have to admit that I liked the central characters in the first two books more and I was thrilled to see all of the characters that I have grown to love come together in this book. Every character in this trilogy is so unique and colorful and the changes that have occurred with each one of them over the course of the trilogy has been astounding. Some of the characters I have liked more and more with each book while other characters have become harder to like. I really think that the strength of this trilogy is in the characters. This book was just as exciting as the prior books in the trilogy. There were lots of fighting and action scenes and at times the story was rather bloody. There was also a lot of war planning and political maneuvering in this book. Princess Skara is in a delicate position to take over her kingdom since she is both young and female. She is forced to make decisions at times that will put herself and her kingdom in the best position. I enjoyed quite a lot in this book. The section of the book where we finally get to see a little more of the elf city was very interesting. I really liked some of the characters that had an important role in this book. Raith was a fantastic character and I think that Koll and Rin grew a lot in this book. There were also some things that I didn't care for as much in this book. There was one character's death that I didn't see coming that really bothered me. The fact that the death happened outside of the story being told made it worse. If that character had to die, I would have at least liked to have it happen withing the focus of the story. I really wanted to the story to end in a hopeful manner but that wasn't the case. I was left feeling rather depressed when I realized how far some characters had been able to fall. I would recommend this book to others. This is a trilogy that is really best to be read in order so I would recommend that readers new to the trilogy start with the first book in the series. I will be looking forward to future works by Joe Abercrombie and I am actually hoping that there may be other books set within this world at some point in the not so distant future.
Anonymous 4 days ago
I liked it a lot.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Like a matinee movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved it! It was great, all three books held my interest. Sorry it finished, enjoyed his writing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
18578951 More than 1 year ago
GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, The Shattered Sea Trilogy was engrossing, read all three one after the other.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast-paced, larger than life war against the odds. The climax is a little early, with the author taking time at the end to tie up loose ends. 2nd best of the trilogy.
hectorcartel More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good story line kept me engaged and wanting to get next chapter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Complete disappointment. Only got worse toward the end of the book. The author was more concerned with cramming messages down the reader's throat and the story felt stilted, the characters contrived.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as good as first two books in trilogy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rrj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rly good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this might be cool, but i dont know yet, what do you think don sulvoni?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fdjdjddjf
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi