The Green Mile

The Green Mile

by Stephen King

Hardcover

$27.00 $30.00 Save 10% Current price is $27, Original price is $30. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Green Mile 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 675 reviews.
BAMBAM808 More than 1 year ago
Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism and Death Row. He has worked there all his life, but never before had been in a situation in where he has to choose between his job, the law, and possibly his life and doing whats right. This is definitely a book for you if you like a suspenseful book! Don't mind the number of pages! I definitely recommend this book for all you people who like a book about moral, justice, segregation, and a little twist at the end! Stephen King uses his fantastic, horrific ideas and blends it with a realistic conflict that keeps you on your toes. I couldn't put the book down! During my free time, I read page after page after page! Honestly, I was never a reader to begin with! But, this book changed my perspective of reading! After reading this novel I craved for more of Stephen King's fantastic books. I now am convinced that King is one of the best authors, his way of style, his lessons, and his use of imagery (especially the execution of Delacroix, or the scene with Melinda Moores), Stephen King truly brings his art to life! I believe everyone should take some time out of their busy life to read this book. I give Stephen King a hand for another successful novel.
seaniniowa More than 1 year ago
After watching the movie several times, I finally got around to reading the book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. While not tracking entirely with the movie, it tells the exact same story and then some. If you are a fan of the movie, you need to read the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, The Green Mile by Stephen King, shocked me. As a ninth grader who does not get around to recreational reading, I was absolutely surprised how engaging this book was. I have never read a book that grabbed my attention like this one has. The first thing that I noticed about the book was the the author's name, Stephen King, which I have seen all over television commercials that are advertising a new T.V series or something. So I thought I would give this book a try. I am so happy that I did, Stephen King's ability to put such emotion in a book is outstanding. The description is so precise. He easily paints every scene that he describes in my head. You might be thinking that you probably won't like it, because you are not a reader. Well I'm like that, someone who finds it almost impossible to read a book that is uninteresting. But, this book is completely worth all the long hours you put in. I was completely drawn to this book. It provided me with a completely new look upon reading books, I have never actually wanted to keep on reading like this before. I strongly urge people to pick up a copy of this book. I loved the description used in every page. Stephen King can take such a minor detail and dilate it into something much more. Beside the amazing emotion and description, I loved the character John Coffey. He is a tall, broad African American who seems very mysterious in the beginning of the book. However, I like to compare him to a modernized, human form of God. He takes in all the bad of the world and only tries to release good and peace. He must have looked quite intimidating at first because he towers over the guards and is so thick. However, John does not try to cause any trouble, he remains calm. John Coffey was a great contribution to why I adore this book. Along with the characters, emotion, and description; I liked the perspective that Stephen King used. The way that the book is written in one of the guard's perspective is momentous. If it was written in John's perspective, then it wouldn't give the book as much suspense. The guard's perspective gave the ability to give a great description on what John looks like. Overall, this book is worth the time that you put in to read it. You can take many values that the book touches upon. I strongly urge you to take the time to find this book and let your mind get lost in the pure beauty of the book.
Kerri Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was the best book i ever red it will put a smile on your face tears on the page and laghter in the air. I have never loved a book so much, i recomend this book to anyone who is intrested in reading such an magnifisent book. I would not let kids read it if the are not yet mature enough to handle such graphic details.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was by far kings best work! His use of characters and interaction was mezmorizing, the way he had Del, and John, and Paul, it made you feel like you were on the mile jsut off to the side. Wow If I could give it more stars I would!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
my favorite book series of all, ive read the whole series like four or five times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a sweet, loving book. I loved the movie, but the book is better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that this is definitly one of the best books ever written. From beginning to end, it makes perfect sense and no one could have written a better ending or made it so touching and realistic. And coming from a teenager- that is saying a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Answered so many questions left over from the movie. The print was not great but the story was
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To start off, I must say that the story was very powerful and exceptional! However, what killed the book for me was how crude King was. Now I know that it was set in a prison setting and crudeness is a given, but it was crude throughout the whole book when it wasn't necessary. Overall it was an amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All moviewatchers will not get the full story that is in this book. This book will be better than anything that a movie could ever reproduce. The description that he puts into each scene is amazing, and he can transition the scenes so well that it doesn't even feel like the end of a chapter, but the beginning of another. The way he paints each character makes them seem as if they are real people and who you will care about. Some characters you will come to hate, and some you will feel terrible for. If you've saw the movie and liked it, you need to read this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the most, if not the most emotionally moving books i have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is in my top 5 favorite Stephen King novels!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it. One of the few book made to movies that the movie was just as good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of King's best. Even better than the movie and that's saying something. If you think he only writes horror, think again! A wonderful book.
BookLoverLNB More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book by Stephen King!
uberreader More than 1 year ago
Seven words- extremely moving and one of King's best.
Door96 More than 1 year ago
This was the first Stephen King novel that I read. I read it when I was in sixth grade, and it got me to start reading more often. I purchased the original 6 part serial novel set at a book sale for 6 dollars, and it was so worth it! All in all its a very good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would give it 10 stars if I could! I actually read this book when it was initially released, and the wait between books almost killed me! I don't think he could have pulled off a serial with any other novel he has done. This is a true accomplishment on his part, and a gift to those of us who've read it. A heart-wrenching tale of 'good prevails all' with a dash of the enlightening supernatural -- Of course, it wouldn't be classic King without a bit of supernatural! Overall, being an avid reader of all genres, this is by far one of the best works I've ever read. The light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel theme is a pleasant hiatus from the dreary unknown of his usual writings. The book is a true inspiration that proves, once again, his undying talent for storytelling.
alyssama121 More than 1 year ago
Stephen King should stick to writing these sorts of books. Don’t get me wrong, I love most of his horror stuff, but it’s this sort of subtle supernatural genre that I think really shows his talents as a writer and story-teller since the horror element isn’t overshadowing everything else within the novel. The Green Mile is a little long, being comprised of 6 novellas and it is definitely slow-paced. That doesn’t mean it isn’t exciting, though! The slowness of the story really allowed me to delve into the characters and the story King has created. I felt like I got to know all the characters, especially Paul, whose first-person narrative it is. This made the action parts even better, since I had a connection with the characters and cared about them. I liked how the narrative jumped from Paul as an old man living in a nursing home to Paul as a middle-aged man meeting John Coffey. I think it added a lot to the intrigue, as there were multiple mysteries you were trying to solve at once. The Green Mile has a great message and is a compelling story that will leave you in tears by the end. I saw the movie before reading the book and honestly, if you’ve seen the movie, the novel won’t add all that much for you. The movie is very true to the book and captures the most important events. Naturally, the book has other elements that added to my appreciation of the story. The parallelism between the prison and Paul’s nursing home, for example, and a deeper understanding of the characters. There were some things I didn’t like — like I said, the pace was too slow at times. But then again, King’s books always seem to drag just a little bit for me. I also didn’t like how at times the characters all laughed at something as if it were hilarious, and I didn’t think it was funny at all. Besides that, though, it was a good story and I enjoyed the read. I definitely recommend this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Completely absorbing. A great read that rips your emotions from top to bottom and side to side
bookishjoxer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought the book was kind of dull in a way, but I loved it just the same.
ctmsnaco on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Have you ever read a book and been so affected by it that it had you in tears? The Green Mile by Stephen King is amazing!. I sat there tearing every few pages or so. It's incredible - the emotion, the feelings... Just the sadness that's presented. It's a prison story, but moves beyond that, touching on human sensibilities, on human emotions. What I can talk about, however, is the emotions that the books caused to arise in me.Do you believe that people can be evil? Hmm, let me be more specific. Do you believe that a person can be bad, or evil, without having any good in them? After reading this book, I would say yes, there are people who don't have any good in them. I know, I know - the book is fiction, but that doesn't mean that it can't describe what can actually exist in real life. One of the characters in the book was completely... I don't know if I can use the word evil in this context, but I guess bad, vicious, wicked, cruel would seem like the appropriate description. Even when people gave him a break, after seeing the cruelty, it made no difference, he continued the same backbiting, sadistic ways of the past. And it didn't matter how many times he was "forgiven" or let off, it was the same. One particular part that hit me hard was this."Then I understood why he had panicked, why he'd fought us so hard. He thought we were going to put him in with Wild Bill Wharton; that his punishment for the dry sponge was to be a dry cornholing from the resident psychopath. Instead of feeling sympathy for Percy at this realization, I felt disgusted and a hardening of my resolve. He was, after all, judging us by the way he would have behaved, had our positions been reversed.". A person like this can't help but think others will do the same to him as he would to others. I guess that holds true to a certain degree for everyone too. But any how, great book. I read it in 1 week - I couldn't put it down. You really should check it out!...
mistyd10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
still an all time favorite
skinglist on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of a handful of King where non-King fans don't believe you when you say this is a Stephen King book. Made me cry. I loved Coffey and Mr. Jinx.