Getting Mother's Body

Getting Mother's Body

by Suzan-Lori Parks

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Getting Mother's Body 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It is one of the best books I have read in along time. The story is so interesting and I loved the characters. I look forward to Ms. Parks next novel.
Djupstrom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I didn't care about any of the characters.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've never read anything by this author. The book jacket says she wonthe Pulitzer Prize for playwriters in 2002 for her play "TopDog/Underdog." I've never heard of it, either, so the only thing thatmade me pick this one up was the title.This is the story of a quest for buried treasure, set in 1963. WillaMae Beede was as fast as a race car when she was alive, going from loverto lover, doing whatever she felt like doing. She died after a badabortion, while her 10 year old daughter, Billy, looked on from thecorner of the room, hating her mother with everything she had in her.Willa Mae was buried in LaJunta, Arizona, by her lover Dill Smiles, inDill's mother's back yard, and she was buried with her most prizedpossessions, her diamond ring and her pearls.Six years later, Billy is living with her Aunt June and Uncle Rooseveltin a tiny trailer behind the gas station her Uncle runs in Lincoln,Texas. One day a letter arrives, telling Billy that her mother'sresting place is about to be plowed up and paved over to make a parkinglot for a new supermarket. Dirt poor and pregnant with an illegitimatechild, Billy knows that treasure is the only hope she has in this world,so she sets her mind to go to LaJunta, dig up her mother, and get thejewels. So, she steals Dill Smiles' pickup truck, talks her aunt anduncle into going with her, and heads for Arizona, with Dill in hotpursuit. Along the way, we meet some other members of the Beede familywho live between Texas and Arizona and the travelers stop to visit, eat,wash up and move on, with one of the family members in tow.This book is written entirely in the first person, with each chapterfrom another person's point of view. It's written in the vernacular,exactly as the people themselves would talk. Every character in thebook is black and Parks really captures the feeling of poor black peopleliving in the south in the early 1960s.I found this book pretty entertaining, but hardly engrossing. A coupleof plot twists along the way and a conclusion you aren't led to expectat the end. It was a nice change of pace and I enjoyed it. A pleasantway to pass a couple of summer afternoons.
mnlohman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Five months pregnant, Billy Beede heads up to Texhoma, Texas, to marry her fiance, Clifton Snipes, who designs individualized caskets for a living, Unfortunately, upon her arrival in Texhoma, Billy discovers Snipes' wife with baby #7 on the way.
libraryrobin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good little novel set in 1963 Texas. Pregnant girl sets out to recover the rumored treasure that is said to be buried with her mother. Story unfolds through short vignetted told from the different vignettes told from the different characters perspectives. Good quick read
suesbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting portrayal of life of black family in the south in the 60's. Written from many points of view, which was sometimes difficult to keep in mind, but did add interest to the story. Motives of characters sometimes difficult for me to understand.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a funny story and a fast read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was really good!! A quick read. The story is told from several different prespectives. I would highly recomend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Parks' daunting theatre credits assured me that I would love this book. Although at times the narrative is surprisingly Morrison-esque with the pleasant tones of Faulkner I found it an enjoyable read and entertaining story. Not the most original of it's kind but promises to bring more good things from it's author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everyone appeared to be dimwitted most times, but in actuality, they all had a smart purpose for 'getting mother's body'. I enjoyed it from beginning to end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Getting Mother¿s Body was an interesting read it did not hold my attention like I thought it would based on the reviews. The way Parker shapes each character through a first-person narrative gave you an in depth feel of each character, but I still felt a lack of love for the characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A breezy fun read. AS I LAY DYING is one of my favorite books. But this is much more fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was fast-paced and funny most of the time. Parks is skilled at putting the reader right there in Texas. Some of the characters' voices occasionally seemed the same but this did not disctract too much from the plot. Ah, and a story with a happy ending - so rare these days!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The reason this book is so enjoyable,is because you are thrown into a dramatic story line straight away.You dont have to read a thousand chapters to understand what is going on, which for me hightend the excitement and made me want to read on until the very end.The way in which the book is written is, I think, very clever and something I have not seen in other books I have read.I like the way you get to know about all the characters on a personal level very early on in the story because it helps you appreciate the story more.The storyline flows so easily from page to page making it very hard to put down. All in all a very delightful and enjoyable read.