Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars

Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars

Audio CD(Unabridged CD)

$33.45 $39.99 Save 16% Current price is $33.45, Original price is $39.99. You Save 16%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars 2.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 128 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not finish this disgusting book. It is a total waste of money. I thought it would be an easy read with some fun Hollywood gossip how wrong I was. First of all the people Mr. Bowers writes about are dead, they can't defend themselves. Probably alot of it is true but what I found truly disturbing were his multiple accounts of being molested as a child and his repeated belief that these encounters were normal. He actually thanks his first abuser farmer Peterson for "revealing a whole new world to me" and believes "he cared for me in a very special way". This after Mr. Peterson fondles him and then masturbates in front of him. Scotty Bowers was seven at the time. How disgusting. There are other accounts of abuse with adult men and these too are recalled fondly and with no remorse or shame. This begs the question: if Mr. Bowers thinks what happened to him as a child was normal, has he engaged in this behavior with children himself as an adult? Please do dont waste your money on this pedophile propoganda disguised as Hollywood dish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Bowers' accounts of being molested as a boy and young teen by neighbors, newspaper customers, religious figures and others are truly unsettling. Most of the Hollywood stars he describes as gay, I had already known they were. I had just never heard such explicit details before. Mr. Bowers did do a good job conveying the "aura" of life in 1950s Hollywood. I feel sad for his lost childhhood.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was so really excited when I saw the review of this "book" in "People". Ordered it from B&N ASAP! What a complete and total waste of my time and money. This book is not well written. I despised the overused "I had a friend who went by the name of". What atrocious wording. I am certain that there are aspects of the truth in this fairy tale, but there are no real details. This poor "man" remembers all the stars but not the names of the people in his little black book. And while the people he so easily writes of are gone, their family members and fans are still here. I had problems with his story about servicing 15 or so Catholic priests per week when he was a very young boy. I also had trouble believing that a group of hardened men playing poker in some bar backroom would go silent when Scotty walked in because they all adored him so. PLEASE! Anyone can say that they have had sex with the rich and famous. Anyone can write about it. Some have and it caused them some serious repercussions. I am guessing that is why the oh, so noble, Mr. Bowers wrote only of the dead and defenseless. What an ego! What a truly pitiful excuse for a book. Shame on you "People" for stooping so low as to review it. Shame on you, Mr. Bowers for the sham!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Delusional old man. Read it after seeing feature in People. Waste of money and time. SMUT!
KPShrewsbury More than 1 year ago
Scotty Bowers lives in a fantasy world where he tries to persuade the reader that all of the facets in this book are believable.........i started reading thinking "wow, this is unbelievable....." and as the story (yes, story) progressed, I realized i was being had!!! Waste of money......ridiculous.......vile..........don't bother!
misterhollywood More than 1 year ago
A lot of people are trashing this book. Well anyone that knows these celebrities know that he's telling the truth. Only complaint is i didn't need to know that much about Charles Laughton. I am glad that the Hepburn-Tracy love affair was exposed for what it was.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I can't help but doubt the veracity of Bowers's claims, this is a deliciously dirty read, sure to please any connoisseur of smutty gossip. Definitely not for The Midwestern Christian Mothers' Bookclub.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I too could not finish reading this disgusting book. It is a TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY and TIME.. I saw this book featured in People Magazine and thought it would be a fun Hollywood gossip read. But instead it was a huge disappointment, disgusting book that glorifies pedophiles. I totally agree with the review "PEDOPHILE PROPGANDA" posted before me. Your review is exactly how I feel. Just wish I would have waited to read the reviews before wasting my money on this piece of trash.
cy-12_34 More than 1 year ago
Terrible book. This type of expose has been done before and done better. The writer must be the most altruistic guy in the world. 40 years of being a pimp (when he wasn't tricking himself) and he never made a dime off of it. How noble!!!
S1024 More than 1 year ago
This book is definitely trash.....deliciously lascivious. Totally without merit. No one in it is alive to defend themselves. But isn't it what we all suspected all along? Buy it if you love some good dirt......whether you believe it all or not.
Still_Inquisitive More than 1 year ago
I found Full Service to be as described on the B&N site. I hadn't read any reviews of the book because I found it referenced in another book I was reading that I also liked. I'm not ashamed to have a long-time interest in gossip. I don't feel guilty for buying this book. I bought it for the "dish" on what went on at that gas station I had heard about. Having lived in Hollywood for 15 years, I can say that the glitter was tarnished long before this book came out. Is all of it true? Well, is all gossip true? I take the book at face value. If any parts of it are slander or untrue, then Scotty would have been sued. I haven't heard of any lawsuits. This is one of the few books I read from cover to cover. The back cover says the book is shocking, so mid-America be warned! To someone who lived in Hollywood for many years, it is not shocking. I think Scotty was honest when he said in the author's notes that the book reflects incidents and personalities as he recalls them. It is good for the other reviewers to warn potential readers of possibly offensive items in the book. But let's face it, this is NOT a book for children and is not meant to be. I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book isn't anything that I would normaly pick up...but since I was going to sit on the beach and not think about anything I thought it may be a fun read. It was a very easy book to get into and went quickly...those are the kinds of books that I like reading while relaxing. I thought it was interesting that even back in the day people were judged by who they preferred to "hook up" with. I liked the fact that even the rich anf famos are just normal people too!
Anonymus42 More than 1 year ago
Please believe every single word of the the reviews with one star. This is a vile, disgusting work by a delusional old man. Not worth your time or money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fascinating but ultimately very light weight look at the life of Scotty Bowers, pimp and prostitute to the Hollywood stars. He supposedly tells all about the famous movie stars, both men and women that he's ever had sex with. Whether you believe everything you read in this book is up to you. I'd take everything he's written with a grain of salt. I mean, according to Mr. Bowers, Hepburn and Tracy were actually gay and that they contrived this great love affair they supposedly had just to remain relevant and to disguise the fact that they were not straight. Would you believe this? I'm not sure myself. There's alot of anecdotes which would satisfy any reader looking to find out the sex lives of their favorite old time movie stars. As for Scotty Bowers , he portrays himself as basically a simple man with a very healthy sexual appetite who was lucky enough to find himself hobnobbing with the rich and famous. His life other than tricking and hooking is very mundane. He had an affair with a young woman, got her pregnant and then took care of both the woman and their daughter. He suffered some devastating losses in his family but continued on. He remains on good terms with everyone and retired happily with a nice woman he married. One day, I hope someone will write a real biography of Scotty Bowers and tell us what he really is like as a person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enlightening and interesting. The man has had quite a life and I'm shocked that he escaped AIDS, but happy he did. Eye-opening read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scotty Bowers has managed to share a sensitive environment with grace and compassion. I wish could have known him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not for prudes or uptight people. It frees people from the great lies they had to live because so much of America is judgmental and unchristian in its attitudes. Scotty Bowers was a hero in war and a hero in peace. I'm sure his famous and very public friends thanked god for sending such a giving and liberated man to their assistance. The author clearly loved most of the people he dealt with and they clearly adored him. Bless Scotty Bowers and all the sweet, kind and progressive people like him.
HowardG2 More than 1 year ago
I have no idea if this guy is full of it or not, but Gore Vidal and some others vouch for him. And he doesn't seem out to hurt anyone, only portray what a good time he had pleasing people. He seems pretty happy-go-lucky, and his rollicking adventures with golden age stars are a real hoot. There is some sadness towards the end as the party has to end (symbolized sharply by William Holden's death), but he never lets his spirits get down, not ever, and I can see him going on forever, shouting like Falstaff, "Give me life!"
WLASteve More than 1 year ago
All those negative reviews with words like 'smut!', 'trash' and 'disgusting' just made me want to read this book more. Not particularly well written and at times repetitious, but still interesting enough to keep my attention. Graphic? Yes. But I think the title should`ve tipped people off as to what it was about, let alone the cover photos and the free sample read. Truthful? I believe so. As for trashing the image of people who are no longer here to defend themselves, I`ve heard rumors or had suspicions about many of these people and many other Hollywood stars long before Bowers wrote this book. I certainly don`t think any less of them whenever I see them on the screen. Granted, this book wasn`t for everyone but I just don`t see the big deal. People bought it to read gossip about Hollywood stars then they`re disappointed because it wasn`t the kind of gossip they wanted to hear.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is nothing but poorly written scum. I am very sorry I did not heed the advice of the reviewers. Not worth your money or your time, unless you want to read about some dirty old mans sexcapades. I didn't even finish this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was disgusting. Mr. Bowers talks about being molested as a child like it was a walk in the park with "wonderful, kind people." I thought the story would be a link to some old Hollywood gossip - no so. Don't waste your time with this book - it made me uncomfortable to think that he accepted such a horrific childhood as helping him to grow up. I stopped reading by chapter two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All the things that happened to you as a child were horrible. You worked so hard and always helped your momma! And I believe your story 100%. People with lots of money are dangerous.
JacksonJG More than 1 year ago
A fantastic read. Well written, and believable. About time someone opened up to all those known secrets.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had trouble putting this book down! Scotty not only writes in an engrossing way, he cleverly writes in a way that really brings old Hollywood to life! Fun read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to say, I love this book, I am actually a bit jealous of Scotty’s incredible life. To the people who gave this book a bad review, open your eyes, open your hearts but most importantly open your minds, love comes in all form and if you are closed off to it it will surly pass you by. Blaine J Pourciau San Antonio Texas