Flashfall

Flashfall

by Jenny Moyer

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.19 $10.99 Save 7% Current price is $10.19, Original price is $10.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Flashfall 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Flayre More than 1 year ago
Fast-paced and riveting, you won't realize you're reading a YA novel. The characters are real, the premise is gritty, and not everyone is going to survive. The story grips a part of your soul and won't let go. I cannot wait for the sequel.
NckEast7 More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutely amazing!!! I read about a book a week, and it has been a very long time since something has captivated me like this. You instantly fall in love with the two main characters. Heck you fall in love with the whole town, they're so close. I was on edge by chapter 1 and HAD to know what happened next. This book has everything: fantasy, suspense, heroism, twists and turns, politics, romance,etc. And it's so well written. And there's a constant reference to being a hero to survive and not giving up hope, which some of us need reminders of sometimes. Thank you Jenny Moyer, you did Iowa proud!
brittanysbookrambles More than 1 year ago
Flashfall absolutely BLEW ME AWAY. I went into this book with zero expectations, and it was so much more than I ever could have expected or imagined. Not only is Flashfall one of my favorite 2016 debuts, but it's now one of my favorite books of all time! If you're looking for a brilliant, swoony, heart-stopping dystopian, look no further—Flashfall is "the one" for you. Honestly, I could (and I have) re-read this book over and over again and never get sick of it—it's simply that wonderful. The stakes in this book are so incredibly high that it left me breathless and don't even get me started on how fantastic the main ship is because . . . THIS SHIP SAILS ITSELF! Even if you're not typically a fan of dystopian novels or you've been disappointed by many of them in the past, I highly urge you to give this one a try. If Flashfall doesn't change your mind, nothing will.
shadowkissedreader More than 1 year ago
” Step in my steps”- Orion So initially I have been on a sci-fi kick and Im so thankful that I saw this gorgeous cover and tag line that immediately caught me and made me buy it on the stop. FlashFall by Jenny Moyer is a sci-fi/dystopian ya novel that surrounds a slew of characters, the two main ones being Orion (Epic naming choice, my favorite constellation) and Dram. They are cavers, which in their world means they are forced everyday to go into caves and mine for a very rare element called cirium. They have to do this because it’s what keeps the people mostly safe from the Flash Curtain which is the main problem in this world. Its pretty much a permanent highly radioactive wall that also has storms and what not to keep things interesting and most of the world dealing with radiation. The cavers are what is known as Subpars they have a bit more resistance to radiation then most. Anyways they discover something is really wrong with this situation and people are determined to stop them from finding some secrets out. Just to tell you how much I love this book I read it in 24 hours! I was immediately engrossed in a heart stopping, and wrenching world that had me having to take a mental break on page 25. It’s fast pasted, packed full of action, romance that melts your heart and just wow…WOW is all I can really say. It’s one of my top all time favorite books now. I cannot wait for book two. If you love books like The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Maze Runner, The 100 you will LOVE and I mean LOVE this book.  I could talk about this book till the flash bats come home lol {inside joke}  but then it would be a madhouse of spoilers so I will leave you with a few of my favorite quotes along with the book trailer which is a must see.  //  5 out of 5 stars!!!! “We only have ashes for stars.” “He scrapes two parallel lines, tilted at an angle. It means- This way out.” “I won’t leave you, I won’t let anything steal you away.” “We are the fortunate ones..”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crushing oppression, sci fi adventure with a hint of magic, weird geology, terrifying creatures, and an entire planet that is trying to kill you? What's not to love? I had a lot of fun reading FLASHFALL, even though it's the kind of sci fi post-cataclysm adventure that's about a world that's been wrecked and all manner of terrible things happening to people who really don't deserve it, which doesn't sound fun AT ALL, but there's so much action it works out. The world-building is delightfully nasty and imaginative--there are critters that make my skin crawl!--and there are constant obstacles thrown up every time our beloved characters make any progress. But I was rooting for them! Especially Orion, who is so determined to kind a better life for herself and her loved ones, even in the face of a system that is rigged to defeat her at every turn. All in all a really enjoyable sci fi (with a bit of weirdness that may or may not be magic) book that takes place in a world I find endlessly fascinating but absolutely do not ever want to visit under any circumstances. EVER.
Aila More than 1 year ago
Flashfall is the epitome of what I adore about science fiction and dystopian books. We have a social hierarchy, a world that’s causing the death of humans, and a main character who’s willing to carry out revolution to save the people who are treated unjustly. I haven’t read as many science fiction books as I would have liked this past year, but I’ve read enough to become enthralled by the new ideas Flashfall brings to YA literature. In Orion’s world, a flash curtain has appeared that creates immense radiation levels that cause people to die, or slowly become immune to some of it – a Subpar. It also divides the mining outposts and the protected city of Alara. Already this schism creates a gap between the different people of the world. "My father would call it something different – bioadaptability. That’s really what we Subpars are, adapted to the curtain’s fallout and resistant to its elements in ways that Naturals aren’t." Orion is the lead ore scout of Outpost Five, and her and her mining partner Dram’s goals are to mine 400 grams of cirrium, the element that negates the effects of radiation. Once they complete that, they get to enter the protected city of Alara, never having to mine again. But… things aren’t all that simple. The Congress, who dictates their livelihood, are not that nice and don’t take well with misconduct. Orion’s stubborn and willful nature clashes with their representatives throughout the book as she searches for a better lifestyle for her and her people. This behavior leads to consequences where survival, sacrifice, and fear becomes a dominant part of the people’s lives. "The director is sending us down nine to teach us a lesson. He expects cavers to die completing a nearly impossible task. If we pull this off, it will say more than breaking the sign ever could." It would show that we are more than what the Congress tells us we are. Moyer brings readers to one startling and gripping event to the other, leaving us on the edges of our seats. The pace is continuous and quick, allowing for a quick read where you can’t help but devour the words the find out what happens next. In the tunnels, Orion and Dram have to deal with deadly predators like mutant, venomous bats and violent gulls that easily become the death of them. Eventually they get sent past Outpost Five and travel even farther from there to discover the secrets that Congress hides from them to continue to control and manipulate them. There’s also an emphasis on family that corresponds to their survival, as Orion and Dram follow their dead parents’ footsteps and finds out that their parents knew more than they were saying before their death. (Except Orion’s dad, who’s still alive and important to the plot.) Read the rest of my review on HappyIndulgenceBooks dot com!
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
*** Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Flashfall by Jenny Moyer Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Publication Date: November 15, 2016 Rating: 4 stars Source: ARC sent by the publisher Summary (from Goodreads): Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city. But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it. What I Liked: This book came highly recommended to me, by several fellow bloggers. I am a huge fan of YA science fiction, and I was told that I would enjoy this book. I'm happy to say that I loved it! I'm very impressed and I'm glad I did not pass on the opportunity to review this debut. I haven't been reading many dystopia novels (I'm tired of them), but I loved this one. Orion is a miner in Outpost Five, in tunnel nine. She's one of a group of Subpars who can stand the radiation in the mines, and she and her people mine cirium that Congress needs. She and Dram, her caving partner, are the best. Orion is close to that magical goal of 400 g of cirium, and she and Dram go into the treacherous parts of the tunnel to try to reach that number. But reaching that number turns out to mean nothing. Orion and the other Subpars quickly realize that they aren't serving their duty - they are slaves, and there is no way out. Orion has always dreamed of getting past the flashfall and seeing the sky, and she'll fight to have the chance to do so. This novel is entirely science fiction, in which is has a dystopia-esque feel to it, and there is an abundance of fictional science to the story. Cirium is an element that Congress needs to protect the city - or so the Subpars are told. The Subpars are told that if they reach 400 g of cirium, they can live in the protected city, where the Naturals live. But why if this is a lie? Hence where the dystopia aspect comes in. At first, Orion and the Subpars of Outpost Five feel grateful to Congress, and they feel like their are serving their duty as Subpars. But Orion feels trapped, and begins to speak out. Without meaning to, she starts a rebellion, and like dominoes falling, one event leads to another, in different sectors of the land. One thing that stuck out to me (one of many) was the world-building. This is an intensely unique world that Moyer has created. Tunnels and caves? You don't see a lot of that in YA. Dystopian worlds, yes, but Moyer has something unique here. The flashfall, flash curtain, tunnel gulls, cordons... terrifying and intriguing stuff! This book is told from Orion's first-person POV. I adore Orion! She is fearless and brave, a lot impulsive and entirely selfless. Read the rest of my review on my blog, The Eater of Books! - eaterofbooks DOT blogspot DOT com :)
WishEnd More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars FLASHFALL was a unique premise and setting in a post-apocalyptic world where nothing is as it seems and humans are a resource for the government. Readers will find themselves cheering on Orion and Dram as they fight to survive and for love and family. A story that is sure to keep you turning pages. I loved the characters! Orion is a mix of vulnerability and strength as she tries to protect those she loves. Dram is the perfect knight in shining armor. He begins a little like the boy-next-door who Orion has loved for forever who watches her back and turns into the man who might return her love. There were a bunch of side characters and some serious villains. The story is really unlike anything I've read. I felt like the first half was paced fairly well and then the second half was almost like plot points with not a whole of of transitioning between or time for them to really dig in. It was like the characters had to check these things of their list and went around in a circle doing it. There was one terrible and desperate climatic moment after another. This is also where the characters are so tired they can hardly stand but have time to have some closed-door love scenes. I did get that they, and coincidentally the reader, needed to find out some information and go through some things, so it served its purpose in that way. The story also does end well with a lovely tie-in involving the stars that was very sweet. In the end, was it what I wished for? I enjoyed the story and appreciated how unique it was. I did want more from it, especially in that second half of the book. Regardless, I connected with these characters and I'm curious what is coming next for them. Content: Mild swearing, violence (some descriptive), and suggested closed-door scenes. Source: Received a complimentary eARC through The Fantastic Flying Book Club Tours, which did not require a review nor affect it in any way.