Five Days in November

Five Days in November

by Clint Hill, Lisa McCubbin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Five Days in November 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of all of the many books about President Kennedy’s assassination this is the one to read.  It is the only one written from cover to cover by an eyewitness, up close (really close) and personal.  It is well written in first person present tense.  Only Clint Hill could do that.   All of the other books about the assassination must use secondary sources or rumors.  That is not the case in “Five Days in November” because Clint Hill was there as shown in many of the photos.  He succinctly describes exactly what he saw and the narrative tracks the many photos so closely that there is no need for captions.  His narration gives meaning to iconic photos as well as images never seen before. It is rare indeed for such a dramatic and important historical event to be described fifty years later in such exquisite detail by a witness to the event.  The writing is tight, crisp, straightforward and unflinching without an agenda.  So many minute details are revealed for the first time such that the reader seems to be carried along on the fateful trip.  The emotions that we felt then seem to come back in full force.  The story is highly readable even though we know the ending and wish it could be different. Thank you Mr. Hill for sharing with us what you saw.  Even though it must have been difficult for you to relive those five days, this book is an important contribution to the historical record.  Everyone should read this book whether you are old enough to have experienced the horror and grief or young enough to only know about it second hand.  
DoreenJansen1 More than 1 year ago
Reading this book, you feel like you are walking in Clint Hill’s shoes for five straight days, and every step is riveting.  From the morning of November 21 when he is with President and Mrs. Kennedy as they say good bye to John-John, through that long first day filled with motorcades and welcoming, exuberant crowds in three Texas cities, it seems like this trip is a huge success. And then the unthinkable happens. You know it’s coming, yet it is still so extraordinary to witness it through Clint Hill’s eyes.  Hundreds of beautiful photos alongside the narrative bring the story even more vividly to life.  Whether you remember those days, or you weren’t even yet born, this book is a must read for anyone who wants to know what really happened when JFK was assassinated, and why it changed the world forever. I can’t recommend this highly enough. Clint Hill is a national treasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book, it is part of US history. I found it a very personal account of the lives of the Kennedy Family, especially Jackie. I loved the book and read it in about two days.
suew5710 More than 1 year ago
Clint Hill was very informative with each detail of the five days in November during the iconic Dallas Motorcade. With his very discriptive explanation of details, you feel like you were right there with him on the trip the day of the assination of President Kennedy and the days following. His dedication of the President and Mrs. Kennedy shows just how dedicated the secret service really are. I thought this book would be just an ok book to read but I learned so much about those days, I didn't want to lay my book down. I completely enjoyed reading this book and learned to appreaciate Clint Hill and the many other secret service agents who put their life on the line to protect our President and his family. Well worth your time and money for this book!!
CelticReader More than 1 year ago
As we came to the 50th anniversary of President Kennedy's death, I wanted to hear from an eyewitness to the tragedy in Dallas. On the day of the assassination, I was 9 years old. Mr. Hill's recollections are a treasure for all of us who remember this day in our own way. Many thanks to him for his service and for this memoir.
Bookworm1951 More than 1 year ago
I've read many books about the Kennedy assassination and this is one of the best. Told through the eyes of Mrs. Kennedy's personal secret service man, it provides a more human and emotional spin on the entire tragedy. Having lived through these 5 days in 1963, it brought back so many emotions about that time. The nation truly stopped and did nothing but watch the news. Every channel, every hour broadcasted events live as they unfolded. This book was written with heart and gave us a much clearer insight as to what Jackie and those people closest to JFK were doing and feeling. Not just a documentary of facts. Lots of iconic pictures from that time. A real gem of a book. A must read for every history buff or those who just want to learn more about the tragedy in November 1963.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of his books, and this one contains photos that I have never seen before. It is interesting to read a book written by someone who was there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A glimpse into the workings of a Secret Service Agent who was in the crux of the most tragic event in modern US history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lived through this time and it brought back many memories. Very good reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The assassanation of president john fitzgereld kennedy was very sab
ReneeNewman More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It gave me insight into a part of the Kennedy era that I was unfamiliar with: the view from the Secret Service. I have always been intrigued by Jacqueline Kennedy. Mr. Hill was definitely a Jackie fan, while still trying to take you inside the daily details of being first lady. The amount of time spent away from the White House was eye-opening and the book stayed clear of any opinion on the rumored President's extra-marital affairs. I especially liked learning the inside details about the funeral, and events following the assassination. I hope you enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My brother is also a Secret Service agent and has little time or respect for Clint Hill or his book. Doreen Jansen
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very emotional story of a Kennedy Detail agent and the 5 days surrounding his trip to Dallas thur Kenneth's burial. Very touching.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating book. I found it difficult to put down. Truly makes you feel like a witness to history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago