Firewing (Silverwing Series #3)

Firewing (Silverwing Series #3)

Audiobook(Cassette)

$77.75 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Firewing 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
THORGODOFLIGHTNING More than 1 year ago
this saga was the greatest ive ever read in my whole life i loved the characters and i loved the dialouge and JUST EVERYTHING ABOUT IT but the one think i would reccomend to mr oppel......MAKE A NEW BOOK TO CONTINUE THIS ONE i was just devistated that shade died and i couldnt bear to have him marina and griffin apart i just couldnt stand it.... AND TO ALL OF YOU WISECRACKS OUT THERE THAT SAY THIS BOOK IS NOTHING BUT A PEICE OF %&#@ I WOULD RECCOMEND THAT YOU GO TO h%&$ AND KEEP UR COMMENTS TO YOURSELF this book was the best ive ever read and i dont want it dissed by some lowlife @#$%& i even cried at the end.... please mr oppel if you read this comment PLEASE make a new book PS the ending left me hangin it was too vague
dragonlady17 More than 1 year ago
This book is soooo good. You have to get this books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Silverwing seems amazing from what i've heard but the nook store doesn't have it..... please add SILVERWING TO THE NOOK STORE!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well I wish she would have added the first and secound book on tthis but you have to get the first two in real books: Silverwing 1 Sunwing 2 Firewing 3 Darkwing 4 Hooe I ws helpful!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED Silverwing. It was my favorite book of all time. The ending was kinda cheesy but the rest kept me hooked. It was surprise, after surprise, after surprise! Sunwing was a little less great but the ending blew me away. I could not help but smile when I read the ending of Sunwing. It would've been the perfect ending for the series too. But then Firewing came along and it was gut-wrenching. I actually cried in several parts of the book. And it's not because it had a poor vocabulary. The ending was dreadful. If you've read the other two books, I recommend that you do NOT read this one. The ending will leave you hanging to nothing. There are several times in the ending where it hints to a new book but, evidentially, Oppel won't be writing one any time soon.
joririchardson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved the first two books in this trilogy, which I read years ago. Though perhaps aimed toward a younger audience, I decided to read this book simply because the previous two were enjoyed so much in my middle school years.The plot was a bit too unrealistic - or perhaps it was the way that Oppel created the entirely new and unique Underworld. It was a courageous idea, to be sure, but one that was not quite pulled off.Also, each event seemed to drag on. The focus was placed mainly on the setting and detail of the deathly Underworld, instead of on the characters. I kept wishing that the author would introduce a twist of some sort.Once the old nemesis character of Goth was introduced into the story, I thought that the rest of the book was pretty predictable.However, I have to say that the ending was touching and well written. Certainly not a shock, but inspiring nonetheless.Fans of the first two books should read this conclusion to the story, but "Silverwing" and "Sunwing" were definitely better.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Shade's son, Griffin, is sucked under the earth during an earth tremor and falls into the Underworld, the land of the dead. Shade enters through the same fissure to rescue him. More is at stake than just the life of Griffin though; Griffin and Shade uncover a diabolical plot to take over the land of the living.This third book in the trilogy is by far my favourite. Just absolutely riveting. Many familiar characters make appearances and the new characters are endearing. The plot is dark and the Underworld is fascinating. The ending is heart wrenching and brought tears to my eyes. An exceptional book and a fitting end to the trilogy. I highly recommend this trilogy.
silverwing2332 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It gets a little confusing, but overall it is a great book, it has a lot of detail and some interesting plots. The only problem I had with it is that the action scenes could get a little muddled, its one of those books where you may have to reread a scene a couple of times to understand what happened, but overall it's a quick easy read. I really enjoyed how the story played out (with my screen name, you can see I'm a fan).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to mee first result for story contest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I &hearts your story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
( I might make a bat rp.) When he came to, he saw a bat standing over him with golden fur. " Who are you?" Asked Darkness. "My name is auroura. What's yours?" "Darkness. I'm Darkness. Where am I?" The bat said "You are in the coloney of the goldenwings. You look pretty pale. Are you okay?" " im fine. All i need is water." " you're lucky you landed next to a lake." Darkness instantly flew upward. "Where?" " Over there" came the reply from behind some trees. He flew past the trees and gasped a little. All around the lake were animals drinking water, and some bats were there too. He spotted auroura and she signaled him to come over. Darkness landed beside here and noticed a couple bats staring at him. "Why are they staring at me like that?" Auroura chuckled. "They've never seen a bat as black as obsidion in daylight before." "Oh. But still, why are they staring at me?" Auroura sighed. "I told you- oh. Because they think you're wierd." Darkness glided to the banks of the lake and started licking the water. After a few seconds, he was done. "Done!" "You're hungry, aren't you," asked Auroura." Yes." Darkness flew off into the air to catch some bugs. He instantly heard a tiger moth and zoomed straight at the sound. He opened his jaws, then, at the last moment, lunged at the right, catching the moth. He chewed greedily at the moth flesh, savoring the flavor, then swallowed. When Auroura caught up with him, he was bragging that he caught 3 tiger moths, which was true. "Really?" Asked Auroura, her eyes wide open. " Awesome!" They flew back to the goldenwing coloney. " are you going to sleep here?" " yes," said Darkness. Darkness looked out and saw that the sawn was slowly rising from the horizon. " It's dawn. we have to go to sleep." " okay." Came the reply. Darkness found an empty spot in the branch next to Auroura and fell asleep instantly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To all you people who couldn't find silverwing you just go to other books by this author and keep scrolling and you find it there
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OK guys if u think another book is comin out WHAT SHOULD WE NAME IT???? AND WILL SHADE BE REVIVED??? SO MANY QUISTIONS!!! BAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bn if you are reading this please add Silverwing. I bought a book online but i forgot that i was supposed to be in gifted and talented. So pleeeaaassseee add Silverwing . Please!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guys, think about it, there has to be another book, becuse goth is still alive. I think that griffin should steal goths life and use it to bring shade back to life. WHOS WITH ME?! And just by the way, if the author accauly reads these comments, dont bother writting another book if shade isint in it, it would suck without him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not finished but it does not seem as good as silverwing and sunwing. Sunwing is the best at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Firewing is in a tie with Silverwing for my favorite book in the series. It might be a little bit weird of me, but I thought that the ending was ok. I do wish that it was a tiny bit longer, and it is sad that Shade dies, but I thought that it was an interesting ending. It is a must-read! But you HAVE to read it in order, or it will be a little confusing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first time I read this book I loved it, now I wonder"Will I liike it on the nook, or not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anthony Terracina More than 1 year ago
Some people said that the ending was a cliff hanger but I don't think so. I think that the ending for Firewing was one of the best endings that a book could have. If Kenneth Oppel had described any more of the ending then it would have left you on a cliff hanger. I like that it didn't tell you that there was going to be another one because I hate waiting for the next book to come out. Overall, I loved the plot and would love it if there was another book coming out soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago