Finding Mr. Brightside

Finding Mr. Brightside

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Finding Mr. Brightside 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was the best book I've read in a long time. I was sorry when I finished the book, because the characters were so colorful, and the plot was not irritating in any way. I hope sequel is made to this book, and I can't wait to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book I've read since Eleanor & Park! Funny, fresh, poignant. 
JimBriggs47 More than 1 year ago
So many LOLs over the course of reading this book, but in between the laughs, there's also a softer side to it that features just the right amount of sentimentality. Loved it
BiblioJunkies More than 1 year ago
I am not ashamed to admit that I requested this book based on the title. I mean, I DID read the synopsis. But if I am going to be honest, this Killers fan was going to request this book from Netgalley no matter the subject matter. Fortunately, I’m smart enough (sometimes) to know that this wouldn’t likely have any Killers references. And unless I’m seriously missing something, it didn’t. However, that didn’t stop me from thoroughly enjoying Abram and Juliette’s story. Abram has been watching Juliette for a while now. Even he admits it’s kind of creepy. But to be fair it’s kind of hard to figure out how to approach the daughter of your dead father’s dead lover. Yeah. Awkward. When he runs into her at CVS he doesn’t waste the opportunity. They talk and he even convinces her to go with him to Taco Bell. But only for ten minutes. Juliette’s rule, not his. But, hey, Abram will take what he can get. Whether it was nurture or nature, Juliette’s mother has greatly influenced Juliette’s outlook on life. Since she is always suspicious, Juliette doesn’t fully trust her attraction to Abram. Nor does she trust Abram’s obvious attraction to her. So she proceeds with caution and distrust. It’s the only way she knows how to approach anything in life. But all that suspicion doesn’t stop her from carefully navigating a fragile relationship with her the son of her mom’s lover. Both Juliette and Abram (Juliette especially) worry that their attraction to each other can’t be separated from their dysfunctional shared history. But as they spend more time together they find that the chemistry is real. They also find a way to come to terms with their parents’ mistakes and to remember some of the good things their parents did when they were alive. Being a fan of contemporary YA and Adult romance/fiction, I try to be a little more forgiving of character flaws. Because, for me, that’s the point of contemporary fiction. To read about real people with real life problems and personalities. And, as we all know, real people are imperfect. These two main characters are young. And although they have experienced more than any teen should, they still lack some of the life experience and sensitivity that comes with time and age. At times, this is obvious in the way they refer to people and things. But that doesn’t take away from the growth they both experience. They both lift each other up. Abram helps Juliette be spontaneous and see the joy in the little things around them. Juliette helps Abram find the motivation he lost when he lost his dad. Their relationship had the possibility of being unhealthy but together their positive influences shine through. This ended up being another great addition to the world of contemporary YA. Not only are the main characters well developed, the adult characters are great too. Although they were originally connected because of mistakes made by their deceased parents, the real adult influences in their life are their surviving parents. Abram’s mom is full of love and laughter and it’s no surprise where he gets his ability to enjoy life. Juliette’s dad, although a bit absent-minded, is full of love for his daughter. A trait that makes all the difference in Juliette’s life by the end of the book. If you love contemporary YA as much as I do, I highly recommend you pick up and read Finding Mr. Brightside. Nat
SezjbSB More than 1 year ago
There are some books that capture you from just the synopsis, Finding Mr Brightside was one of those books, I was fascinated by the way that Juliette and Abram know of each other, Juliette's Mom and Abram's Dad were having an affair and subsequently died together in a car accident, and while they've lived down the street from each other all of their lives they've avoided personal contact, until the night they run into each other at a pharmacy, it's from this encounter they begin to spend a lot of time together and ultimately find kindred spirits in each other having both gone through the same thing. This story was so funny, heartwarming and cute, I adored it and finished it in one sitting and wanted to reread it immediately then and there it was just so good. This may just be one of my favourite books of the year so far. For those who love their contemporary romances with an original storyline, then you need to pick this one up.
AngieB23 More than 1 year ago
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
3 stars (like it)     I wanted to read this one because it sounded like the kind of love story that gets me every time... the one formed by tragedy.     The prologue didn't do much for me but I liked once we got into Abram and Juliette's heads and lives. We see right off, with them meeting at CVS that both were taking care of parents who aren't fully present, but also that Juliette is taking ADHD meds and abusing them even though she has a prescription and that Abram is on an anti-depressant. I think both are pressing issues for teens, knowing when meds are okay, helpful and what the line is with abuse.     As a side effect of the ADHD meds, Juliette feels a confidence that she normally doesn't have and she agrees to go get some food with him, and so their love story began. Their parents are against them being together but especially her dad. Abram's mom seems more resigned, and has always wanted Abram to keep an eye on her, but never this closely. Juliette is more of a free spirit, and just drops in pretty much when she wants, uses his computer, and steals his heart.     I enjoyed Juliette's growth, but wish that some was more self motivated rather than because Abram asked her to stop the meds. But I was still proud of him when he followed her suggestions of how to wean off of his. The ending was sweet and perfect for the journey of these two characters. The only reason that I marked it down is because while it is a story line that I enjoyed, and a good romance, it ultimately didn't stand out. Their meds, their parents (the dead ones also got attention and they were working through the cheating and the position they're in because of their relationship) I feel like it could have been more emotional.     Regardless of what I said about their reasons for recovery, I do like that they challenge the other. Juliette steps out of her comfort zone-- talking to others, trying new things, being open to stop the meds eventually. Abram was open to trying tennis again, something he was very good at, but something that was very associated with his dad.     I also didn't like the slut shaming. I get that Juliette didn't have the best self-esteem, but she def focused on someone Abram was friends with and in her mind and sometimes out loud, tearing down this other girl. I guess that her views of sex can be skewed as well because of her mom's affair, but associated just being on the pill with being a whore, or letting herself feel lust and passion in the same light.      I did enjoy the remaining parents' dysfunction and development. It took a lot to get Juliette's dad to face reality instead of depending so much on her, and being a legit writer hermit. On the other hand, Abram's mom was involved but not pushy. She would voice concern but respect his decisions. She didn't let her husband's affair with Juliette's mom effect her view of Juliette as a separate person.       The ending was sweet and perfect for the journey of these two characters. Bottom Line: Fast read, good characters with decent growth and a sweet romance, but not without issues.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Abram and Juliette have circled each other for a while the way people do when they go to the same school and live down the street from each other. Their lives only become inextricably linked when Abram's father and Juliette's mother die. In a car crash. Together. In the wake of the crash Abram and Juliette are both left reeling with grief and confusion over their parents' affair and sudden deaths. With few other coping mechanisms in sight Abram ends up on anti-depressants while Juliette self-medicates with Adderall. They never should have been friends. Except Abram likes Juliette and decides to say hello to her at CVS. No one is more surprised than Juliette when she agrees to go with Abram to Taco Bell. That's when what starts as a tenuous friendship might turn into something neither of them saw coming in Finding Mr. Brightside (2015) by Jay Clark. Finding Mr. Brightside alternates between Abram's and Juliette's first person narration. Because this book is so slim (224 pages, hardcover), much of the plot and character development is pushed off page with very little foundation to support the relationship between the two main characters. The plot also moves very abruptly from their first meeting to going off on a five day vacation together. Juliette and Abram are both damaged, honest characters. Abram comes off as a likable slacker while Juliette is brittle and high-strung. Unfortunately they are also both thinly drawn beyond those key traits. Juliette is particularly problematic. While her quirks and fears come from a very authentic place, the portrayal is fundamentally flawed. Every time Juliette contemplates her sexuality, even vaguely, she refers to herself as a whore. Furthermore, in asking Abram if he is attracted to another girl, Juliette repeatedly refers to a girl (a character referred to but never seen) as "that Asian." With the proper treatment, both behaviors can have their place in fiction. Unfortunately they are presented here without further comment and serve only to leave a bad taste in a reader's mouth. Finding Mr. Brightside is a fast and sometimes sweet story. It is also not a romance in the truest sense. What this story is--and what it does well, flaws aside--is focus on the recovery process accompanying a tragic loss and the people that can help others move past those dark moments. Possible Pairings: Catalyst by Laurie Halse Anderson, The Vast Fields of Ordinary by Nick Burd, Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You by Peter Cameron, How to Steal a Car by Pete Hautman, Rx by Tracy Lynn, The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider, How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford, The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp *An advance copy of this book was acquired for review consideration from the publisher*
ImaginaryReads More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like this novel. First, the title reminds me of the song by The Killers, and I wondered if and how Abram and Juliette's story would relate to the song. Second, the story sounds really cute (as is the cover for the novel). However, I just couldn't connect with the characters or their story. The chapters alternate between Abram and Juliette's perspectives. Finding Mr. Brightside is already short for a novel. In order to give each character enough page time, the chapters are cut short and aren't filled with many details. The result is that the story moves fairly quickly without elaborating on the characters thoughts and actions. It also made me confused about the nature of their relationship. Juliette's mom and Abram's dad died not too long ago on top of having an affair with each other. From Juliette's first chapter, we know that she isn't sure how to interact with Abram, so how do they end up kind of flirting with each other soon after we learn this piece of information? Juliette blames some of her bizarre actions on her medication, but it would have helped if some of the backstory had been set up before the pharmacy scene. (Such has how the families are coping, what their relationship is like right now, maybe what they're struggling with, and how their respective medications are influencing their lives.) As it is, Abram and Juliette fell flat for me. While some insight into their minds is provided, their thoughts don't tell us much beyond the superficial. I don't feel like we're really shown the core of their characters. In addition, their behavior seems juvenile, and because of the lack of backstory, the character motivation is lacking. It seems to me from Abram's first chapter that he has a crush on Juliette, but since when and how has the "tragedy" influenced his view of Juliette and his perceived chance of a romantic encounter with her? Juliette is harder to understand. Why does she blame her behavior on the medications, and does she view it as a good or bad thing? Why is she on the medication in the first place? I believe that these question will be answered later, but they haven't been answered 17% into the novel. In fact, 17% into the novel, I still don't know what makes them who they are. Not to mention that I'm still on the first night (the pharmacy night). By now, I would have expected the introduction to be over and the plot starting to move. For a tragic love story, I would recommend The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle. For a short, cute love story, I would recommend The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. My reviews for these novels are linked before. DNF 17% into the novel (the last third of which was skimmed)