Eve (Eve Duncan Series #12)

Eve (Eve Duncan Series #12)

by Iris Johansen

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eve (Eve Duncan Series) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 472 reviews.
Booker13 More than 1 year ago
Let me preface this by saying I have long been a fan of this author and have read every book she has written. I got "hooked" when I accidently picked up #8 in the Eve Duncan series, without realizing it was a series..no turning back, I quickly read 1 through 7 to get up to speed, then continued till I read the entire Eve Duncan saga and then everything else Iris Johansen wrote. That said, I was so anticipating some closure for me as a reader and for the long-suffering Eve. I do not appreciate authors who FORCE the reader to buy the next book and unless you are willing to chuck it all and say enough is enough you will now have to wait for July to see "what next" and then I am sure you will have to wail another 3 or 4 months for JANE to see POSSIBLY THE ENDING...COULD IT BE...or no wait, maybe we have to wait for her to write BONNIE before we can finishing sighing, crying and feeling bad and possibly feel a little BETTER for this character. I believe a good auther makes you care about the characters, makes you get caught up in the plot and surroundings. So for anyone reading this entire series, you are not reduced to the greed of the author. I bought this curled up and was so excited to get a bit of a glimpse into the past to hopefully finish the "future" Eve....not so. I had found her last couple of Eve books to be rushed and disjointed feeling. If you compare the first 3 or 4 and the read the last 3 alone, it felt rusehd, no real depth to the plot or characters, which may be hard to do when you are reliving the same...OH WOE IS ME AND MY POOR BONNIE over and over. But for the most part, there was reason to continue to read and HOPE. Until now. To so blatantly end a book where you must buy the next one to know what happened to a beloved character from book before????? unfair. I read one review where she states....Will Joe live? so I am not divulging anything not already spoiled by another reviewer (though why someone would put that in a review where someone may not have read the book is beyond me...that ruined it for them now didnt it)Until this point, each of the books in this series reiterated the Bonnie plot line and Eves work so that you really could just pick up say book #8 as I did and totally enjoy reading it on its own merit...not so any more. I believe we will find the same "cliff hanging buy my next book" ending when we read Joe...we can only hopefully HOPE that Jane finally gives this series its ending. You get captured by the story line...a murdered child....from the beginning, but the flaws become more evident with each and every book right down to EVE...is jane JANE or ADOPTED DAUGHTER JANE ADJ for short?? She is never just referred to as my "daugher" Jane. I was always curious why? I have friends with adopted children and they never say AND MY ADOPTED SON...it is and my son Josh...but every single book constantly refers to adopted Jane...like it is a poor thing...poor adopted Jane, instead of a loving thing. I don't feel it was wrong to hope for closure for EVE in a bookd titled EVE. Possibly the release lineup should have been Jane...then Quinn then EVE so the final chapter could have been final closure for the long-suffering Eve....and possibly for all fans looking to possibly see some happiness for this character. If you are looking for something to close this for you, keep looking.
SuperBookish More than 1 year ago
Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. Did not disappoint
GAYE BENNINGFIELD More than 1 year ago
Will not waste time or money on next two books
KRAMLC More than 1 year ago
I JUST FINISHED QUINN ,AS EVE LEFT ME HANGING. SADLY, QUINN ALSO LEFT ME HANGING. THE BOOKS ARE TOO WORDY AND DRAWN OUT. THE TRIOLOGY WOULD HAVE BEEN A GREAT BOOK IF ONE NOVEL AND LESS OF THE BACK AND FORTH THOUGHTS OF "SHOULD I OR SHOULDN'T I??" STUFF. I WILL READ BONNIE ONLY BECAUSE I AM COMPULSIVER AND MUST KNOW WHO DID MURDER HER. HOWEVER, I WILL PROBABLY SCAN OVER MUCH OF IT AS I DID WITH QUINN.
FlaBookworm More than 1 year ago
I have waited so long to get some type of closure on Eve's unending struggle to find answers about the death and whereabouts of her daughter. This book was very fast paced. I read it in a day and wanted to scream when I got to the last page. I can't wait till July when I can read Quinn. Will he live? Will he die? I almost don't want to know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read 10 of the 11 books in the Eve Duncan series. Start at the beginning and don't skip a book. Things happen quickly. This is not a foregone A+B+C=D book. There are twists, turns, cinkers, and eye opening surprises. Eve, her family, her friends, her clients, the missing and their families are people with lives - some better that others but all just people. Eve's dedication to her family and her craft open her up to many edge of the world moments and mind bogglikng turn abouts. The home by the lake provides Eve and her family a safe haven to step back form the madness - that is until it follows them home. Johansen's story telling draws you in. Step by step until your are as entrenched in Finding her daughter and the killer who stole her from Eve. You think you'll just quit this series, that is until the next one comes out and there you are buy or downloading the next one. Watch as each character grows and each step leads them and you closer to an answer. Keep reading about a woman of determination. I hope you enjoy this series as much as I am.
londieFL More than 1 year ago
I love her books, but I have to agree with some of the other ratings. I felt as if the author had lost her mind. I'm so sick of the Eve Duncan's series that I'm finding it hard to finish them. Iris is so repetitious in terms that people just do not use. Either Eve is Strong or she's Weak! please make up you mind. The phrase that she constantly uses is Now!!!! Now hand me a cup of coffee, Now get in the car, Now leave me along....OMG! lady get a Thesaurus, of course this may not help her as she may not be able to navigate it. I know that some may say this is fictitional, but as a writer you want your reader to become part of the charaters, so you have to make it believable. This series should have been laid to rest a long time ago. I'm a mother and if anything happened to my child I would be devistated, but not to this degree. Eve or should I say Iris would have done us justice by letting Eve put a gun to her head and put us all out of our misery. Don't eve get me starte on Joe, let me just say if this is what a Navy Seal is like, who need's them, the man is a weakling. She's never going to love you, she's to obscessed over finding her dead daughter and you are second fiddle, grow a pair. I'm going to finish this series as I want to lay it to rest, if she creates another Eve Duncan book I will leave it on the shelf. It's really a shame, because her other books that do not include this Charater are really well written, oh don't get me wrong, she definitly loves the Now!! phrase. For those of you that gave this series more than a couple of stars, are you insane or family members? I'm not here to insult, but really????? My girl friend read all her books with this author over a 2 week span and is so burned out by this Charater that she has stop reading, which is sad as we are avid readers. I have Quinn & Bonnie to go and I'm dreading it. I can usually read a book within a day or two, these last books are taking me weeks. Iris could have written one book and ended this series, but no she's so greedy that she had to break them into 3, forcing you to purchase them all just to see if we will finally get closure. The first part of the book is a recap of the last, and it's not just a few pages but a few chapters. I loved this Charater at first, but now I hate this Charater. She's definitly not James Patterson: now he knows what diverse is, even with his Alex Cross series. If you haven't started this series, my advice is don't....
PatriciaD47 More than 1 year ago
I was appalled when I read this book. Iris Johansen should be ashamed of writing about erotic sex of a sixteen year old. I have read her other books about Eve and was excited to read about Eve when she had Bonnie. I knew she was sixteen when she had Bonnie out of wedlock, but to write in detail about her erotic sex was to much for me. If Iris wants to write about something like this let her write it about an adult. Will not buy another book. Patricia D
Sandra Morris More than 1 year ago
I wasnt crazy about it.
Indyc9LD More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, and the Eve Duncan series. good read
Jayne43 More than 1 year ago
The book was fine and I liked her daughters father. Considering the price and its a cliff hanger for this and the next one I don't know that I will buy them. Especially at their price point.
KiwiKim More than 1 year ago
Another great Eve fix. The end is a tease, but I'm still happy with the book. I'm looking forward to the rest of the trilogy and learning those tidbits the author's been holding back on.
Marilee Skillern More than 1 year ago
Always wanted more details about Eve's early years. Many questions answered. Favorite author did not disappoint. Can't wait for Quinn!!!
Lynn Howard More than 1 year ago
Could not pit down cannot wait for sequel_Lynn
jonilee73 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I know, I know. This is not a Young Adult book. But I have been reading Iris Johansen's books since I was 12. So it counts. Kinda. For any followers who have read any of Iris Johansen's books, especially the Eve Duncan series, let me know. I don't know anyone who reads these and they are such fantastic books that I wish I had someone to share them with.The beginning of this book is set in Eve's past as she relives the event that lead up to the birth of her daughter, Bonnie. Eve meets John Gallo at 16 and lets her guard down with him in a way she has never done before. When he leaves for the Army she is sure she will never think of him again, until three weeks after he is gone she finds herself sick on her knees in the bathroom. All of a sudden Eve is certain that she will never forget John Gallo. She has her daughter and then sees Gallo's uncle one day when taking Bonnie for a walk and learns that John Gallo has been killed in action on a mission for the army.Fast forward to present day when Eve learns from a friend and CIA agent that John Gallo is now a suspect in Bonnie's unsolved murder. He never really was killed in action, it was all an army cover up and as it turns out, Gallo was in the area the same month that Bonnie disappeared. All Eve has ever wanted is to find her daughter's remains so she can bring her home and to find her killer. Now Eve is faced with a burning question. Could the man who gave her Bonnie also be the one who took her away?I have been waiting years (years!) to find out what happened to Bonnie and when I found out this trilogy was coming out and was going to shine light on the mystery I was thrilled. Iris Johansen has done it again with a book so real and so vivid that I felt like I was living on the pages.I also read Quinn, the second in the trilogy and I will be posting my review of that sometime this week. I can't wait for October and the final book in the trilogy, Bonnie, to be released. I hope to preorder it and I will be taking the first bus to Barnes and Noble to pick it up and chances are I will be reading it in the store because I won't want to wait until I get home.
jbemrose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I like the way it went back to the begining with her life. How her relationship with Bonnie's fother. I was so in to the book but when it ended. I was thinking what happens next. I could not wait until Quinn came out so i can find out what happens.
dasuzuki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my second book read from Iris Johansen and I am totally sold on her books. I loved this book and learning more about the type of person Eve used to be and who the father of Bonnie was and what type of guy he was. Eve has always come across as so strong and independent that it was interesting seeing this softer, more vulnerable side growing up with a drug addict for a mother. The character who really grabbed me in this book was by far John Gallo. His character was a bundle of contradictions. He had this hard, mercenary and cold blooded side that terrifies but then he has this sweet, protective side who sticks up for those who are innocent and being preyed upon by others. I have to admit he totally won me over and I was really hoping he would not turn out to be the murderer of Bonnie. Johansen really keeps you wondering did he kill her, is he hunting down the person who killed her, will we ever find out who the killer is? I must say Johansen definitely knows how to keep the reader at the edge of their seat.Catherine Ling is also back in this book which I'm glad for since I really enjoyed her in Chasing the Night. She's still tough as nails and totally devoted to Eve. Quinn is also present and he is the only character I am not really feeling. I think that while someone new to the series can just jump in and still enjoy this book I definitely need to go back to the start of the series to learn more about Quinn. I don't dislike him but I am not feeling the connection to him that I feel with the rest of the characters.Still this is an absolute must read and will leave you clamoring for the next book.
dhaupt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the beginning there was ¿Eve¿ come read the first in the brand new trilogy that will finally answer all our questions.Eve Duncan after all the efforts not to, turned out to be more like her mother than she liked when at 16 she turned up pregnant, but Bonnie soon became the apple of her eye and the sun in her morning, one day 7 years later the sun stopped rising when Bonnie was kidnapped and murdered, but her body has never been found. Eve became a forensic sculptor to bring other lost children home, and in the same moment of her greatest tragedy met the man who stands beside her always, Joe Quinn. But Eve has one constant dream, a dream that has often come with a price between Joe and she and that dream is to bring Bonnie home. In Eve we will relive her early years and finally be introduced to the boy who broke through that tough untouchable exterior to find the hidden Eve and fathered Bonnie. We will in fact get as close as we ever have to finding out who killed Bonnie and if Eve and Joe survive the answer they may not survive the perpetrator.Ms. Johansen amazing teller of tales has really outdone herself this time as she reveals secrets that her characters have kept for decades. She will do it with the storyline that have kept fans coming back year after year and have garnered new fans at every episode, the real story of what happened to Bonnie Duncan. She will do it with her trademark to the point narrative that works so well with her very direct and in your face characters. Some of these characters will be new to us and some will be like family or old friends but all of them play an intricate part of this story. Is this a love story, yes, but it might be a stretch to call it a romance even though there are love scenes involved, but they only exist in the periphery, but periphery or not they will still steam the lenses of your glasses, so keep out of reach of children and on the top shelf of the bookcase. Wherever you want to file it one thing for certain is that this is a thriller from the nail biting beginning to the edge of your seat ending.Whether you¿re the biggest Eve Duncan and Joe Quinn fan or a first time visitor to their world, you will not be sorry you made the trip.
dearheart on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
CIA Agent Catherine Ling believes she owes Eve Duncan a favor for helping to find her son. Eve¿s daughter, Bonnie, had been killed years ago and the killer has never been caught, nor has the girl¿s body been found. Eve needs closure. Catherine is relentless in using her resources to pull together possible suspects, and one is shocking to Eve; Army Ranger John Gallo, Bonnie¿s father, reported dead by the military so long ago. Joe Quinn came into Eve¿s life when Bonnie went missing and has been her partner in life ever since. If John is as crazy as she¿s been told, she doesn¿t want Joe or Catherine in harm¿s way as she tries to find answers that also involve Army Intelligence and a serial killer. Of course, neither her friend nor her lover is going to stay away when Eve¿s life is in danger. This is my second Eve Duncan book; I¿d also read Chasing the Night. So while this isn¿t quite a stand-alone book for me since I¿ve met the main characters, I¿m sure I¿m missing a great deal when it comes to Eve¿s obsession with finding Bonnie¿s body and the killer.The book started off slow as Catherine jolts Eve with the news that John Gallo is alive and a possible suspect. We then take a side trip back in time to when Eve met John and we see their relationship, the circumstances of her life and how determined she is to get make something of herself. This drags on, but is important.This is the first book in a trilogy within the Eve Duncan series where hopefully by the end of it Eve will finally get some closure. On the whole the story is a decent read, but it would have been easy for me to walk away from it, perhaps because I¿m not emotionally invested in the characters from the earlier books. Some of the action was anti-climatic, especially in the middle of the story, but the interweaving stories of each of the `bad guys¿ was done well. And beware. There is a major cliff hanger. Good thing the next book, Quinn, is coming out in July. Reviewed for Vine Voice
dgmlrhodes on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book Eve is a continuation of the series about Eve Duncan, a forensic sculptor that does skull reconstructions to help families bring closure to their losses. Throughout the series, Eve is continuing to search for her missing and presumably dead young daughter Bonnie. This segment of the story focuses more on Eve as a young girl as well as Bonnie's biological father who enters into the story to help Eve find their missing daughter. (He had been captured from the Rangers and presumed dead) This is a nice continuation of the series, but could also be read as a stand alone novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A definite page burner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was far too long-winded to be left at a cliffhanger. Too much went on in this book that was unnecessary. Leave out the fluff and give an actual ending. Those who read this series will read the next installment anyway. You don't have to force them to continue reading. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago