Enchantée

Enchantée

by Gita Trelease

Hardcover

$15.19 $18.99 Save 20% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $18.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Enchantée 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Amy Smith Carman 8 months ago
I adored this book! It's like a dystopian Cinderella meets the eve of the French Revolution! I loved everything about this book! There is almost nothing I would change. The author writes in such a realistic and detailed manner that I felt like I was living amongst the pages of her world! I also have not read much historical fiction just prior to the dawn of the French Revolution and found myself researching details, like "Did Marie Antionette have pet sheep?" The answer is yes if you were curious! From the sorrow and anguish of the hungry who have no hope to the absurd and overindulging parties in the halls of Versailles, I felt that both extremes were explored and written about in ways that brought tears to my eyes! Most books really only present one side or the other, but both sides through a single character is a rather remarkable feat! The basic premise of the story is that very few people can work magic. It requires very steep prices to use it and most are not willing to pay the price. However, for two sisters who recently lost their parents and with the rising prices of bread and dwindling job opportunities, the older decides that no price is too steep to keep her sister fed and housed. With magic that is fed by blood and sorrow, she steps into the halls of the palace to con the nobles out of their riches. She has until morning when the magic stops fueling her illusions. The magic demands more and more, but won't let her stop! I don't want to give too much away, but you should absolutely read it! I would recommend this book for those who love fairy tale retellings, historical fiction, or fantasy! I love all three, so it was perfect for me. I would recommend it for older teens and up because there are a few dark scenes in the book. I also want to include a few trigger warnings. There is an abusive, alcoholic older brother of the two sisters that is often present early in the book and is one of the reasons the girls need money to move somewhere safer. The threat of him lurks even though we don't see him again until the last few chapters of the book. There is also an emotionally manipulative nobleman who basically blackmails people into doing terrible things.
LGilmer 7 months ago
This book is a dream. Truly, every time I opened it, I felt like I was settling back into another world. Trelease's writing is gorgeous, her story so deeply immersive, the characters so vivid, that I at once couldn't stop reading yet didn't want this book to end. I'm in awe of ENCHANTEE's balance. Romance and mystery and magic, woven together with issues of class and revolution, and all swathed in a brilliantly researched and rendered 18th century Paris. I'm in absolute awe.
Anonymous 9 months ago
will start by saying that I absolutely loved this story! It had a wonderful plot, lovable and believable characters, and magic and romance; overall I couldn't put it down! Camille and her siblings, Alain and the frail Sophie, are orphaned teenagers in France, living there in the time period leading up to the French Revolution. When their parents succumbed to sickness and died, the three are left penniless, with nothing but dreams of becoming more. Alain becomes increasingly volatile as he drinks and gambles away all of the money he and Camille manage to earn, and Sophie is too frail after recovering from an illness to be of help. As their situation grows more dire, to the point of nearly being thrown out of their home for failure to pay the rent, Camille turns to the one thing she inherited from her mother in order to help her family survive - la magie. La magie, as one might assume, is magic, but in this story it's different from what I've read in any other because this magic is fuel by the sorrow of the magician. There are three types of la magie: the ability to change an object (though only for a short time), the glamoire (the ability to change one's appearance), and the ability to make objects become sentient. All three types feed off of sorrow, and the two latter types also necessitate blood. The task is unsavory, but Camille takes it on in order to get herself and Sophie away from Alain and improve their station - this is the only thing she knows how to do well and she has a deep fear of having to resort to working the streets in order to get by. This story follows Camille and Sophie as they pursue a better life and their attempts to navigate both interactions with the aristocrats of Versailles and the increasingly dangerous atmosphere of Paris as the common people become more and more incensed against the monarchy and aristocracy. I highly recommend this story if you like historical fiction and/or magic, this has both and is a wonderful read!
TheLiteraryPhoenix 9 months ago
Is it too cheesy to say that I'm enchanted by Enchantée? I loved everything about Gita Trelease's writing style here - this book swept me off my feet and I read 40% in the first night. She brings Paris to life so you can smell the bread and feel the coarse powder in the ladies hair, but she does it in such a way that the reader is not overly burdened with flowery language. It is smooth and enrapturing and I absolutely loved it. Enchantée is a tale of la magie, but also of the Revolution. The story takes place just as the Revolution is beginning and we are able to see through Camille's eyes as the Tennis Court Oath is spoken and the chaos of Paris streets when the people break into the Bastille. I adore fantasy novels that hinge on historical events, because they bring together two of my favorite genres. Enchantée is just that - half fantasy and half historical fiction. Thee magic is always fleeting - harbored in illusions, mostly - and requires blood and sorrow. The nobles in Versailles play with magic like playing with fire (those who can) and Camille quickly finds herself in danger because she is to eager with her own performance, and she catches the eye of the villain.... Ugh! There is so much of this book I want to talk about - from the layers of the heroes that make them less heroic in certain lights, to the finery of Sophie's hats, to the fact that Camille and Aurelie and the others go play cache-cache (hide-and-go-seek) in the Gardens. The French that is flawlessly woven into the story just brings it more to life, but for those who are not fluent, there's a glossary in the back. And the balloon! The aeronauts were only on the edges of the story, but every flight, every conversation about what it means to go up in a balloon, is magnificent. I highly recommend Enchantée to anyone who enjoys period pieces and magic, YA readers most of all. It's an extraordinary debut, and positively dazzling. I loved it.
Amanda_BetweentheShelves 9 months ago
The only way Camille Durbonne knows how to provide for her and her sister after her parents die of smallpox is through magic. But anything she makes, her brother Alain steals away to quell his gambling addiction. So Camille has to take more drastic measures: use her magic to trick her way into Versailles to win back the money they have lost. But France is becoming more tumultuous for aristocrats as the French revolution brews within the city. As Camille gets caught up in the glamour of the rich, she learns the dark secrets behind the palace of Versailles. She must decide if she wants to keep up her glamour or join the revolution. I received an eARC of this from NetGalley and and Flatiron books in exchange for my honest review. What a wild ride this book was! I'm not usually a fan of historical fiction, but Gita Trelease put a magical spin on the era of the French Revolution that will have you absolutely enchanted (pun intended).  While, for me, the beginning of the book was a bit slow, once Camille makes her entrance in Versailles, I didn't want to put the book down. This book has almost everything that you could want: magic, intrigue, romance, revolution, the taking down of the powers in charge. Though it's set in history, the book reflects the current politics of the United States, which will make it all the more relatable to teens when it's released in February. Trelease's writing reflects the subject matter of the book as well; including French phrases (with a key at the back of the book) adds to the magic and intrigue of the story. Her lyrical style transports the reader to the magical version of historical France that she has created, making the book even more enjoyable. The addition of Lazare and the hot air balloons also showed readers a different side of the aristocrats, showing that not everyone has to fall into what they were bred to be. This fantastical retelling of the French Revolution will have readers spellbound.
bayy245 9 months ago
Enchantée was a beautiful, historical masterpiece. The setting, plot, and characters were all so magical and well developed. I was in love with Camille and her story from the moment I opened the book. I think opening the novel on someone else having interacted with Camille and her magie was brilliant. I knew nothing of the magic system or Camille but I needed to know after the apprentice reacts to her fake coins. How does one make fake coins? Why was she making them in the first place? Is magic unique or commonplace? All of these questions made me need to read on and I couldn't put it down. The wonderful world of Paris in the 1700s swept me up in an instant. Although most of Paris is starving, I can see the magic and wonder of the place the way Camille does. We get little glimpses into what Paris was to her and her family when her parents were alive and what it means to her now. We get to follow her on her journey to a better life, and a better version of her along the way. Not to mention the real-life events that happening against the backdrop of Camille's story. The characterization in this one is exquisite. Each character seems to leap off the page and I could feel the sorrow or desperation behind people's decisions. There are a delightful boy and a balloon, an impossible home situation, and the glinting, magical palace of Versailles. But before Camille knows what's happening, she's swept up into a dangerous world full of traps and games. Will she win and leave unscathed? Or will Versailles and la magie take everything from her? I could on about this book for hours. Pick it up and get swept up into this magical view of Paris. *I received a complimentary copy of this book from Flatiron Books through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*
Mel-Loves-Books 22 days ago
“On the ground, all the quarters of Paris feel so separate, like foreign countries. The aristocrats in their neighborhoods, we in ours. But up here, it’s different - no one could deny that the houses touch each other.” Echantee by Gita Trelease was such lovely story filled with history, romance, and magic. I loved the characters that Trelease brought to life, and the twists and turns had me biting my nails. I also adored the hot air balloons. I have always wanted to ride in one and reading about it made me want to ride one even more. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, fantasy, or romance. I give it 4.5 stars.
taramichelle 23 days ago
Enchantée seemed like it would be right up my alley. Magic, the French Revolution, and romance? It sounded perfect. Although I loved Trelease's world-building and her lush, evocative writing, this one ultimately didn't work for me. I'll start out with what I enjoyed (because there is a lot!). I loved the juxtaposition between Camille's life as a commoner and her life as a noble at Versailles. The poverty experienced by the commoners made the opulence of the palace really stand out. I also thought that, despite the decadence of the court, Trelease did a great job of humanizing the nobles. Plus there's a few historical figures who make some fun appearances! The hot air balloon storyline was also a favorite, I loved it when the book returned to it every once in a while. Overall, I enjoyed Camille's story arc. It was fascinating to see how it played out and Trelease did an excellent job of explaining why Camille made the choices she did. I also loved the different types of magic and how each exacted a different toll. Her relationship with her sister Sophie was wonderful, I liked how they supported and cared for each other. However, Enchantée was just too long for me. I did appreciate how much history and world-building the author included. But at over 450 pages, there were a few sections that dragged and a few parts that felt repetitive. The reveals were predictable and I never really understood the villain's motivation. There just wasn't enough tension to keep me engaged. I do think that many readers will absolutely love this book though! There are a lot of wonderful things in Enchantée and I'll definitely be picking up Trelease's next book. This one just didn't work for me. *Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Take_Me_AwayPH 3 months ago
Before I get started, I want to say, take this review with a grain of salt. There's only a couple "me" things that intrigued me about this book, so I probably wasn't the right one for it. I was intrigued with the promise of magic, Paris, and the BEAUTIFUL cover. Enough to ignore the historical fiction aspect of it since I'm not a fan. I should have thought twice about it though. Camille lives in Paris in the year 1789. She and her sister have been struggling to get by and have had to rely on her magic to get by. But things with her brother go awry and she knows she has to do more, and decides to try her luck at using her magic in the French Court. But things go south and Camille gets more than she bargained for. Starting with what I did like. I knew I wasn't going to make it through the actual book/e-book because once I finished chapter 2 I was bored. I put myself on the waiting list for my library to get the audio book and decided to see if i could finish it then. And it worked! The audio is great and it does all the right pronunciations. And the narrator was really good as well. She kept me intrigued enough to want to keep listening when honestly, I wasn't sure I would have. I also liked the magic and the way it was conducted in this one. The three ways magic is conducted is: Magie Bibelot which is making objects sentient, Glamoire which is changing oneself, and Magie Ordinaire which is changing things. I also really enjoyed the article of clothing that changed and helped changed her. It was an interesting idea and I liked what Trelease did with it. Unfortunately, that was the end of what I liked. The world-building could have used so much more depth. I never really felt like I knew the world like I should have. I wish there had been more. Also, I was bored for the majority of it. If I had been actually reading this and not listening to it, I probably would have DNF'ed or at least skimmed most of it. I didn't care for the balloon parts or the romance. It seemed like the author was trying to cram way too much into this book. This book intrigued me with its sparkly cover and some of the words that get me excited about books: magic and Paris. But unfortunately, even still, this wasn't the book for me. But like I said, take this review with a grain of salt. I knew there was a chance I wouldn't like this because I'm not a historical fiction fan, but I gave it a shot. So if I can, you can too! Give it a shot and see if this is more a fit for you instead!
Anonymous 3 months ago
"There [are] three types of magic. Magie ordinaire, for changing things. Glamoire, for changing oneself. And magie bibelot, for imbuing objects with magic, making them sentient.” Camille is a poor girl in Paris on the cusp of the French Revolution. But she is no ordinary girl. Camille has magic, a talent she uses to provide food for herself and her family. But when la magie ordinaire will no longer suffice, Camille must turn to Versailles, and to the dark magic of Glamoire. My initial reaction to this book’s summary was that of ecstasy. Dark magic meets the French Revolution? Count me in! I was so prepared for court intrigue mixed with dark secrets and Camille’s unique charm. What I got was not that. The book starts by telling you that magic is dangerous. After all, this magic feeds on sorrow and pain. But it doesn’t really go through with this danger. Though some magical objects are portrayed as dark, there is never a follow through for it. I though this would have been a thrilling story where our main character has to use forbidden magic to survive, gets caught up in it, and has to tear herself away (with sacrifice). And while Enchantee, in some regards, fulfills this description, it also falls short of the “thrilling part”. It is lukewarm when I wanted piping hot. Most stories set during the French Revolution revolve around it, with Marie Antoinette and the rebellion featuring prominently. Not so here. This book is set just on the cusp of the Revolution. While France is indeed preparing to behead its king and unseat its nobles, Enchantee isn’t too concerned with that. Camille is a poor girl who is sneaking into Versailles and making friends with nobles! The fact that the lower class hate the nobility just doesn’t matter. I feel that saying this book is set during the French Revolution is misleading, because while there are complaints from lower class and the storming of the Bastille is mentioned (very briefly), the book ends before any real revolt happens. All of Camille’s upper class friends are safe in their ivory towers. Enchantee starts the “girl stuck in the middle of two worlds” cliché very well, but by the middle of the book this is no longer an issue and Camille is free to live in both worlds. She has her cake and she eats it too (insert French Revolution pun here). Throughout the novel, I kept on watching her sister and hoping that it wouldn’t lead to where it went. And there was a second when I thought it would avoid going there, but it happened anyway. Simply put, I didn’t want to see a strained relationship between Camille and her sister over Camille’s fabulous Versailles life. Yet it happened. The ending was true to the rest of the book. That is, lukewarm. Our unclear villain reveals himself and everyone is thrown for a few seconds. And then it ends. I’m not sure if this is intended to be a series or a stand-alone, but now that I know these characters, I would like what I came here for. A thrilling novel about magic during the French Revolution, and one girl who dances the line of pauper and princess in the mixt of it all. If that is what Trelease promises, I will be thrilled to read it. If not, I feel no discomfort in leaving these folk to their happy (but ultimately tragic) fate.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Historical fantasy at its best! Beautiful prose, well developed characters, and a fascinating magical system kept me enchanted until the last page.
Anonymous 4 months ago
I wanted to love this book, but I find myself just sort of liking it. It was much less about the French revolution (or, really, even the consequences of magic), and more about just following a group of young adults as they sit and indulge each other at court every day (and the secrets they all feel they must keep from each other). The magic element could have been really beat had it actually been explored or even consequential. The author does a great job at setting up this fascinating world and situation, but then just plays in one small corner of it (and even “plays” is a stronger, more active word that what I feel actually happens). This was a light novel that was pretty easy to breeze through and marvel at, but the story just wasn’t what I’d hoped for as nothing really ever happens.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Adventure%2C+hope%2C+French%2C+magic%2C+love%2C+it+can%27t+get+better%21+
Thebooktrail-com 6 months ago
Paris has never seemed so magical! I don’t normally read much YA but this book caught my eye and my imagination. Camille Durbonne lives in poverty and is an orphan. With a drunk for a brother, she has to look after her sister. She wants more from live and so dreams of working and living in the Palace of Versailles. In order to do this however, she’s going to have to quite literally, work her magic. This magic is a mix of tricks she learns to get one over on others and to improve her lot in life.She plays cards to win money amongst other things, but it turns out that Versailles and revolutionary France was a hotbed for cheats and blaggards like her. She is about to meet her match! The star of the show however was the setting. The glamour and frivolity of the court of Louis XVI was a sight to behold. It didn’t seem as glamourous and exciting as this in the history books I’ve read! The magic was a nice touch and stole the show. The author has clearly done her magic home work and come up with an enchanting tale. “Remember—magic is a cheater’s game, and everyone who sees it wants to play.” Paris is evoked with style and panache. Glamour and poverty live side by side. Within the walls of the gilded Versailles, there is magic at play. With whispers of Caraval and The Night Circus, this was a magical journey for me. Once the book entered black magic and stronger magic territory it got even better. Camille transforms herself into the Baroness De La Fontaine, and sets her sights on the glittering court itself. La Magie was fun and fantasy all at once. Paris has never seemed so magical!
Pens-and-Parchment 7 months ago
I absolutely LOVED reading this!! It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that I physically couldn’t put down but this one kept me flipping pages the whole time! And omg the romance IM OBSESSED WITH LAZARE HE IS MY NEW BOOK BOYFRIEND. I thought the historical elements of this book were laced throughout the plot very nicely and seamlessly, it added such a depth to the characters and the meaning of the story. There’s also a great sibling relationship, and Camille herself is one of my new favorite YA protagonists. But the pacing did feel a bit unbalanced, the plot moves very slowly throughout the first three quarters of the book and then all the action is packed into the last 50 or so pages. Overall I gave it 4.5 stars!!
KindigBlog 7 months ago
Paris in the late 1700s, a city full of aristocrats, revolutionaries, inventors and… magicians! Enchantee is a rare and delightful read; its historical fiction mingled with fantasy in a way that gives the story a real and grounded feel to it. Gita Trelease spins a beautifully written world which balances the sumptuous landscape of the court at Versailles with the gritty poverty of the streets of France with a revolution brewing. The world building reminded me a bit of The Belles – it has similar beautiful imagery with an element of a sinister undertone running underneath. I also liked the use of French words scattered throughout the narrative. However, the book is trying to jam pack a lot of things in to the narrative – there’s a love triangle, a dramatic villain with a dastardly plot, a political revolution, an exploration of a magic system and a rags to riches progression all of which is wrapped up in a stand-alone story. Although I loved and appreciated the fact that it’s stand-alone, I felt that it perhaps would have been better explored in different stories (or letting some of them take the background) rather than trying to cram everything in. I also found the plot to be a little frustrating at times as most of the problems could have been solved by characters just revealing something important or telling the truth. I didn’t feel like the stakes were really that high for a lot of important information that would have changed the outcome of many situations to be kept a secret. I also really didn’t like Lazare – he didn’t seem to be a fitting hero to match our feisty and interesting heroine. Overall I enjoyed the world of Enchantee, I just felt it tried to be too much at once and needed a little paring down in its editing. Thank you to NetGalley & Pan Macmillan for a chance to read the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
courtofbingereading 9 months ago
Enchantée is an equal mix of fantasy and historical fiction. If you're a fan of France or French culture, then this book is perfect for you. Gita Trelease perfectly encapsulates the essence of France during 1798. Although, this version of France is much different from the one we know and love. In Enchantée, there are people who are able to wield magic. Some can do minor illusions while some can perform the grandest and most intricate of illusions. However, performing magic isn't as easy as we all would think. Overall, I enjoyed this book. The reason I couldn't give this book 4 stars is because of the pacing. There were so many times where the story dragged. It took me way longer than it should have to finish this book. That being said, I still recommend everyone give this book a chance. It's full of history, magic, family, with a dash of romance.
courtofbingereading 9 months ago
Enchantée is an equal mix of fantasy and historical fiction. If you're a fan of France or French culture, then this book is perfect for you. Gita Trelease perfectly encapsulates the essence of France during 1798. Although, this version of France is much different from the one we know and love. In Enchantée, there are people who are able to wield magic. Some can do minor illusions while some can perform the grandest and most intricate of illusions. However, performing magic isn't as easy as we all would think. Overall, I enjoyed this book. The reason I couldn't give this book 4 stars is because of the pacing. There were so many times where the story dragged. It took me way longer than it should have to finish this book. That being said, I still recommend everyone give this book a chance. It's full of history, magic, family, with a dash of romance.