Audio CD(Library Edition)

$41.41 $49.99 Save 17% Current price is $41.41, Original price is $49.99. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eleven Minutes 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 169 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It really puts a different outlook on sex and love, and it makes you step back and think about not only the story but also your own life. A must read!!!
C-Castillo More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by Paulo Coelho and I've become in love with his writing after reading "Eleven Minutes" Its a great story with a broader meaning , at least thats what I got from it. It has changed my outlook on life and in certain aspects I can relate to Maria. I would definitely reccommend this book to others.
valvintage More than 1 year ago
We always have questions about love and sex and sometimes forget to give ourselves a chance. This novel takes romance out of love and makes it even more meaningful. It is about personal aspirations and finding true love getting there.
Aimee_Leon More than 1 year ago
This insightful story is about a young woman named Maria. She is filled with desires, and dreams. Maria's journey to Geneva thru sex, prostitution & love. She learned plenty from her experiences and clients, but when Maria has encounters a young artist named Ralf. Who enlightens Maria with not only sex, history, also soul searching and love. Paulo Coelho's writing was excellent and sensual. He did a marvalous This novel was such a page turner that it was so hard to put down. I loved it alot. The story was very moving and unforgetable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is definitely one of my favorite books from Paulo Coelho. He presents a different perspective of sexuality and he does it well. A must read.
Carolina_Felix More than 1 year ago
This book is not about sex or prostitution; it's about love and dreams and reminds us that everyone is allowed to have both. Only Coelho could transform a prostitute saga in an inspiring life history. As you read each page, you will feel sorry for Maria, you will judge her, you may even not like her but it will be impossible to put down the book until you find out what happens at the end.
Wordzmind More than 1 year ago
Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho is a reminder that the oldest profession is not always the chosen profession. Sometimes economical realities make the decission. Maria is a stranger in a strange land and must survive. Maria starts out as a small town girl with big dreams and she naively believes that they are being fulfilled. She learns the hard way however she keeps dreaming and planning for a brighter future. A future where the void she feels is filled. What I found mesmerizing about Eleven Minutes is that Maria never gave up. She never settled for her lot in life. There was always a rainbow that would shine tomorrow. And she was always willing to follow where her heart and mind would venture. What made the story was the characters that she met who she learned from. She learned pain and she learned healing. Eleven Minutes is a testament of life. I highly recommend Eleven Minutes but I caution young readers; some teenagers might not be ready for the lessons that this book teaches. Eleven Minutes does not take a stand on prostitution, it is just a means for telling the story. Love is the true Apex of the story. Read Eleven Minutes, you will thank yourself for doing so.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two days. I was an dramactic and intellectually stimulating book. I recommended it to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first Coehlo book I read. I loved it! It was sensitive and thought provoking. A definite must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my first experience with this author and I was completely captivated. This tale pulls you in from the beginning and seduces your mind and senses.
kherrington on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
CRAP!!! This is one of the worst books that I have ever read! Bad writing -- trite platitudes, little conflict, unrealistic characters. Even the sex scenes are BORING!!! Don't waste your time on this badly written, preachy, new age-y waste of paper.
Luli81 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For me, the best by so far of Coelho's novels. A moving story of a prostitute who is able to find redemption and light. Bravo
misibea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have just finished reading 'Eleven Minutes' by Paul Coelho. I was lent this book by a friend who raved about it. We had been talking about books one day and she said that I had to read this book. It was one of her all time favorites. Having previously read 'The Alchemist' and enjoyed it. In the past I have had trouble reading some of Coelho's other works.Eleven Minutes is an easy read, frankly addressing sex and sexual pursuits. The back cover describes the novel as "gripping and daring". I disagree. I did not find it at all gripping, but I can see where one could describe it as daring. Paul Coelho manages to discuss the different facets of sex, romance and reality in a comfortable language that is non confrontational to the reader."Eleven Minutes" has managed to re-ignite my interest is Coelho's other works and I am now off to try another of his books.
margarethdane141516 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have ever read. It taught me that life is not as easy as a fairy tale, but it can be one too. It all depends on how you view your life. This book really touched my heart. I'm glad that Maria is not an ordinary woman, that even though her work is not socially accepted, she is not ashamed of it. And what I like about her most is her courage. She taught me that I shouldn't afraid of my future, that sorrow and grief can never be avoided. That in whatever I do, I should always not let opportunities pass me, and regret it later. That money is not what is always important. Your soul, you dignity, and most of all, love, is what matters. I will always remember her when times get rough and when I have doubts. I will always remember the lesson this book taught me: to always believe in pure and blind love. I have been using my head more than my heart frequently, but now I will try to balance both and know what to choose and never regret it afterward ; to treat everything as an opportunity, and most of all, to love.
pyariladki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my first Paulo Coelho book that I have read. My mother-in-law, who speaks little English, brought it home for me from the school library. I must say I was startled at how frank Coelho spoke about sex and in such detail. The book was definitely R rated if not on the verge of X rated. I personally would not recommend this book for just leisurely reading, unless of course you are looking for something absolutely scandalous.And while it was not the book I was expecting, I still read it, every page. And I couldn't help but be slightly disappointed once I reached the end. I wanted more. I wanted to know where the relationship went with Ralf and what career Maria would finally end up with. But in the end it simply was not my cup of tea. I'll stick to the more conservative.
B9sweety on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Eleven Minutes was an amazing book. Paulo Choelho traps the essence of a women trough the life of Maria. It allows one discover themselves not only as a woman, but also as a friend, a wife, daughter, and a lover!
ukaissi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Eleven minutes is a wonderful book on the sacredness of sex. It is a mixture of love and sex and shows that sex is meaningless if it is unaccompanied by love. Love makes meaning to sex and the eleven minutes which takes a person to have sex will appear lifetime. Among the basic themes of the book also shows that pain should not accompany love. Love is free and should be a source of happiness. Finally Love is a powerful force and no matter what the plans of a person or ambitions nothing will stop love from changing a person's course in life.
rayski on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Brazilian girl leaves for Fame & Fortune in Geneva only to become prostitute. There she learns about life and what real love is.
shimauta on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found his attempt of talking and thinking like a woman a very poor one..
Kirconnell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A simple, young woman from Brazil is swept away to Switzerland by a slightly less than honest club owner and progresses into the world of prostitution. What is most interesting is the manner in which Maria reacts to her changes in fortune. More interesting is that it is based on a true story.Eleven Minutes is my first experience with Paulo Coehlo's work and I am favorably impressed. He writes in a clear, straightforward style reminiscent of George Orwell and Earnest Hemingway, but his words speak volumes. They leave you thinking about so much more than just the story told.
ShelfMonkey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
jbennett on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm glad I didn't read the other reviews before reading this as I enjoyed this book.The story of Maria's escape from poverty and the chances that take her to Geneva seem to me very typical. Unlike many girls in her situation, however, she manages to take control of the situation and this is refreshing if somewhat implausible.
johnthefireman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sexuality, a young rural woman in the city, references to the Camino of Santiago de Compostella - a very good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book makes you examine your own views of love and sex. Excellent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
5 stars